First time DIY - Speaker/sub recommendations? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
  • 1 Post By 18Hurts
  • 1 Post By ja00
  • 1 Post By Bill Fitzmaurice

post #1 of 6 Old 10-26-2016, 09:55 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1
First time DIY - Speaker/sub recommendations?

So I'm looking at possibly building my own speakers for both cost and wife's concern about ugly speakers in her living room reasons. Of course, I'm very new to this and so am still trying to read FAQs and other DIY resources to learn as much as possible before getting started.

In all this, I had an idea that I wanted to bounce off people with much more knowledge and experience to see if it's 1. doable, and 2. something that may already exist in some form.

Is is possible and not a completely stupid idea to have a cabinet that combines a floor level Sub with the raised front speakers on a home theater setup?

As I mentioned, one of the biggest concerns and drivers in my exploring a DIY project is my wife's aesthetic concerns of ugly speakers in the living room. I've seen some nicely camouflaged subwoofer enclosures and surround bookshelf speakers, but I was wondering if there was something that already exists that might combine the 2? Since I don't have any experience building speakers, I definitely don't have a skillset required to design something myself from scratch.

Maybe if something doesn't already exist, something along the lines of a Sub enclosure plan and then a front speaker plan that could be combined. Possibly even something like the sub integrated in the bottom with a media cabinet (or shelving) above it, and then the front speakers concealed at the top?