For 2ft^3, which driver? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread

post #1 of 32 Old 05-20-2006, 12:05 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am doing my first subwoofer project, but due to a rather severe SAF I'm limited to about a 2 cubic foot box. Assuming that a 10" or 12" driver would yield good overall results in that size box I have modeled several drivers, all from PE. Since I have no experience with subwoofers at all so I don't have any feel for the how the Gain curves (from WinISD beta) will "sound". From all that I've read vented designs are considered best for HT, which will be my primary application of the sub. I was hoping the forum could advise me on my decision. Below is an Gain graph of the three PE speakers I've considered. I've included both closed and ported designs for comparison. In all cases the SPL of the closed boxes falls off faster with decreasing frequency.

- Blue is the Dayton 10" High Fidelity
- Yellow is the Dayton 12" High Fidelity
- Red is the Dayton 12" High Output. Suggested by someone on the PE tech talk.

Based on the Gain graph the 10"HF goes the deepest though only by a little and is the least efficient (1 to 3 DB depending on the freq) and the vent is a little long at 28" for a 4" port.

- Would a 3" diameter port be okay for a 10" driver?
- How do I determine if I will exceed XMAX?
- When does room gain enter the picture? My den is 2370 ft^3, but has a very large opening, equal to about 3 or 4 doorways, right next to the entertainment center. I am assuming room gain will not be a factor in my case.
- What other drivers should I look at? The AA Assassins are even less efficient so I've ignored them.

One other constraint is budget, I'd like to keep driver+amp costs to about $250, excluding shipping.

Thanks,
Marc
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 32 Old 05-20-2006, 12:28 PM
Advanced Member