AVS Forum banner

Dual 18" slim sub build

2K views 53 replies 16 participants last post by  JCJetta 
#1 · (Edited)
UPDATE POST #49

This is my first attempt at designing my own subs. I used Paint because I do not have any CAD software or the time to learn it. I need to go slim because I want to put the subs in the spot of the unnecessary corner in my theater pictured below. I will be using SI HT18D4 drivers powered by an inuke 3000dsp. One per channel wiring the coils in parallel for a 2ohm load. After bracing and driver, the internal enclosure will be slightly over 4ft^3. Even though this is the typical enclosure, I wanted to post this to see if anybody can see issues with the design. I know of one issue, and that is stacking these subs. I plan on securing the subs to the wall with something like Triad uses to bolt their subs down. Anything else that I should be worried about?

This is the corner

Front view

Side view

Stacked

Attachments

See less See more
#39 · (Edited)
Update:

I got in on the UXL18 group buy so I will not be using the SI HT18's anymore. Over the weekend I have been sick but was still able to get the pointless corner cut out and ready for my subs to go in. Here are the progress pics.

Before:

During:

After:

Now that corner will hide two UXL subs and nobody will ever know the difference. That is acoustically transparent column just like my panels.

Attachments

#40 ·
the "slim" factor makes this an interesting build and fun to follow for the pictures and good work done
also the slimness gives better placement options . .

had you considered using a UXL or modeled this box with a uxl? if you could of course , get one
so now we can get them,
what mods to the box might you make, if any

thanks

#43 ·
it was your slim build suggested to me by john wrt to "I bought 2 uxl's-now what!"
yours are sealed
I was looking for a slim ported, there's another thread out there I have bookmarked
and I need about 12 ft^3 to get along with MAX

#45 ·