Dual 15" HT Subwoofer build 9ft^3 under $200 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 13Likes

post #1 of 36 Old 04-13-2016, 11:47 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 383
Dual 15" HT Subwoofer build 9ft^3 under $200

Hello everyone I'm new to AVS but have really been enjoying the projects here and the crazy passion a lot of you have! I recently got back into DIY speaker building and have been really enjoying a bunch of projects.

To continue the speakers I've been building for our TV room (I can post more info about the mains and center I made) I recently built a dual 15" subwoofer cabinet, it's very large and will sit in the corner of the room which is currently empty and behind an end table. Got the wife's approval after some convincing =)

The enclosure

I built the enclosure to be 9.5 cubic feet minus ports, subs and bracing it's closer to 9.0. I also made the baffle removable so I can easily repurpose the enclosure for virtually whatever I want, even the ports and terminals are attached to the baffle so once it comes off any of many different configurations of speakers and ports can be used. It is built out of 3/4" maple plywood and heavily braced with 1/2" pine plywood internally. I think at some point I'll put a long excursion 18" in this as 9 cubit feel works very well.

Outside dims are 48" tall, 24" wide and 18" deep.

Once the front baffle is bolted on it is essentially 1.5" thick. I didn't have to use any sealing mechanism between the baffle and the enclosure, everything was flat and tight and once bolted up is completely air tight. The vertical corners feature a 1" roundover, visually it is the same as the PS2 speakers and center channel I already built. Stain is black Varathane with Minwax rattle can semigloss polyeurethane. The feet are large 1.5" rubber from Amazon.