Cheap Crown Amp Power $99 - Page 8 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 63Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #211 of 563 Old 08-12-2014, 04:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
aaranddeeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lover's State
Posts: 1,309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Received mine today (x1000).
I wasn't expecting it to be that sturdy and heavy. So n o complains.
The color that you see in the pictures is ugly. Actually it is not bad at all.
And no issue with rach mount ears either as it very nicely fits between the bottom legs of my HT cabinet and the color matches with the frame.
I am pondering if I should get one more (if I can get one)
Haven't yet connected but will do soon.
I thought I could use Banana plugs to connect the speakers, but...
aaranddeeman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #212 of 563 Old 08-12-2014, 05:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cmryan821's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaranddeeman View Post
Received mine today (x1000).
I wasn't expecting it to be that sturdy and heavy. So n o complains.
The color that you see in the pictures is ugly. Actually it is not bad at all.
And no issue with rach mount ears either as it very nicely fits between the bottom legs of my HT cabinet and the color matches with the frame.
I am pondering if I should get one more (if I can get one)
Haven't yet connected but will do soon.
I thought I could use Banana plugs to connect the speakers, but...
No banana plugs but these do have rca inputs. So there's that.
cmryan821 is offline  
post #213 of 563 Old 08-12-2014, 05:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
aaranddeeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lover's State
Posts: 1,309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmryan821 View Post
No banana plugs but these do have rca inputs. So there's that.
What's that logic?
aaranddeeman is offline  
post #214 of 563 Old 08-12-2014, 05:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Doctor Morbius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaranddeeman View Post
I thought I could use Banana plugs to connect the speakers, but...
Of course you can use banana plugs. Get a box knife and pull out the plastic bits in the binding posts.
Mfusick and Boomassiv like this.

1: Sony DVP-S7000 | Denon DVD-2900 | Laptop > Emotiva XDA-2 > Emotiva Control Freak > Crown XLS2000 > Focal 826V | Def Tech BP2000 | (2) DIY 15" Subs
2: Computer > Parasound Zdac > Emotiva Control Freak > Acurus A150 > Focal 706V | Def Tech SM450 | Velodyne F-1000B Sub
Doctor Morbius is online now  
post #215 of 563 Old 08-12-2014, 05:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cmryan821's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaranddeeman View Post
What's that logic?
Banana plugs and rca inputs are the typical connections in consumer amps, but pro amps rarely have rca inputs. So I was saying that even though you cannot use banana connectors at least you don't need rca to xlr cables/adapters.

Btw, I was mistaken. These do have banana connectors along with rca's.
cmryan821 is offline  
post #216 of 563 Old 08-12-2014, 05:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
aaranddeeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lover's State
Posts: 1,309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doctor Morbius View Post
Of course you can use banana plugs. Get a box knife and pull out the plastic bits in the binding posts.
Ah. Thanks. I first thought that is how it could be but didn't want to risk damaging anything..
Thanks again..
aaranddeeman is offline  
post #217 of 563 Old 08-12-2014, 05:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
aaranddeeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lover's State
Posts: 1,309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmryan821 View Post
Banana plugs and rca inputs are the typical connections in consumer amps, but pro amps rarely have rca inputs. So I was saying that even though you cannot use banana connectors at least you don't need rca to xlr cables/adapters.

Btw, I was mistaken. These do have banana connectors along with rca's.
Oh okay. May be they have covered everything..
aaranddeeman is offline  
post #218 of 563 Old 08-12-2014, 05:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
aaranddeeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lover's State
Posts: 1,309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaranddeeman View Post
Received mine today (x1000).
I wasn't expecting it to be that sturdy and heavy. So n o complains.
The color that you see in the pictures is ugly. Actually it is not bad at all.
And no issue with rach mount ears either as it very nicely fits between the bottom legs of my HT cabinet and the color matches with the frame.
I am pondering if I should get one more (if I can get one)
Haven't yet connected but will do soon.
I thought I could use Banana plugs to connect the speakers, but...
Finally pulled trigger on one more. Hope it ships..
As there are no vents at bottom or top, I guess we can safely stack them up.
aaranddeeman is offline  
post #219 of 563 Old 08-12-2014, 05:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mynym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Are the ears removable?

Had to Dremel them off my EP2500. Would be nice if they where just screwed in and detachable.
mynym is offline  
post #220 of 563 Old 08-12-2014, 06:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cmryan821's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaranddeeman View Post
Finally pulled trigger on one more. Hope it ships..
As there are no vents at bottom or top, I guess we can safely stack them up.
Definitely. Pro amps are made to be stackable in racks. They just need some space behind and in front of them.
cmryan821 is offline  
post #221 of 563 Old 08-12-2014, 06:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cmryan821's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by mynym View Post
Are the ears removable?

Had to Dremel them off my EP2500. Would be nice if they where just screwed in and detachable.
Nope. They're part of the faceplate.
cmryan821 is offline  
post #222 of 563 Old 08-12-2014, 07:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
aaranddeeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lover's State
Posts: 1,309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmryan821 View Post
Definitely. Pro amps are made to be stackable in racks. They just need some space behind and in front of them.
Thanks.

Also, while going through the manual, they recommend not keeping any "sensitive" equipment (like preamp) directly above or below to avoid any hum due to magnetic field.
I was planning to keep this amp just under my AV receiver (gap of roughly 2 inches). Not sure if that will pose any such issue.
How are you guys placing your equipment?
aaranddeeman is offline  
post #223 of 563 Old 08-12-2014, 08:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
cookieattk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaranddeeman View Post
Thanks.

Also, while going through the manual, they recommend not keeping any "sensitive" equipment (like preamp) directly above or below to avoid any hum due to magnetic field.
I was planning to keep this amp just under my AV receiver (gap of roughly 2 inches). Not sure if that will pose any such issue.
How are you guys placing your equipment?
it shouldnt be a problem at all
cookieattk is online now  
post #224 of 563 Old 08-12-2014, 08:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
CinemaAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 331 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Not bad.

And the payoff is never certain: Some observers contend that a generation has already been trained to be content with the small screen.
CinemaAndy is offline  
post #225 of 563 Old 08-12-2014, 08:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Doctor Morbius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 34
I like the rack mounts on pro amps. It kind of gives them an anti-establishment, thumb your nose at the corporate suits look.

1: Sony DVP-S7000 | Denon DVD-2900 | Laptop > Emotiva XDA-2 > Emotiva Control Freak > Crown XLS2000 > Focal 826V | Def Tech BP2000 | (2) DIY 15" Subs
2: Computer > Parasound Zdac > Emotiva Control Freak > Acurus A150 > Focal 706V | Def Tech SM450 | Velodyne F-1000B Sub
Doctor Morbius is online now  
post #226 of 563 Old 08-12-2014, 09:02 PM
Newbie
 
reddidit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by action_jackson View Post
They got 10% off the clearance price, not $99. I believe they are on sale for like $199 and $299, so an aditional 10% off of that.
This.

Seems like a crap-load of wattage for a pretty reasonable price.
reddidit is offline  
post #227 of 563 Old 08-12-2014, 09:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
BrutalBodyShots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 826
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Anyone else in NY try to order one of these? I did the other day and was called back and told it was out of stock and discontinued. I happen to be in New Hampshire for a few days and passing through MA on the way home and found a location in MA that has one in store for the same price. If it's still there I'll grab it on Friday when I pass through.
BrutalBodyShots is offline  
post #228 of 563 Old 08-13-2014, 04:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
lemonslush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: MA
Posts: 643
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Lots of people buying them, anyone actually hook it up yet?

I still have one in the box, the other aside from ground loop issues. I get a static noise when I put my ear against the speaker. My other speakers powered by the receiver don't have that.

Any ideas?
lemonslush is online now  
post #229 of 563 Old 08-13-2014, 04:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
aaranddeeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lover's State
Posts: 1,309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrutalBodyShots View Post
Anyone else in NY try to order one of these? I did the other day and was called back and told it was out of stock and discontinued. I happen to be in New Hampshire for a few days and passing through MA on the way home and found a location in MA that has one in store for the same price. If it's still there I'll grab it on Friday when I pass through.
Why don't you order it now for store pickup at that MA store. That will be an assurance and not luck..
aaranddeeman is offline  
post #230 of 563 Old 08-13-2014, 05:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cmryan821's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by lemonslush View Post
Lots of people buying them, anyone actually hook it up yet?

I still have one in the box, the other aside from ground loop issues. I get a static noise when I put my ear against the speaker. My other speakers powered by the receiver don't have that.

Any ideas?
I think this might help. First, set the input voltage on the amp to 1.4V, if you haven't already, then level match your speakers. If it's still present, turn down the amp gain and increase the output voltage from your avr to match speaker levels again. I think that's helped some people.
cmryan821 is offline  
post #231 of 563 Old 08-13-2014, 05:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sibuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Western NY
Posts: 2,121
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrutalBodyShots View Post
Anyone else in NY try to order one of these? I did the other day and was called back and told it was out of stock and discontinued. I happen to be in New Hampshire for a few days and passing through MA on the way home and found a location in MA that has one in store for the same price. If it's still there I'll grab it on Friday when I pass through.
I ordered min on Friday of last week (western NY) they shipped out of PA someplace and should be here today
Sibuna is offline  
post #232 of 563 Old 08-13-2014, 05:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
lemonslush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: MA
Posts: 643
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmryan821 View Post
I think this might help. First, set the input voltage on the amp to 1.4V, if you haven't already, then level match your speakers. If it's still present, turn down the amp gain and increase the output voltage from your avr to match speaker levels again. I think that's helped some people.

I have it set to .75 currently, I will test that out when I get home. I left the AV set to -5 db and the power on the amp is almost half way so I could match my AV powered speakers. I have a ART Clean box I could hookup but was hoping I wouldn't have to use it.

Thanks for the tip.
lemonslush is online now  
post #233 of 563 Old 08-13-2014, 05:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NicksHitachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 3,700
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 160
^Set the amp to lower sensitivity that should lower the static you mention.

AFA the ground loop, the best option is get an unbalanced to balanced cable and lift the shield from the neg signal on the source(AVR) end. The balanced end should have the shield grounded to the earth ground through the amp.

Avoid the clean box at all costs. The only reason to use something like that is if the AVR wont push the amp to full power IMO.
NicksHitachi is offline  
post #234 of 563 Old 08-13-2014, 05:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
action_jackson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 159 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Mine said out for delivery yesterday, but then it said package was not ready at the time of the first pickup attempt. Whatever that means IDK...It is out for delivery again today, I guess the wife will be getting a surprise package hehe. They say it is easier to ask forgiveness than permission, guess this will be a test

Epson Home Cinema 3010 Projector____Paradigm 9SE MK II Main LR
Yamaha RX-V667 AVR_______________Paradigm CC-270 V.3 Center
Emotiva UPA-5 Amplifier______________Dual Stereo Integrity 18" Infinite Baffle
Sony BDP-570 Blu Ray_______________DIY Sound Group Volt 10
action_jackson is offline  
post #235 of 563 Old 08-13-2014, 05:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
lemonslush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: MA
Posts: 643
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by NicksHitachi View Post
^Set the amp to lower sensitivity that should lower the static you mention.

AFA the ground loop, the best option is get an unbalanced to balanced cable and lift the shield from the neg signal on the source(AVR) end. The balanced end should have the shield grounded to the earth ground through the amp.

Avoid the clean box at all costs. The only reason to use something like that is if the AVR wont push the amp to full power IMO.
Balanced to unbalanced, does that mean using something like this http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...=ATVPDKIKX0DER instead of a regulare RCA?

I have those for my sub amps. The crown amp can take the XLR input correct?
lemonslush is online now  
post #236 of 563 Old 08-13-2014, 06:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NicksHitachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 3,700
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 160
Yep, those are what i use and thats worth a shot.

FYI monoprice wires the shield to the neg signal, you need to do surgery on the rca end to "float" the shield. Thats the best way to ensure low noise and combat GL humm. You can always try them in stock trim and see if the humm goes away.
NicksHitachi is offline  
post #237 of 563 Old 08-13-2014, 06:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
lemonslush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: MA
Posts: 643
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by NicksHitachi View Post
Yep, those are what i use and thats worth a shot.

FYI monoprice wires the shield to the neg signal, you need to do surgery on the rca end to "float" the shield. Thats the best way to ensure low noise and combat GL humm. You can always try them in stock trim and see if the humm goes away.

Not sure I follow what you mean by "float" the shield. Any way I can find info on this someplace? Thanks for your help BTW.
Do you mean do something like this? http://bcae1.com/images/rca/thumbnails/IMG_9228b_t.jpg

What would I ground the wire to? Would the metal case work?

Last edited by lemonslush; 08-13-2014 at 07:08 AM.
lemonslush is online now  
post #238 of 563 Old 08-13-2014, 07:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NicksHitachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 3,700
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 160
Float= disconnect

Shield= copper braid surrounding signal wires

You can achieve this any way you like.

See scenario #17.

You see that the shield is not connected at the rca end and only connected at the xlr end. Monoprice grounds the shield to the negative of the signal wire inside the rca connector. You just unscrew the connector disconnect the shield in a neat manner that won't short to any other connection and re-secure the connector.

MemX likes this.

Last edited by NicksHitachi; 08-13-2014 at 07:16 AM.
NicksHitachi is offline  
post #239 of 563 Old 08-13-2014, 07:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NicksHitachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 3,700
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 160
Nope, your not adding a ground connection your removing an unwanted one. See ^

Quote:
Originally Posted by lemonslush View Post
? http://bcae1.com/images/rca/thumbnails/IMG_9228b_t.jpg

What would I ground the wire to? Would the metal case work?
NicksHitachi is offline  
post #240 of 563 Old 08-13-2014, 07:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
lemonslush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: MA
Posts: 643
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by NicksHitachi View Post
Nope, your not adding a ground connection your removing an unwanted one. See ^
Gotcha, thanks very much for the explanation. Would using a rca to xlr converter be a better bet then?
lemonslush is online now  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off