Sub Upgrade Build Dayton Audio UM18-22 18" x 2 LLT - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 34 Old 06-30-2014, 11:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
javanpohl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,119
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Sub Upgrade Build Dayton Audio UM18-22 18" x 2 LLT

So I'm going to start finishing my basement here pretty soon and, as I currently have an IB sub that is using the bass-ment for its backend, I need/want to re-do the sub first. I'm wanting to go with a ported design, tune to the 15hz range. I'm currently using 4 x Dayton Audio DCS450-4s and since they have a pretty high Fs (24.9hz) and low xmax (8.25mm), I'm thinking of upgrading to two Dayton Audio UM18-22 18inchers. They come in at 19.51Hz and 22mm. If I go for about 12.5ft^3, I can tune to 15hz, apparently (I'm just going off their spec sheet for that, haven't plotted it yet.)

I have a crown XLS602 that I've been wanting to upgrade for a while and since it only does 600W at 4 ohms (the newer Daytons are dual 2 ohm voice coiled and rated at 1000w rms 2000w peak), I'm thinking an upgrade is needed. I was thinking the NU6000DSP... but is there some sort of middle ground amp? the 3000DSP does 2 x 880 at 4 ohm and the 6000DSP does 2 x 3000 at 4 ohm. Kinda seems like overkill, but, as it's not even close to twice the price of the 3000, I guess it's kind of a steal. But would I need to upgrade my outlet for that sucker? lol

Anyhoo, advice is welcomed.
javanpohl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 34 Old 06-30-2014, 11:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 5,589
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1197 Post(s)
Liked: 1162
The inuke6000dsp is 2200 watts bridged. You can use the limiter to dial it back a little more. I think normal outlet will work with 6000.
chalugadp is online now  
post #3 of 34 Old 07-01-2014, 09:34 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
javanpohl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,119
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 116
I'm not sure I follow... do you mean it's 2200 watts bridged in 8 ohms?? I'm not planning on wiring these to 8 ohms, but to 4. For 4 ohms, the specs pretty clearly state that it's 2 x 3000 (or 3100, depending on where you look) watts in 4 ohms. Now I don't know if that's peak or RMS....

Also, what's with the input connection? Does that accept XLR?
javanpohl is offline  
post #4 of 34 Old 07-01-2014, 10:34 AM
Member
 
Nuno C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
From what I remember the iNuke 6000 cannot be bridged.
The Ultimax 18 should be able to handle 1200-1500W RMS based on the fact that the Dayton RSS460-18 can handle similar (going off testing at Data-Bass)
The iNuke 6k has been tested and is good for at least 1800W RMS at 4ohms.

Get the iNuke 6000 DSP as it allows you apply some EQ and power limiters. I have one and find the DSP features very useful.
Run one driver off each channel and call it a day.
Nuno C is offline  
post #5 of 34 Old 07-01-2014, 10:38 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
javanpohl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,119
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Bah... I just saw that the Ultimax 18 is out of stock. Are there any other comparable drivers?
javanpohl is offline  
post #6 of 34 Old 07-01-2014, 10:38 AM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 14,307
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 858 Post(s)
Liked: 1029
Quote:
Originally Posted by chalugadp View Post
The inuke6000dsp is 2200 watts bridged. You can use the limiter to dial it back a little more. I think normal outlet will work with 6000.
The 6000 can not be bridged. However it does output nearly 2kw per channel @4ohm .

Nice! Love to see some LLT builds.

My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is online now  
post #7 of 34 Old 07-01-2014, 10:54 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
javanpohl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,119
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Sounds like the 6000DSP it is, thanks guy! So will it take the XLR input? Spec sheet says it's a combo input, does that mean it can be swapped out for one or the other or it will actually take an XLR?

And is Part-express pretty reliable on their availability dates? It's currently saying these will be back in stock 7/29, so I suppose I could wait a month. I could make my cabinets really pretty in a month.
javanpohl is offline  
post #8 of 34 Old 07-01-2014, 10:56 AM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 14,307
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 858 Post(s)
Liked: 1029
It's currently in stock on Amazon for $400. Prime shipping. Could have it at your place by tomorrow.

My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is online now  
post #9 of 34 Old 07-01-2014, 10:58 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
javanpohl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,119
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Also, what's the best way to do the mounting holes? T-nuts? I used those on my last build and they were a nightmare (the last few minutes of the job turned into 3 hours), but maybe I just had a few angled very slightly
javanpohl is offline  
post #10 of 34 Old 07-01-2014, 11:00 AM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 14,307
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 858 Post(s)
Liked: 1029
T-nuts are the devil.

I just put the screws straight into the wood.

My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is online now  
post #11 of 34 Old 07-01-2014, 11:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
javanpohl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,119
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Simonian View Post
It's currently in stock on Amazon for $400. Prime shipping. Could have it at your place by tomorrow.
Sorry, I was talking about the drivers being out of stock. I am thinking of going ahead and getting the amp though. I'd like to try that sucker out. Know of anyone successfully swapping out the fan for a quieter one?

Edit: Nevermind ....
INuke 6000DSP Fan Mod - Need Help Quick

Last edited by javanpohl; 07-01-2014 at 11:24 AM.
javanpohl is offline  
post #12 of 34 Old 07-01-2014, 01:22 PM
Member
 
Bud Heavy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: KS
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by javanpohl View Post
Sounds like the 6000DSP it is, thanks guy! So will it take the XLR input? Spec sheet says it's a combo input, does that mean it can be swapped out for one or the other or it will actually take an XLR?

And is Part-express pretty reliable on their availability dates? It's currently saying these will be back in stock 7/29, so I suppose I could wait a month. I could make my cabinets really pretty in a month.
This driver has never been in stock. I've been on the waiting list for around 4 months now and they keep pushing the available date back. I will say I think this is the closest to the available date I have seen without them changing it. Maybe this time it's for real! The story I read was when they received the shipment of drivers at the beginning of the year there was a problem with the glue and instead of releasing an inferior product they sent them back to China to be reworked. I applaud PE for not releasing a product that didn't meet there standards. I have suggested box plans from PE if you want to PM me for them. 16hz, 12cubes, 2 x 4" ports.

I believe the 6000dsp takes XLR....mine has been sitting in a box for 4 months now waiting on drivers. Have been meaning to get it out and test it, but haven't.
Bud Heavy is offline  
post #13 of 34 Old 07-01-2014, 02:25 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
javanpohl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,119
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Awesome! Good news. I've been reading up on the associated thread. Looks like we have a bunch of good drivers due or expected out this month. That SI 18ht also looks pretty damn good, especially for the price.

I'm good on box plans, I'm pretty handy in that regard, thanks though, but how long are the ports?
javanpohl is offline  
post #14 of 34 Old 07-01-2014, 03:12 PM
Member
 
Bud Heavy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: KS
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by javanpohl View Post
Awesome! Good news. I've been reading up on the associated thread. Looks like we have a bunch of good drivers due or expected out this month. That SI 18ht also looks pretty damn good, especially for the price.

I'm good on box plans, I'm pretty handy in that regard, thanks though, but how long are the ports?
PE's plans are for a 29.3" cube with 2 - 18.84" long 4" round ports. Add 1" for flared.
javanpohl likes this.
Bud Heavy is offline  
post #15 of 34 Old 07-07-2014, 11:52 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
javanpohl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,119
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 116
So I'm starting to lean quite strongly towards the Stereo Integrity HT 18" subwoofer. It seems to have very similar specs, but is about a $100 cheaper and it seems less likely that it WON'T be available by the end of the month. Any opinions on that? I won't need a bigger enclosure for the SI, will I?
javanpohl is offline  
post #16 of 34 Old 07-07-2014, 12:21 PM
Senior Member
 
asarose247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 495
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 57
re swaping fans on the Inuke6000 DSP,


I used 2 Noctua NF (?) , the only snag being that the noctua has 3 wires and the board uses a 2 pin attachment for the stock fans.
So I cut, stripped and pigtailed the right 2 wires from the new fans onto a pigtail maybe 6 inches attached to the stock attachment 2 pin.
The stock wires "may" be "secured" with some hot melt in a few places along the board feeding to the stock fans.
Be gentle and patient with it.
I checked out the Noctua site to find out which wire was which, I think the yellow is a "speed" controller, which the Inuke doesn't have.
Worth the effort if the amp is in the same room.


ow-NP
javanpohl likes this.

Denon X5200 , Emotiva UPA7, for 7.3.4
Klipsch F3 FL/R, G-28 CenterLow, Icon 25 CenterHigh, RC3II: SL/R , Surround Rears :Icon 36 Towers, SLX: TF & TR-
RB51's:FH
2 30" BF THTLP'S and SUBMAXIMUS and Inuke6000DSP
Mitsy DLP 73738 Xbox1 PS4 Panny BD 220
asarose247 is online now  
post #17 of 34 Old 07-07-2014, 12:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
dtsdig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 849
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Enclosure sizes required should be very similar. The SI is an incredible value. I absolutely love the 2 that I am currently using and I'm sure once I get the other two into the mix, it will be even more awesome.
Since nobody has gotten their hands on the Dayton yet, who knows how things will turn out. I would imagine that it is going to be a great driver though!
dtsdig is offline  
post #18 of 34 Old 07-07-2014, 01:29 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
javanpohl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,119
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtsdig View Post
Enclosure sizes required should be very similar. The SI is an incredible value. I absolutely love the 2 that I am currently using and I'm sure once I get the other two into the mix, it will be even more awesome.
Since nobody has gotten their hands on the Dayton yet, who knows how things will turn out. I would imagine that it is going to be a great driver though!
Nice! What amp are you using? I'm thinking of running them at 2ohms a piece and going with the 3000DSP now, which can do 1000w at 2ohms and the SIs are rated at 600w so I figure that's plenty of headroom... right? (I'm really trying to save some money here by NOT having to get the 6000DSP.)
javanpohl is offline  
post #19 of 34 Old 07-07-2014, 01:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
dtsdig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 849
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by javanpohl View Post
Nice! What amp are you using? I'm thinking of running them at 2ohms a piece and going with the 3000DSP now, which can do 1000w at 2ohms and the SIs are rated at 600w so I figure that's plenty of headroom... right? (I'm really trying to save some money here by NOT having to get the 6000DSP.)
I'm using the NU4-6000 four channel amp. It's been awesome and I can't wait to put the other two channels to use soon. I use a 2x4 balanced MiniDSP for eq.
dtsdig is offline  
post #20 of 34 Old 07-07-2014, 01:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
tential's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 622
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Which subs do you own DTSdig? (size)

Do you think the NU4-6000 would be enough for the Ultimax 15?
I feel like I need to bridge the channels to get the full effect of the driver?
tential is offline  
post #21 of 34 Old 07-07-2014, 01:59 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
javanpohl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,119
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtsdig View Post
I'm using the NU4-6000 four channel amp. It's been awesome and I can't wait to put the other two channels to use soon. I use a 2x4 balanced MiniDSP for eq.
Good to know. So if I want to run at 2 ohms, I get the dual 4 ohm version and run in parallel, right? Or do I just get the 2 ohm version... I guess my question is can you wire those dual voice coils to run in series or parallel or are they not that flexible?
javanpohl is offline  
post #22 of 34 Old 07-07-2014, 02:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
dtsdig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 849
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by javanpohl View Post
Good to know. So if I want to run at 2 ohms, I get the dual 4 ohm version and run in parallel, right? Or do I just get the 2 ohm version... I guess my question is can you wire those dual voice coils to run in series or parallel or are they not that flexible?
Exactly. If you want to run at two ohms per sub, get the dual 4 ohm versions and parallel them.
dtsdig is offline  
post #23 of 34 Old 07-08-2014, 10:03 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
javanpohl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,119
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 116
I ordered two of the SI HT 18s... though I inadvertently ordered the 2 ohm instead of the 4 ohm. Trying to get ahold of them to correct that. I also ordered the 3000DSP.
javanpohl is offline  
post #24 of 34 Old 07-08-2014, 10:06 AM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 14,307
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 858 Post(s)
Liked: 1029
Are they even in stock?

My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is online now  
post #25 of 34 Old 07-08-2014, 11:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
javanpohl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,119
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Nope... shoulda said "pre-ordered". As they are not a new item and I saw some people saying SI is pretty reliable, I went ahead and went with them. They are supposed to be back in stock "the last few weeks of July".
javanpohl is offline  
post #26 of 34 Old 07-08-2014, 11:32 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
javanpohl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,119
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 116
I'm also planning on putting together a CAD design for this so I can just take it to a wood shop and have them cut it for me. A local shop charges $120/hour of CNC cutting so I figure that'd definitely be worth it as I was going to buy a table saw for $250-ish. Not to mention that the toughest part is cutting the holes... and I won't have to deal with MDF dust ::cough:: I can't imagine that it would take more than 2 hours to cut up four pieces of 4x8 MDF, but does anyone have experience otherwise? It doesn't take long does it?--to do the cuts?

I just started using Sketchup yesterday. I was thinking I'd contact the shop to make sure of how I need to submit my designs to them. They also offer design help but I want to get some practice with CAD anyways.
javanpohl is offline  
post #27 of 34 Old 07-08-2014, 12:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bassment's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 899
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 411 Post(s)
Liked: 164
$120 per hour of pure cutting time or total time? Do they charge for putting the sheets on and taking the cut pieces off the table? Erich can probably tell you exactly how long it takes to cut a sheet of mdf.
Bassment is offline  
post #28 of 34 Old 07-08-2014, 12:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
javanpohl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,119
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bassment View Post
$120 per hour of pure cutting time or total time? Do they charge for putting the sheets on and taking the cut pieces off the table? Erich can probably tell you exactly how long it takes to cut a sheet of mdf.
I believe it said cutting time, but I suppose my best bet is just to give them a call.
javanpohl is offline  
post #29 of 34 Old 07-16-2014, 03:53 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
javanpohl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,119
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 116
So I'm leaning away from this cnc idea, don't think it's really all that necessary (I realized I could use a hole saw for the pieces of bracing instead of a circle jig and router). So now I'm thinking of either having Lowe's do the cuts for me and make a standard rectangular box (I'm assuming they don't do angled cuts) or getting my hands on a table saw so I can do a more trapezoidal box (the back would be 90 degrees but the front bevel would be angled). Would that really make a difference at all though? It'd be a piece of cake to just have Lowe's do the cuts for me and I can't really see an angled front making a huge difference performance wise.
javanpohl is offline  
post #30 of 34 Old 07-16-2014, 08:22 PM
Senior Member
 
mhutchins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Have you considered any of the offerings from DIY Sound Group or Chalugadp ? They both offer ready to assemble subwoofer kits. You provide the driver and glue and buy the flat pack enclosure from one of the guys above. They are all pretty easy to build and will get you a finished product in the least amount of time. They both are highly recommended!

Mike
mhutchins is offline  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off