newbie with inuke 6000dsp setup questions - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 39 Old 08-14-2014, 07:57 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
brendelac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 722
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 54
newbie with inuke 6000dsp setup questions

I have a mini marty with UXL-18 driver and nu6000dsp. A lot of the inuke setup options are confusing and leave me scratching my head. Right now I'm trying to set the amp to bridge mode, but the only options I seem to have available are STEREO, DUAL, BIAMP1 and BIAMP2.

Please feel free to walk me through this like a 5 year old. The inuke is connected to a Denon 4311 if that is of any relevance. Thanks.
brendelac is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 39 Old 08-14-2014, 09:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
derrickdj1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,695
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 159
You can't bridge the Nuke 6000. Stereo is the choice for two subs or one.
derrickdj1 is offline  
post #3 of 39 Old 08-14-2014, 09:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 5,888
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1382 Post(s)
Liked: 1227
Damn, sorry I forgot about that. What an idiot I am. Sorry dude. Pos 1+ and neg 1-.
chalugadp is offline  
post #4 of 39 Old 08-14-2014, 10:06 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
brendelac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 722
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 54
OK, adjusted the speakon connectors as above and have the amp set to stereo mode. I have both sub-outs connected to the inuke via RCA-to-XLR cables (do I only need to use one?) and am using the CH-A output to the mini-marty but no sound from the sub.

Also, connecting the Denon to the Behringer produces a hum from both main speakers that is quite audible when there is no other sound being output.
brendelac is offline  
post #5 of 39 Old 08-14-2014, 10:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 5,888
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1382 Post(s)
Liked: 1227
Only need one RCA to xlr. Your only using one channel to power one sub.
chalugadp is offline  
post #6 of 39 Old 08-14-2014, 10:31 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
brendelac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 722
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 54
One RCA/XLR removed. Any idea why I am getting zero output?
brendelac is offline  
post #7 of 39 Old 08-14-2014, 10:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 5,888
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1382 Post(s)
Liked: 1227
Disconnect sub at speakon connector on sub. Then put a bass heavy song on. Disconnect all speakers and turn volume on avr up to -10. Then watch clipping lights. Do they light up (1,2,3, or even red)
chalugadp is offline  
post #8 of 39 Old 08-14-2014, 10:47 PM
Member
 
doc5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 18
If your using the software on laptop or by using amp...look and see if your getting input signal...if you changed modes make sure you save settings for it to apply, turn off crossover for now, can set it later
doc5150 is offline  
post #9 of 39 Old 08-14-2014, 10:51 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
brendelac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 722
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 54
One clipping light flashes. This would indicate that the problem is between the amp and woofer, yes?
brendelac is offline  
post #10 of 39 Old 08-14-2014, 10:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 5,888
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1382 Post(s)
Liked: 1227
Where are the gains set ?
You should get two to three lights on bass song at -10.
chalugadp is offline  
post #11 of 39 Old 08-14-2014, 10:57 PM
Member
 
doc5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 18
very possible, make sure your speakon cable is +1 and -1 , if you have a dvm check your cable for good connection

I am using a 4310ci and it will clip that amp easily
doc5150 is offline  
post #12 of 39 Old 08-14-2014, 10:59 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
brendelac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 722
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 54
I had the channel A gain all the way up, playing some Daft Punk. My AVR still has audyssey and sub eq settings being used so that may have the output level decreased. I think it was at -4 if memory serves me correctly.

Got 2 and 3 clipping lights when I went above 0 on the AVR.

Last edited by brendelac; 08-14-2014 at 11:04 PM.
brendelac is offline  
post #13 of 39 Old 08-14-2014, 11:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 5,888
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1382 Post(s)
Liked: 1227
Ok I'm guessing you have a problem with speakon at sub. Did you solder wires on or crimp. Check them.
chalugadp is offline  
post #14 of 39 Old 08-14-2014, 11:09 PM
Member
 
doc5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 18
well you have an output issue then, either sub cable wired wrong or something in the amp settings..this amp wont do parallel unless is biamped so chan 1 input and output has to be used
doc5150 is offline  
post #15 of 39 Old 08-14-2014, 11:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 5,888
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1382 Post(s)
Liked: 1227
As frustrating as it is we've all been there. Will figure it out.
chalugadp is offline  
post #16 of 39 Old 08-14-2014, 11:20 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
LTD02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 17,001
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 631 Post(s)
Liked: 1226
fyi, the amber lights are just level indicators. the red one indicates clipping.


I'd turn off audyssey and eq while sorting things out and manually set the sub level output to +0 (to start).


as was mentioned, to rule out a wiring problem driver-side, if you have a multimeter, check the resistance across pins 1+ and 1- (which run all the way through the driver). should read somewhere in the ballpark of 3.2-3.5 ohms or so.

Listen. It's All Good.
LTD02 is online now  
post #17 of 39 Old 08-14-2014, 11:23 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
brendelac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 722
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by chalugadp View Post
Ok I'm guessing you have a problem with speakon at sub. Did you solder wires on or crimp. Check them.
Are you referring to the cabinet or driver? The driver has the spring tabs with the black electrical tape wire going to negative and the other to positive. The cabinet still has the connections that were in place when I bought from you.
brendelac is offline  
post #18 of 39 Old 08-14-2014, 11:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 5,888
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1382 Post(s)
Liked: 1227
The four pole speakon on outside of cab. Remove small screws and pull it out. I had it wired for bridge mode so if you didn't change it then there's your problem. It was bridge mode cuz my inuke3000dsp .
LTD02 likes this.
chalugadp is offline  
post #19 of 39 Old 08-14-2014, 11:27 PM
Member
 
doc5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Make sure your speakon connectors are wired correctly then.
doc5150 is offline  
post #20 of 39 Old 08-14-2014, 11:29 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
brendelac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 722
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by chalugadp View Post
The four pole speakon on outside of cab. Remove small screws and pull it out. I had it wired for bridge mode so if you didn't change it then there's your problem. It was bridge mode cuz my inuke3000dsp .
That must be it. See, all this could have been avoided if you sold me your 3000

Will update in a bit...
brendelac is offline  
post #21 of 39 Old 08-14-2014, 11:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 5,888
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1382 Post(s)
Liked: 1227
That's it. I think I sniffed a lot of oil today and my brain is scrambled [emoji33]
Your going to love the bass coming.
chalugadp is offline  
post #22 of 39 Old 08-14-2014, 11:48 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
brendelac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 722
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Bingo!

Only problem now is the wire to speakon connection in the cabinet. The blades are so close together that the spade connectors on each wire will be touching each other.
brendelac is offline  
post #23 of 39 Old 08-14-2014, 11:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 5,888
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1382 Post(s)
Liked: 1227
Can't have em touching obviously. Bridged they were on opposite sides. Smaller spades or solder on.
chalugadp is offline  
post #24 of 39 Old 08-15-2014, 12:01 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
brendelac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 722
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Ya, it looks like the ends on the wires are oversized for the neutrik blades. I'll make a run to Ukranian Tire tomorrow and get the correct size.

This will be the third time the driver has been screwed into the cabinet. In hindsight there was no reason to remove it tonight, but I did. I thought maybe I forgot to wire the driver. Anyways, does having the extra holes in the mounting surface affect performance at all?

Thanks.

Last edited by brendelac; 08-15-2014 at 12:11 AM.
brendelac is offline  
post #25 of 39 Old 08-15-2014, 12:10 AM
Member
 
FriscoDTM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 12
disconnect your cable tv coax and see if the hum goes away - if so, you have a ground loop from the cable wire

TV 2013 Samsung 75" UN75F6300
AVR 2013 Denon X2000 w/ Audyssey XT
7.2 3 DIY 1099s (LCR), 4 Yamaha NS-IC600WH + 4 Dayton ME820C (SL, SR), 2 DIY OS-MTM (BL, BR)
Subs Two 19Hz DIY Ported UXL-18s + iNuke6000DSP
Calibration CALMAN5, REW, UMIK-1
FriscoDTM is offline  
post #26 of 39 Old 08-15-2014, 12:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 5,888
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1382 Post(s)
Liked: 1227
Quote:
Originally Posted by brendelac View Post
Ya, it looks like the ends on the wires are oversized for the neutrik blades. I'll make a run to Ukranian Tire tomorrow and get the correct size.

This will be the third time the driver has been screwed into the cabinet. In hindsight there was no reason to remove it tonight, but I did. I thought maybe I forgot to wire the driver. Anyways, does having the extra holes in the mounting surface affect performance at all?

Thanks.
No. Just rotate so holes are fresh. Is there gasket in there (can't remember ) if not put one in.
chalugadp is offline  
post #27 of 39 Old 08-15-2014, 12:26 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
brendelac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 722
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by chalugadp View Post
No. Just rotate so holes are fresh. Is there gasket in there (can't remember ) if not put one in.
You gave me a fresh one which I haven't used yet. I will use it tomorrow, hopefully the last time I will be fastening the driver to the cabinet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by FriscoDTM View Post
disconnect your cable tv coax and see if the hum goes away - if so, you have a ground loop from the cable wire
Thanks, I will check in the morning - just heading for bed. It's only a problem with the inuke connected. Could it be that is powered through the same surge protector as my AVR?

Last edited by brendelac; 08-15-2014 at 12:29 AM.
brendelac is offline  
post #28 of 39 Old 08-15-2014, 11:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: East side of NW Cascades
Posts: 3,474
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 468 Post(s)
Liked: 475
Clipping the inputs before the outputs is always bad.


The outputs tell you how many watts are going to the speaker.

In 4-ohms it would be:
0db 3000watts
-3db 1500watts
-6db 750watts
-9db 375watts
-12db 188watts
-15db 90watts
<18db <45watts
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	13245.png
Views:	255
Size:	13.6 KB
ID:	213617  
BassThatHz is online now  
post #29 of 39 Old 08-15-2014, 01:32 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
brendelac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 722
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 54
So ya, this thing is pretty potent. It is on the boomy side, but I haven't touched the DSP yet and it is currently corner mounted which probably contributes to the boominess. I'm already noticing the trade-off though of having two smaller subs VS one grand-daddy of a sub

The coaxial cable was the cause of the hum. I'm curious why it has never been an issue until the inuke was connected and what is the remedy so that I can keep the coaxial cable connected while being drowned in bass.
brendelac is offline  
post #30 of 39 Old 08-15-2014, 01:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 5,888
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1382 Post(s)
Liked: 1227
I had it almost 2' from corner . It wasn't boomy. You will get it dialed in.
chalugadp is offline  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs
Gear in this thread - 6000DSP by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off