Emergency.....No output from sub - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By BassThatHz
  • 1 Post By PM-Performance
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 08-16-2014, 12:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
chadcj7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Emergency.....No output from sub

I just finished my martycube and I have no output at all

I am not sure if I configured my amp incorrect or what. It is a 3000dsp in bridged mode. I have a xlr to rya adapter to the back of my denon 3313 and then a speakon cable from sub to 3000dsp.

I would appreciate any help that you can give me
chadcj7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 08-16-2014, 12:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 4,844
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 800 Post(s)
Liked: 956
Bridge mode being red 1+ and black 2+. You have speakon connector and cables with that wiring ?
Gains are turned up all the way, you picked bridge mode on inuke as well.
chalugadp is online now  
post #3 of 17 Old 08-16-2014, 12:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
wvu80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Did you make your own Speakon cables? I have seen posts from others that have made theirs, and had similar problems.

Can you post exactly what wires you connected with what terminals? I won't be able to troubleshoot that, but there are others here who will.

Symmetry pleases the eye, but it usually offends the ears where low frequencies are concerned. -Yoda Fitzmaurice
wvu80 is offline  
post #4 of 17 Old 08-16-2014, 12:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
chadcj7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by chalugadp View Post
Bridge mode being red 1+ and black 2+. You have speakon connector and cables with that wiring ?
Gains are turned up all the way, you picked bridge mode on inuke as well.
yes. I just doubled checked them and still nothing


I have attached pics of what my sub wiring looks like just to be safe
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20140816_143335_resized.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	153.8 KB
ID:	215137  
chadcj7 is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 08-16-2014, 12:38 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
chadcj7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by wvu80 View Post
Did you make your own Speakon cables? I have seen posts from others that have made theirs, and had similar problems.

Can you post exactly what wires you connected with what terminals? I won't be able to troubleshoot that, but there are others here who will.
I did not make my speakon cables. I purchased it
chadcj7 is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 08-16-2014, 12:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 4,844
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 800 Post(s)
Liked: 956
Quote:
Originally Posted by chadcj7 View Post
I did not make my speakon cables. I purchased it
They come in stereo mode. You changed them to bridge mode ?
chalugadp is online now  
post #7 of 17 Old 08-16-2014, 12:55 PM
Member
 
doc5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Take it out of bridged mode does it work? if so then you need to rewire the speakon cable like chalugadp mentioned.
doc5150 is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 08-16-2014, 12:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: East side of NW Cascades
Posts: 2,888
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 353
This is like the 10th thread on this topic, 99% of the time they have the speakons miss-wired or wrong inputs and outputs connections, or wrong amp mode, or insufficient gain/sensitivity. Or a combination of all of them.
It all has to be perfect or it wont work.
Only 1% of the time is it a defective driver or amp or avr.



It is impossible to see how it is wired by that picture, you need two closeups of the terminals,
and also one of each side of the speakon wire, and one of the speakon binding inside the box.

You should also post pictures of your AVR volume level and subwoofer output gain, and screenshots of all of the pages of the inukeDSP settings.

Then we will know...
Quickett likes this.

"If Bad Sound Were Fatal, Audio Would Be the Leading Cause of Death."


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
BassThatHz is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 08-16-2014, 12:56 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
chadcj7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by chalugadp View Post
They come in stereo mode. You changed them to bridge mode ?
the actual speakon cable comes in stereo mode? How do I change it to bridge mode?
chadcj7 is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 08-16-2014, 01:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 4,844
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 800 Post(s)
Liked: 956
Quote:
Originally Posted by chadcj7 View Post
the actual speakon cable comes in stereo mode? How do I change it to bridge mode?
YouTube it.
chalugadp is online now  
post #11 of 17 Old 08-16-2014, 01:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
PM-Performance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by chadcj7 View Post
the actual speakon cable comes in stereo mode? How do I change it to bridge mode?
Bridge is +1 and +2
Stereo is -1 and +1 on speak on terminals

If those voicecoils are in series they look ok, if you intended parallel then looks like you are missing one of the wires for the other coil

PM-Performance is online now  
post #12 of 17 Old 08-16-2014, 01:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
mtg90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Millbrook, IL
Posts: 823
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 159
If you have a speakon plate on your sub assuming you did not solder the wires to the terminals (or even if so) it may be easier to swap the - wire from the 1- terminal to the 2+ terminal then it would be to disassemble the speakon connectors on the cable and rewire those. However that would only work if the speakon cable you purchased is a 4 conductor cable.


Edit added picture to illustrate:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	H89535000000000-00-750x750 copy.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	54.4 KB
ID:	215145  

Last edited by mtg90; 08-16-2014 at 01:28 PM.
mtg90 is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 08-16-2014, 01:30 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
chadcj7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thank you everyone. It was my speakon cable that was incorrect. In all of my reading I never remember seeing that. Well it is working now and I will say that I have big smile on my face. I am only getting one light on the amp with the gain all the way up. If you can point me in any direction or guide on how to fix this I will appreciate it


Once again I love this forum and everyone's quick responses!!!!! Also I think the addiction has hit!!!

I will post more pics of the build in another thread
chadcj7 is offline  
post #14 of 17 Old 08-16-2014, 01:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 4,844
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 800 Post(s)
Liked: 956
I'm going to make a FAQ for marty subs later today it will cover foam connectors cable wiring ect.
chalugadp is online now  
post #15 of 17 Old 08-16-2014, 03:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BassThatHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: East side of NW Cascades
Posts: 2,888
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by chadcj7 View Post
I am only getting one light on the amp with the gain all the way up.
One light is like ~300watts or less
Two lights is like ~750watts
Three lights is like ~1500watts
Just under clipping is full power.

With all the speakers and subs disconnected, you should be able to reach just below the clipping-lights with a heavy bass song/movie with the AVR at around 0db or a bit higher.
(This is assuming the sub can handle that much power and you want/need it that loud.)
If not, then you probably need an RCA to XLR converter box, such as a Cleanbox Pro.
Just remember to lower the volume before reconnecting the speakers and subs (with the electronics turned off), otherwise loud thump and house fire.

"If Bad Sound Were Fatal, Audio Would Be the Leading Cause of Death."


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
BassThatHz is offline  
post #16 of 17 Old 08-16-2014, 03:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bassment's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 807
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 355 Post(s)
Liked: 140
I've never heard of a LFE pre-out ever that can not do 0.7 volts to power an inuke to max. Every single time it's inuke gain is too low or LFE trim is too low


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bassment is online now  
post #17 of 17 Old 08-16-2014, 04:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
PM-Performance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Follow chugalupdp's inuke gain post a week or two ago.
I followed this and worked great for me.
chalugadp likes this.
PM-Performance is online now  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off