HS-24mk2 re-build??? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 6Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old Yesterday, 07:10 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
uniquepattern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,616
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 695 Post(s)
Liked: 654
HS-24mk2 re-build???

Alright, so I have a pair of HS-24mk2's from StereoIntegrity each in a 14.5ft3 sealed enclosure and they are powered with their own XLS2502 bridged (+/- 2400w @ 4ohm)


Recently I have been watching some excursion vids... in comparison my drivers barely move at high playback levels (and the amps are driven to their brink to do that).... It was a vid of a BHS driven nearly to bottoming in particular that made me realize that Im not using my subs anywhere near their potential... I barely see 1/4" p-p at most!


So Im thinking of a re-build, and this is where I could use some help... I have considered IB, but just cant talk my better half into cutting holes in the floor/wall.... so that's a no go.... Conventional methods of modeling, talking with the manufacturer (and some reading on AVS) led me to build 14.5ft3 enclosures - apparently too small... So my question would be, how big do I need to go?


Any suggestions/assistance would be greatly appreciated...
uniquepattern is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old Yesterday, 07:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 8,130
Mentioned: 188 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2319 Post(s)
Liked: 2122
1/4" p-p with an xls 2502 bridged doesn't sound right. I'd check your wiring and config.
notnyt is offline  
Old Yesterday, 07:18 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
uniquepattern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,616
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 695 Post(s)
Liked: 654
I checked those, as that was my first thought too... Even with a 10Hz sine, Id guess 1/4" p-p.... It doesn't seem right after seeing some of those excursion vids....
uniquepattern is offline  
 
Old Yesterday, 07:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 8,130
Mentioned: 188 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2319 Post(s)
Liked: 2122
Run a cea 2010 burst through it at 15hz and see what kind of movement you can get. That amp should be capable of pushing that to over 40mm one way in a 15 cube enclosure.
notnyt is offline  
Old Yesterday, 07:21 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
uniquepattern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,616
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 695 Post(s)
Liked: 654
edited post 3
uniquepattern is offline  
Old Yesterday, 07:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ereed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,525
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 901 Post(s)
Liked: 427
I'm no sub expert but you do realize that 12, 15 inch, etc and other drivers would have to move alot of excursion just to move same amount of air as 24 inch can? So while yours are moving only a little I'm sure you are not listening at reference or at least have it calibrated reference levels? In my opinion those 24 inch vids that are moving alot of air are probably playing 125db or more and probably not ideal in normal listening environments.

When you say high playback levels, what db are you referring to? Even though the driver's excursion isn't moving much as you suspect do you still get plenty of bass to your liking or do you feel like its not loud enough and missing bass?

Others who have build DIY boxes and such can probably give additional feedback whether its the driver, amp, or box itself.

Main theater: Sony 45es, 120 inch 16:9 screen, Panny BDT500, Rotel RMB-1075, Rotel RSP-1068, Klipsch RP-280F, RP-450C, RP-160M, SVS PB13 x 2, Monster Power Conditioner, GIK acoustic panels

TV Room: Panasonic 60" plasma, Integra DTR-30.3, Axiom Audio M60, VP150, QS8, EP500
ereed is offline  
Old Yesterday, 07:24 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
uniquepattern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,616
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 695 Post(s)
Liked: 654
@ereed I do understand that, but I should see a lot more movement then I do.... I don't expect to see much at normal listening levels, Im talking about that exact scenario, where you are trying to get that driver moving - I cant....
uniquepattern is offline  
Old Yesterday, 07:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 8,130
Mentioned: 188 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2319 Post(s)
Liked: 2122
one way excursion of the si 24 in 15 cubes with 2500 watts applied. Keep in mind the 2502 can burst over 4kw


notnyt is offline  
Old Yesterday, 07:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
uniquepattern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,616
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 695 Post(s)
Liked: 654
Yeah, something isn't right, Im not seeing anywhere near that.....
uniquepattern is offline  
Old Yesterday, 07:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
johnson636's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Somewhere in the Outer Rim
Posts: 787
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 50
I thought you stated the current pressure and sound level produced in your room was too much at high db listening levels
johnson636 is offline  
Old Yesterday, 07:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ereed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,525
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 901 Post(s)
Liked: 427
Quote:
Originally Posted by uniquepattern View Post
@ereed I do understand that, but I should see a lot more movement then I do.... I don't expect to see much at normal listening levels, Im talking about that exact scenario, where you are trying to get that driver moving - I cant....
Yes, if you are cranking up the volume and have gain turned up on the crown amps and the subs are not moving much then something is definitely wrong. Lets assume its not your box or sub itself.....and lets rule out its not the amp. Could it be maybe loose wiring issue somewhere? Or possibly sub out on AVR not putting out enough voltage?

To save you time from opening up your box and inspecting driver wiring do you have spare smaller subs that you can temporarily hook up to see if its doing same thing?

Main theater: Sony 45es, 120 inch 16:9 screen, Panny BDT500, Rotel RMB-1075, Rotel RSP-1068, Klipsch RP-280F, RP-450C, RP-160M, SVS PB13 x 2, Monster Power Conditioner, GIK acoustic panels

TV Room: Panasonic 60" plasma, Integra DTR-30.3, Axiom Audio M60, VP150, QS8, EP500
ereed is offline  
Old Yesterday, 07:32 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
uniquepattern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,616
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 695 Post(s)
Liked: 654
It is very insane, I just want to make sure Im using these to their full potential...
uniquepattern is offline  
Old Yesterday, 07:36 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
uniquepattern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,616
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 695 Post(s)
Liked: 654
Ok, so I re-checked the wiring and gain structure... Everything seems ok...


Its not like I have any complaints - It just seemed odd that these don't seem to move very much even when I try to get them jumping...


Oh well... I guess the plus side is I never have to worry about bottoming them

Last edited by uniquepattern; Yesterday at 07:40 AM.
uniquepattern is offline  
Old Yesterday, 07:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ereed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,525
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 901 Post(s)
Liked: 427
Quote:
Originally Posted by uniquepattern View Post
Ok, so I re-checked the wiring and gain structure... Everything seems ok...


Its not like I have any complaints - It just seemed odd that these don't seem to move very much even when I try to get them jumping...


Oh well... I guess the plus side is I never have to worry about bottoming them
Well in your size room it doesn't take much to get loud levels. Maybe you just have so much extra spare headroom left? But again if you really turn up the volume almost to max then it should be moving alot at least....so check on that.

Main theater: Sony 45es, 120 inch 16:9 screen, Panny BDT500, Rotel RMB-1075, Rotel RSP-1068, Klipsch RP-280F, RP-450C, RP-160M, SVS PB13 x 2, Monster Power Conditioner, GIK acoustic panels

TV Room: Panasonic 60" plasma, Integra DTR-30.3, Axiom Audio M60, VP150, QS8, EP500
ereed is offline  
Old Yesterday, 07:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 8,130
Mentioned: 188 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2319 Post(s)
Liked: 2122
put a piece of tape on the dust cap, then run a cea2010 tone burst through it at 15hz and watch. Increase level until you see some excursion...
notnyt is offline  
Old Yesterday, 07:52 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
uniquepattern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,616
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 695 Post(s)
Liked: 654
Quote:
Originally Posted by ereed View Post
Well in your size room it doesn't take much to get loud levels. Maybe you just have so much extra spare headroom left? But again if you really turn up the volume almost to max then it should be moving alot at least....so check on that.
Could be, I have yet to find a track that I cant blast at reference (with a healthy house curve dialed in) and ever felt like I was worried about the subs bottoming...
uniquepattern is offline  
Old Yesterday, 07:55 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
uniquepattern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,616
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 695 Post(s)
Liked: 654
Quote:
Originally Posted by notnyt View Post
put a piece of tape on the dust cap, then run a cea2010 tone burst through it at 15hz and watch. Increase level until you see some excursion...

I get a little over what looks like 1/4"... and if I drive the amp into clipping it looks about 1/2" or so at most....


It is crazy loud....
uniquepattern is offline  
Old Yesterday, 07:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
notnyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 8,130
Mentioned: 188 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2319 Post(s)
Liked: 2122
Quote:
Originally Posted by uniquepattern View Post
I get a little over what looks like 1/4"... and if I drive the amp into clipping it looks about 1/2" or so at most....
How do you have it wired?
notnyt is offline  
Old Yesterday, 07:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ereed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,525
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 901 Post(s)
Liked: 427
Quote:
Originally Posted by uniquepattern View Post
I get a little over what looks like 1/4"... and if I drive the amp into clipping it looks about 1/2" or so at most....


It is crazy loud....
You should be getting at least 3 inches....hmmm

Main theater: Sony 45es, 120 inch 16:9 screen, Panny BDT500, Rotel RMB-1075, Rotel RSP-1068, Klipsch RP-280F, RP-450C, RP-160M, SVS PB13 x 2, Monster Power Conditioner, GIK acoustic panels

TV Room: Panasonic 60" plasma, Integra DTR-30.3, Axiom Audio M60, VP150, QS8, EP500
ereed is offline  
Old Yesterday, 08:01 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
uniquepattern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,616
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 695 Post(s)
Liked: 654
RCA from the AVR to the Antimode, RCA from Antimode to XLS..
NL4 from XLS to NL4 on Enclosure (10AWG wire)


Im gonna swap the RCA cables to Balanced and see if that has any effect...
uniquepattern is offline  
Old Yesterday, 08:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ereed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,525
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 901 Post(s)
Liked: 427
Agghhh....looks like the AntiMode has a filter and limiter built in that could be keeping you from getting that excursion? Can you bypass the AntiMode to rule that out?

Main theater: Sony 45es, 120 inch 16:9 screen, Panny BDT500, Rotel RMB-1075, Rotel RSP-1068, Klipsch RP-280F, RP-450C, RP-160M, SVS PB13 x 2, Monster Power Conditioner, GIK acoustic panels

TV Room: Panasonic 60" plasma, Integra DTR-30.3, Axiom Audio M60, VP150, QS8, EP500
ereed is offline  
Old Yesterday, 08:07 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
uniquepattern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,616
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 695 Post(s)
Liked: 654
WTF????
That actually did something!!!!


ummmm.... I have no idea why that had an effect... I was just stabbing in the dark....


But.... balanced cables from the antimode to the XLS seemes to work wonders.... I have NEVER seen these babies pump like this! guessing its a gain issue of some kind with the RCA's???




*I wish I tried this sooner - darn....*

Last edited by uniquepattern; Yesterday at 08:11 AM.
uniquepattern is offline  
Old Yesterday, 08:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ereed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,525
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 901 Post(s)
Liked: 427
Quote:
Originally Posted by uniquepattern View Post
WTF????
That actually did something!!!!


ummmm.... I have no idea why that had an effect... I was just stabbing in the dark....


But.... balanced cables from the antimode to the XLS seemes to work wonders.... I have NEVER seen these babies pump like this! guessing its a gain issue of some kind with the RCA's???
That is strange! That tells me its the RCA cable itself that could be at fault or maybe the RCA input of the XLS or the RCA output of the AntiMode is bad.

I'm glad Balanced cable fixed the issue! Congrats!

Main theater: Sony 45es, 120 inch 16:9 screen, Panny BDT500, Rotel RMB-1075, Rotel RSP-1068, Klipsch RP-280F, RP-450C, RP-160M, SVS PB13 x 2, Monster Power Conditioner, GIK acoustic panels

TV Room: Panasonic 60" plasma, Integra DTR-30.3, Axiom Audio M60, VP150, QS8, EP500
ereed is offline  
Old Yesterday, 08:17 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
uniquepattern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,616
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 695 Post(s)
Liked: 654
Oh my gaw'd....
I thought these were insane before...




...This is just freaking epic!
ereed likes this.
uniquepattern is offline  
Old Yesterday, 08:17 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: In the land of Oz
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by uniquepattern View Post
WTF????
That actually did something!!!!


ummmm.... I have no idea why that had an effect... I was just stabbing in the dark....


But.... balanced cables from the antimode to the XLS seemes to work wonders.... I have NEVER seen these babies pump like this! guessing its a gain issue of some kind with the RCA's???




*I wish I tried this sooner - darn....*


Awesome!! I'm glad you were able to fix your issues.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Purenv is offline  
Old Yesterday, 08:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dtsdig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 2,443
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 871 Post(s)
Liked: 950
Are you sure it's necessary to have the antimode in your signal chain?
dtsdig is offline  
Old Yesterday, 08:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lz7j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,048
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Liked: 666
Quote:
Originally Posted by uniquepattern View Post
Oh my gaw'd....
I thought these were insane before...




...This is just freaking epic!
Vids or it didn't happen!
lz7j is offline  
Old Yesterday, 08:33 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
uniquepattern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,616
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 695 Post(s)
Liked: 654
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtsdig View Post
Are you sure it's necessary to have the antimode in your signal chain?

I like having the ability to dial things in - admittedly I probably should have got a miniDSP...
uniquepattern is offline  
Old Yesterday, 08:35 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
uniquepattern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,616
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 695 Post(s)
Liked: 654
Quote:
Originally Posted by lz7j View Post
Vids or it didn't happen!

If it wasn't for your vid of the BHS - Id have never known what I was missing...I took one look at it and thought "Holy crap, why don't mine do anything like that???"


So I owe you a thanks...

Last edited by uniquepattern; Yesterday at 08:38 AM.
uniquepattern is offline  
Old Yesterday, 12:40 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
uniquepattern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,616
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 695 Post(s)
Liked: 654
It was the Antimode...
It seems there is an issue with its RCA outs - they are not putting out the voltage they should be (verified via email with manufacturer and a meter)
bimmaguy likes this.
uniquepattern is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off