pc based crossover? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 06-23-2007, 09:27 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
goober07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am considering buying (eventually) the Behringer DCX2496 digital crossover and a pair of A500 power amps to bi-amp a pair of line arrays. My source, however, is most likely going to be a PC.

The PC has unbalanced outputs, and the DCX uses balanced XLR. I could pay $50 for a converter on partsexpress... but that's just another part to buy and another component in the audio path...

My question: Is there such a thing as a PC based crossover or sound card that could perform all the same functions as the DCX? The A500 has balanced XLR and unbalanced RCA inputs, so no concerns there. Using a PC crossover would eliminate any converters and the DCX
goober07 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 06-23-2007, 10:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Thomas-W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: 5280'
Posts: 1,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Want to be a beta tester?
http://www.juicehifi.com/
Thomas-W is online now  
post #3 of 8 Old 06-23-2007, 01:11 PM
Member
 
Badmoon23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i want to know if some Active 3-way sub crossover for home HAVE the RCA plug input and output.
Badmoon23 is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 06-23-2007, 02:00 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
goober07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thomas: That is EXACTLY what I need

I need to look into this more... do you have any more info? And again, thank you
goober07 is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 06-23-2007, 03:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Thomas-W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: 5280'
Posts: 1,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by goober07 View Post

Thomas: That is EXACTLY what I need

I need to look into this more... do you have any more info? And again, thank you

Nope don't know anything about it just ran across the link.

This maybe of help as well
http://www.duffroomcorrection.com/wiki/Main_Page
Thomas-W is online now  
post #6 of 8 Old 06-24-2007, 08:52 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
goober07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This may not be the correct forum to ask in, but...

That software's accuracy will be based on the mic used to measure the speakers. What would be a good mic to use that has a 3.5mm plug? (so I can hook to the line in on PC)
goober07 is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 06-24-2007, 09:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Thomas-W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: 5280'
Posts: 1,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
All measurement mics need special mic preamps and most need phantom power, so it's not too hard to get an RCA- mini adapter to use with a sound card.
Thomas-W is online now  
post #8 of 8 Old 06-24-2007, 10:35 AM
Senior Member
 
zkaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
there's bound to be some latency in any of the pc based apps
zkaudio is offline  
Reply DIY Speakers and Subs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off