Forum Jump: 
 23Likes

post #1 of 61 Old 08-12-2014, 02:30 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Boxozaxu's Curved Front Ported Classix II

This is my take on Paul Carmody's Classix II speaker design. The plan is to make two curved front ported enclosures that are veneered and stained. I hope to accomplish several things I've never done before including building a curved speaker enclosure and veneering. Another purpose of this build is to learn a few things and possibly avoid some mistakes when I build my future HT speakers. Lastly, I would never have tried this if it wasn’t for all the others who have generously shared their builds and experience. Thank you for sharing.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 61 Old 08-12-2014, 02:30 PM - Thread Starter

Reserved 1
post #3 of 61 Old 08-12-2014, 02:30 PM - Thread Starter

Design

To kickoff the project I purchased two kits from DIYSoundGroup. The kits included the baffle for the rear ported design and that's what I originally planned to build but, since these will eventually live in my office and potentially on my desk, I switched to front ported. They're not as deep as the rear ported and I really started liking the looks of the front ported design. The included baffles will still come in real handy when I make the new baffles.

While waiting for the kits I spent a little time in sketchup working through different curves and dimensions that looked nice and stayed at the correct volume. I eventually picked this design:

Nothing super fancy but should be fun. And if you're really into boring youtube videos:

To make it less boring I asked my wife to improvise some vintage 70s adult movie sounding music on her piano so I could add it to the video but she just stood there and gave me that look. Oh well. I think that's enough chat so let's go make some MDF dust! U mm... right after a make a new circle jig for my router.