Bringing an ancient Sony KP7220 back to life?!? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 20 Old 04-07-2009, 09:35 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I believe this is my first post, so hi there.

My girlfriend runs a thrift store (which can lead to interesting home theater/audio finds) and someone recently dumped off a Sony KP7220 front projector with the original screen. Unfortunately the screen was gone by the time I noticed the projector sitting in the back.

I drug an extension cord out to it, plugged it in, and hit the on button. Sadly nothing happened. It got power out of the built in outlet, though. Is this projector worth fixing? What type of upgrades could be performed on it if it was working as far as adding inputs for newer video sources like DVD and game systems? Could it possibly display any form of HD resolution?

I'm really new to projectors. I have a 60" Philips RP HDTV, but I'm interested in front projection just because it seems neat, and this particular projector has a funky vintage look that I like. If anybody has any experience with this particular unit or advice, I'd love to hear from you! Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 Old 04-08-2009, 09:02 AM
AVS Addicted Member

Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I haven't seen one of these in years. I think there's a long post here somewhere about one of these sets, but there's no schematics out there I think. These sets were really reliable, but now they are 25 years old.

Someone a long time ago installed a video jack on one of these locally, I noticed little if any improvement over the RF input. No, the set can't do HD resolution, what you see is what you get. Connect cable, and that's it.

As for the set being dead, there are a couple of internal fuses on the power supply, but you could have other problems as well. I've got nothing here for the set, but you might find another one on eBay for dirt cheap, or check the local CL.