Help with blown fuse on plate amp - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 07-15-2014, 01:12 PM - Thread Starter
Yrd
AVS Special Member
 
Yrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 3,003
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 192
Help with blown fuse on plate amp

I had an unused speaker that I bought years ago to use in my car. I decided recently to just buy a simple premade box(the type you get for cars) to put the woofer in.

I bought a plate amp and cut out the hole in the box to install it. It worked for a bit, then the fuse gets blown.

Twice now, the fuse on the amp has blown, and when I try to replace the fuse it's immediately blowing the replacement, when powered. I returned it once for a replacement, that worked for a while then the fuse blew again. I have probably run out of warranty now. Considering now making my own box and using a different plate amp.

The woofer is an Infinity Kappa 12.1 from 2001
4ohm
350w rms
Sealed box volume is 1ft ported box is 1.75


The box I chose was probably smaller than 1ft. The volume is .88ft I believe. Dimensions are 10x13x15.5 inches according to amazon page, but it's not a square box, there's one angled side.

The plate amp I use was a Yung SD300 300w. I chose it because it had line in and line out jacks so I can connect it to a PC with no subwoofer output.

RCA jacks from the PC to the input on the sub, RCA jack output from the sub to the stereo powered speakers.


So, my question is, why is my fuse blowing after a while of use. I can't tell you how long the thing worked until it quit, because I did not track it. The first time was months, the replacement was much shorter.

Any of my choices of hardware the problem? Is it just bad amps? I'm sure my warranty is up so I can't replace it now.

XBL Gamertag- Yrd
PSN - Yerd

Steam - Yrd


Last edited by Yrd; 07-15-2014 at 01:18 PM.
Yrd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 07-15-2014, 11:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: East side of NW Cascades
Posts: 3,265
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 377 Post(s)
Liked: 440
It's clearly a bad amp design. Certainly not the fuses fault

Upgrade to an inuke1000dsp:
http://www.parts-express.com/behring...-dsp--248-6702

You'll need an RCA to TRS cable:
http://www.parts-express.com/peavey-...able--241-5674

You'll need one of these, for the subwoofer box:
http://www.parts-express.com/neutrik...mount--092-054

You'll need 2 of these, to go between the amp and box:
http://www.parts-express.com/neutrik...mount--092-050
your own 12awg cable, it's cheaper...
BassThatHz is online now  
post #3 of 9 Old 07-16-2014, 10:49 AM - Thread Starter
Yrd
AVS Special Member
 
Yrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 3,003
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 192
I don't see how I can connect my speakers with that amp. That looks like it needs a dedicated sub out.

You have to realize the source is a desktop computer with a sound card. It only outputs stereo. There's no subwoofer channel. I'm actually using 2 sound cards that I switch between. I have a Y connecting both to the sub input. Then back out to the speakers.

I'm using red and white out from PC, to red and white in on the plate amp, red and white back out from the amp to red and white in to my PC speakers.

XBL Gamertag- Yrd
PSN - Yerd

Steam - Yrd

Yrd is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 07-17-2014, 08:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wwinkler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: northern virginia
Posts: 1,328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 21
"Twice now, the fuse on the amp has blown" You might also want to check the driver with a volt/ohm meter. If the voltage jumps all around on the meter, then you know that the driver is bad. If a 4 ohm driver measures somewhat less than 4 ohms, you know it is probably ok; if 8 ohm somewhat less than 8 ohms, then also ok. Even a very inexpensive volt/ohm meter should work fine.
wwinkler is online now  
post #5 of 9 Old 07-17-2014, 12:29 PM - Thread Starter
Yrd
AVS Special Member
 
Yrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 3,003
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 192
Thanks for the tip.

I'm not the most knowledgeable when it comes to multimeter use, but I put the leads to the back of the speaker, the reading never changed at all. I'm guessing that's a bad speaker?

Started with the 2000, then just went through all of them never changing from the 1 on the display.

I guess it was too much to hope for. This was kind of expensive speaker, back in 2001, for me. Never built a box for it, and just recently remembered it was still in the box in the basement.

XBL Gamertag- Yrd
PSN - Yerd

Steam - Yrd

Yrd is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 07-17-2014, 01:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bassment's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 899
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 411 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Bassment is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 07-17-2014, 01:54 PM - Thread Starter
Yrd
AVS Special Member
 
Yrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 3,003
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 192
I don't know what you mean by that. Like I said, multimeter and me, we don't talk.

I put the red lead into the slot that shows the ohm symbol. Selected 2000k in the ohm section of the multimeter dial, display shows 1. Put red lead on red on the back of the speaker, put black lead on black. Display still reads 1, selected all the ohm options on the multimeter, all read 1.

Did I do something incorrectly?

XBL Gamertag- Yrd
PSN - Yerd

Steam - Yrd

Yrd is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 07-17-2014, 01:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bassment's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 899
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 411 Post(s)
Liked: 164
the speaker will be between 3 and 8 ohms, so when you measure 2000k, it will just come up as 1 because it's too small to measure. What's your two smallest options on the multimeter? You should measure it set to like 10 ohms, or in that range.
Bassment is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 07-17-2014, 02:06 PM - Thread Starter
Yrd
AVS Special Member
 
Yrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 3,003
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 192
I tried them all, no change.

2000k
200k
20k
2000
200

The last option is for diodes, according to google.


The spec sheet that came with it says it's 4ohm speaker.

XBL Gamertag- Yrd
PSN - Yerd

Steam - Yrd

Yrd is offline  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off