LMS-5400 Sonosub Design Thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 218 Old 01-08-2007, 10:46 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
EDIT: This tread started as a LMS-5400 Sonotube thread and later turned into dual 15" TC-200 Design Thread - Which basically starts on page EIGHT.

First, I just want to warn everyone that this maybe a very slow sonosub construction thread because 1) because parts might take forever to arrive 2) I am an accountant...and its busy season.

None the less, I wanted to start getting suggestions from people in regards to the design. I could use all the help that is possibly available.

Steve Callas: "If you were set on a LMS 5400, seeing as you wouldn't really be able to call on all that output capability, I'd go for a really low tune. Something like 550 effective liters with a 6" diameter port that is 28" long being fed with 1500 watts. The port velocity is actually better on the whole with this design than a smaller, slightly higher tuned option."

I wanted to know how others felt about this design.

To start with, I am using the "Sonosub.exe" software as a design template:

What I have entered into the program is as follows:
Effective Volume: 550L
Tuining Frequency: 11
Internal diameter of Sonotube: 24"
Port internal diameter: 6"

The program's out put states:
Height End cap to end cap: 6"9.5"
Port length: 2'4.25"

I wanted to know the brotherhoods opinion on this design.
I was also curious, as to what size Sonotube I should go for: 24" or 28"

Please let me know what you guys think.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 218 Old 01-08-2007, 12:08 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Well if you're going to seriously go through with it, lemme clean that rough design up a little bit 525 effective liters, 6" diameter port that is 30" long, 1500-1800 watts, and as large a roundover or flare as you can get away with. I'd go with 24" tube.