62 cf Ported in an 11,000 cf room? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 27Likes

post #1 of 57 Old 08-15-2017, 09:04 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 159 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Dual 50+cf Sonosubs in an 11,000 cf room

My large 11,000 cf room is on a suspended floor, and has an alcove about 8' away from the MLP that seems to provide great boundary gain. Despite the room size, my single VTF-15H MK2 gets me flat response down to 14 Hz and the suspended floor really energizes for some good TF. I'm ready to take the plunge into DIY and am looking at building a massive ported box to fill the alcove. The alcove could accept a box as big as 68" wide, 31" deep, and 51" high without blocking the window or being noticeable. It would seem that a box as large as 62 cf could get me some serious extension with multiple 18" drivers and the suspended floor will make for a fantastic experience. I am new to the DIY game and could really use some help deciding on the best approach.

Is that enclosure size too big? Should I aim for a 10 Hz tune or is that too low? What drivers would you guys recommend?
unretarded likes this.

-
Video: Samsung 65KS8000
Audio: Denon AVR-X4100W 5.1.4 Atmos
Base Layer - Pioneer Andrew Jones (2nd gen) 2xFS52+1xC22+2xBS22
Heights - 4 x NHT SuperZero 2.1
Subwoofer - HSU Research VTF-15H MK2

Last edited by aron7awol; 09-05-2017 at 06:19 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 57 Old 08-15-2017, 10:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Quoted: 694 Post(s)
Liked: 571
That sounds like a great project...........A member on here just did a huge box like that with a couple a XXX re audio drivers in it.

I will try and remember who and link you to their thread.

Sounds like a solid plan to me.........

You also need to decide if you want SPL or to go as low as possible etc etc.

Lay out your goals and intended usage to get the best answers possible.

Link to budget Home Theater build