AVS Forum banner

1099 Crossover help

2K views 26 replies 7 participants last post by  DaveW64 
#1 ·
This one goes out to Tux and anyone else who has built a 1099 crossover. This is my first attempt at anything so complex and I know it shows.
I get sound but it seems a bit high and bright with a definite slurring of words ending with an "S" sssss.

Can someone please help and tell me where I have gone wrong as Im all out of ideas and would love to hear how these speakers should really sound.

Regards,

Dave.

Attachments

See less See more
#4 ·
Tux, Speakers installed in the enclosures x 3 all sound the same. There is a definite slurring noticed on words ending with an S. More noticeable with female vocals. There was another forum member who mentioned a similar problem but never actually said if this was cured.

Attachments

#12 ·
Ya, it really looks like the positive line in causes the first cap in the mid section to be bypassed, maybe more. If that cap can't do it's job, it'll cause the mids to cancel with the woofers and your response will be very up tilted and should very shouty. At least that wire needs snipping between the first cap and the first inductor. I'd go over it carefully for other issues. I can't tell well, but there's likely more problems.

#13 ·
Can someone please help and tell me where I have gone wrong as Im all out of ideas and would love to hear how these speakers should really sound.
Another thing that might help us troubleshoot for you (along with rotating the bottom side pic so that it is a mirror of the top side pic) is to take a pencil and draw an outline of each component on the bottom side of the board so that we can see what it connected to what and where. I agree with @tuxedocivic, it looks like your + input wire is bypassing several components.

#16 · (Edited)