Eclipse 88120 DVC 3-ohm ported? - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Ya boy
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 01-09-2015, 05:18 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Eclipse 88120 DVC 3-ohm ported?

Hey everyone, I sold my 96 Mystic Cobra and picked up a grown man B8 Audi Quattro. Anyway, I kept my well loved Eclipse sub to turn into a home sub. It is currently in the sealed box from my car and is about 1 square foot. I'm running it with a Crown XLS 1500 amp bridged in 6-ohms. The system it's paired with is a Carver/Paradigm rack system. I'm an engineer at a cabinet shop and would like to whip up a nice ported box on our CNC. When I input the woofer specs (if it's entered the write way) into Winisd, it seems this driver is less capable than JL W1-6. This is a joke right?

Here are the specs:


88120DVC
Fs:
29Hz
@
28Hz
Qts:
0.34
@
0.29
DCR:
3.0/coil
@
3.1
Vas:
2.68cuft
@
2.68 cuft
Xmax:
(one way)
1.17
@
1.17

What do you guys get?
Ya boy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 01-09-2015, 05:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: West Valley, AZ
Posts: 4,510
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 213
What size is the woofer?
Jay1 is online now  
post #3 of 13 Old 01-09-2015, 06:20 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
it's a 12" aluminum DVC Eclipse (TC9 motor)
Ya boy is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 01-09-2015, 08:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: West Valley, AZ
Posts: 4,510
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 213
It looks pretty good in a 4 ft3 21hz box, and can handle a ton of power without hitting xmax. You'll need a slot port that is 1.5" H x 16" W x 32" long. A box that is 17.5" W x 30" H x 20" D made from 3/4" material with the given slot dimensions built in will get you what you want. Make sure you add a couple cross braces too.
Jay1 is online now  
post #5 of 13 Old 01-09-2015, 09:06 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Thank you, I guess I'll have to go bigger than expected with the box,
Ya boy is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 01-17-2015, 04:37 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Update:
I cut the parts on my Rover and when assembled the box will be 18.5x18.5x 27 11/16". These are outside dimensions using 3/4" MDF. I decided to keep the footprint small and build upwards to maintain my cubic footage. In regards to the port, can I use two round ports instead of the single rectangular one? The box will be finished in piano black and look like it came from an overpriced showroom when done.
Ya boy is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 01-17-2015, 04:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: West Valley, AZ
Posts: 4,510
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 213
You can, you'll just need elbow fittings

http://www.lowes.com/pd_23355-1814-P...ductId=3132779

A pair of 4" x 32" ports should do the trick
Jay1 is online now  
post #8 of 13 Old 02-13-2015, 07:08 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
So, cut all the parts for the box on the CNC. Primed all the panels on the inside and assembled all sides. Sanded the outside so everything is looking good. Sealed it up good with sticky wood glue and caulking. Turns out piano black is quite an expensive paint job so I will settle for a well sanded decent gloss by me and a rattle can. Here are some pics...
Ya boy is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 02-13-2015, 07:11 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
here we go...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0678.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	51.9 KB
ID:	544457   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0679.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	76.7 KB
ID:	544465   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0682.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	68.8 KB
ID:	544473  
Bombelman likes this.
Ya boy is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 04-18-2015, 04:51 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Oh, all done and I am very happy with the results. The box actually made the sub smoother and less peaky. It's a big ass box but hangs out in a dark corner with a plant in front of it. Thanks for the help.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0698_1429400974184.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	103.9 KB
ID:	673321   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0699_1429401050186.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	970.6 KB
ID:	673329  
Ya boy is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 04-19-2015, 07:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Looks good. I personally would not have used a rattle can for the gloss black finish as you can buy a cheap HVLP gun at Harbor Freight for $20. Use some gloss black automotive paint, (a quart would probably suffice), and then clear it with an automotive clear, or lacquer. I have never done a gloss or piano gloss finish, though, in full disclosure! If I were to do that, I would spray a primer, (not sure which primer would be best?) sand,with 320grit then primer again, then sand with 320 grit again, then first base coat, sand with (?) second base coat, sand with (?) then lacquer clear, sand, lacquer clear, sand and finish with a third lacquer clear coat, sand with 1500 grit then buff with an automotive buffer and Polish. Does that sound right? Eventually at some point I want to attempt to build new cabinets for my Ascend Acoustics Sierra's as I hate their current cabinets which are made out of bamboo.
Tip24/96 is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 04-19-2015, 08:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: West Valley, AZ
Posts: 4,510
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 213
Nice man. Did you brace the cabinet at all?
Jay1 is online now  
post #13 of 13 Old Yesterday, 12:31 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Unfortunately, rattle can is all I had access to. I ended up having to repaint because of a bubble wrap incident. Paint was finished on the deck of my 2nd floor apartment, no air compressor, no spray gun. I will however build another box when I own a home, likely a two sub set up at 4 ohms instead of my power hungry Eclipse at 6 ohms. I actually clipped the amp in bridged mode with this thing. I have it balanced to take over when my Paradigms trail off. It will happily shake walls, roofs and the poor people under me if I tell it to. As far bracing, nothing elaborate. It was braced at all joining edges and is solid and really heavy. If I could do it again, it would have been slot ported instead of the giant holes I made.
Ya boy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off