How is 20' throw with Epson 8350 outdoors? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 14 Old 04-13-2011, 08:57 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Another newbie here. I am contemplating an outdoor throw of some 19-20' from an Epson 8350 which appears a good bet for a projector under $1300. I can't really shorten the distance due to logistics of my deck, and the fence in which I will mount a proposed electric screen (weather protected). I plan to use this application primarily at night during the summer watching HD sports and TV while lounging outside near our pool area. During the winter, all will be brought inside, so flexibility of this Epson 8350 LCD appears logical. Question...I read so much about diminished brightness and picture quality as you lengthen the throw, I was hoping that someone had experience in verifying if this is significant with the Epson 8350 at 20' as well as suggesting an appropriate and affordable electric screen approx 11' x 6' high. All I seem to see, is an excellent image at 13-14', but concerned about grainy or dark image at 20'. Can someone help?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 04-13-2011, 10:24 AM
Advanced Member

Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Good question as I have the Epson 8100 and will be trying something similar. I am going to be trying to setup a Gemmy 12' screen I bought and will probably being shooting across an in-ground pool due to the layout of my backyard. This is looking like a 30' -35' throw from the planned projector location to the screen. Probably wont work very well but I don't see very many other options.

Xbox Live- DragonsLee

"I'm not in this world to live up to your expectations and you're not in this world to live up to mine." - Bruce Lee
post #3 of 14 Old 04-13-2011, 12:02 PM - Thread Starter