74Likes

post #1 of 327 Old 08-17-2014, 07:01 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 839 Post(s)
Liked: 987
MartySub FAQ

Martysub is a ported subwoofer with a slot port. Its not a new design but it has become very popular for several reasons :

1) easy to cut and good use of a sheet of mdf or Plywood.
2) powered by inuke amp which is dirt cheap
3) using si18d4 allows huge spl from inuke3000dsp .

Lots of other reasons as well. The first post covers from start to finish of the cab. Post two covers hooking up to your system and optimizing. The third post will have pics of various subs. Most of the info here will be for any ported sub. If you want to contribute to the FAQ just pose a question with the answer and if helpful I will add it. It will take a few days to flush out the info.

The whole Marty line of subs were designed by LTD02. His tireless patience helped me when I was a noob and has helped hundreds of others. John took some of the design from NeoDAN. Who is neodan ? Many years ago, there was a forum member, neodan, who created a line of subwoofers that he called the "easy button" subs. they were meant to be large, low-tuned, bang-for-the-buck type subs. when we cooked up the design for the original martysub, I had long forgotten about the "easy button" line. upon rediscovering his subs though and how similar the martysubs were to his, I feel that he should get some sort of mention. here is one of his subs:
Easy Button End Table MAX 26.5" x 24" x 37.5" hwd

Hopefully this thread will be a spot for people either interested in starting a sub or answering those questions to help you finish. Also a general spot for Martytalk ! Who is Marty .......

FAQ
1) What are the standard sizes with SPL chart

Microcube - green
volume = 3.75 c.f. , tuning = 23hz Dayton 390ho with 1100 watts

Martycube - red
volume = 4.75 c.f. , tuning = 20hz
si 18 1100w

Minimarty - blue
volume = 9.0 c.f. , tuning = 18hz ultimax 18 2000w**