Colourspace - Can you explain this? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 Old 12-31-2009, 10:58 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Shoujiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok guys, just needed some expertise to tell me what is going on here.

I've got my DVDO VP20 scaler hooked up to the 1272 via Moome HDMI card.
Component signal to the DVDO from a LG BD390.

I go into the colourspace settings area on the DVDO. THere are 3 options. First is RGB, then YCbCr 4-2-2 and then YCbCr 4-4-4 (i think). Now i usually have it set on RGB. When i change in to either of the 2 others, the screen takes on a bright pink hue. The 422 setting makes it pink with kinda static through the image. And 444 makes it just pink. I remember ages ago that i fiddled with this once before and making it 422 or 444 gave it a deeper picture quality. Almost like there was more 'range' between black and white.
Why is it making the screen pink? And what is this supposed to do? Thanks!

|OOO| Sony VPH-1272QM

Regards,
Kurt
Melbourne, Australia
Shoujiki is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 Old 01-01-2010, 01:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Prehjan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is an older post which will explain some of what you are asking!

http://archive2.avsforum.com/avs-vb/...d.php?t=773907

You need to set it to RGB if you are having issues!

Good luck

Martin
Prehjan is offline  
post #3 of 20 Old 01-01-2010, 02:32 AM
 
ChrisWiggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 20,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shoujiki View Post

Ok guys, just needed some expertise to tell me what is going on here.

I've got my DVDO VP20 scaler hooked up to the 1272 via Moome HDMI card.
Component signal to the DVDO from a LG BD390.

I go into the colourspace settings area on the DVDO. THere are 3 options. First is RGB, then YCbCr 4-2-2 and then YCbCr 4-4-4 (i think). Now i usually have it set on RGB. When i change in to either of the 2 others, the screen takes on a bright pink hue. The 422 setting makes it pink with kinda static through the image. And 444 makes it just pink. I remember ages ago that i fiddled with this once before and making it 422 or 444 gave it a deeper picture quality. Almost like there was more 'range' between black and white.
Why is it making the screen pink? And what is this supposed to do? Thanks!

It's just manually switching between component and RGB for that input. Obviously you are inputting RGB, so you'll want to set it to that. If you set it to component (YCbCr), then you're forcing the DVDO to interpret that signal as if it were component rather than RGB, so the colors will be entirely screwy and pink/purple etc usually. Unless you're inputting component from the source via HDMI, in which case you'd set it to 4:2:2 or 4:4:4 as appropriate for whatever the source is outputting. Usually it should auto-detect whatever the source is outputting, so set the source to what you want it to be.

There may be reasons to pick one output over another to avoid clipping, or get chroma upsampling done in the best location (probably the DVDO), etc, that's where test patterns and knowledge come in.
ChrisWiggles is offline  
post #4 of 20 Old 01-01-2010, 06:32 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Shoujiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cheers guys, explains alot!

I've got my LG bluray player hooked up through component (YPbPr), so i guess that means it's an RGB signal? Different anyways from YCbCr digital signal.

I would have it connected from the LG to the DVDO via HDMI, but for some reason i get a blank screen when doing so...so i've reverted to using component 1080i for now, which still looks pretty amazing.

|OOO| Sony VPH-1272QM

Regards,
Kurt
Melbourne, Australia
Shoujiki is offline  
post #5 of 20 Old 01-01-2010, 10:11 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Alan Gouger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Florida
Posts: 18,728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:


Colourspace - Can you explain this?

I will try to summarize keeping it non technical. Lets not confuse "color space" with "Outer Space"
When ever you occupy a certain area of space..for instance throwing your cloths into the closet you have now tied up that space and that space is no longer available for anything else including color. In this case the term color space is a certain area that has been reserved for color, defined color space. It can no longer be used to throw your cloths into.
Things do get complicated here at AV SCIENCE

Happy New Years everyone!





.
Alan Gouger is offline  
post #6 of 20 Old 01-01-2010, 10:23 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 20,239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 624 Post(s)
Liked: 586
A suggested New Year`s resolution. Clean out your closet. Beam me up Scotty.

Mark Haflich
markhaflich@yahoo.com
call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is online now  
post #7 of 20 Old 01-01-2010, 01:25 PM
 
ChrisWiggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 20,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shoujiki View Post

Cheers guys, explains alot!

I've got my LG bluray player hooked up through component (YPbPr), so i guess that means it's an RGB signal? Different anyways from YCbCr digital signal.

I would have it connected from the LG to the DVDO via HDMI, but for some reason i get a blank screen when doing so...so i've reverted to using component 1080i for now, which still looks pretty amazing.

wait what? I assumed you were hooked up HDMI, I totally misunderstood.

No YPbPr is component, analog, not RGB. So that setting must be for the HDMI output format, I suppose the moome accepts RGB only, not YCbCr, but I'm not familiar with the moome card so others will hopefully chime in on that one.
ChrisWiggles is offline  
post #8 of 20 Old 01-01-2010, 02:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nashou66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: West Seneca, NY
Posts: 4,364
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 86
if the DVDO is HDCP compliant then HDMI out from the player should work, there might be a menu setting in the VP to turn on or off HDCP, keep it on so the player can get the HDCP key from the moome card. Aslo the LG players do not output YCbCr from HDMI, only D-RGB. so you need to keep the VP at the RGB input colorspace.

Athnaasios
nashou66 is online now  
post #9 of 20 Old 01-01-2010, 08:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cinema mad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Here Nor There..
Posts: 1,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Nashou,
My VP50pro always reported that my old Au model LG BH100 was outputing YcBcR 4:4:4 through HDMI ?..

Cheers..
cinema mad is offline  
post #10 of 20 Old 01-01-2010, 08:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nashou66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: West Seneca, NY
Posts: 4,364
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 86
That might be true, i have been trying to get them to play with my Tv-one units for YCbCr but no luck, I know the Bh200 is only RGB from what others on the dual HD player forum stated. I should give the Bh-100 another shot.

Athanasios
nashou66 is online now  
post #11 of 20 Old 01-01-2010, 10:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cinema mad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Here Nor There..
Posts: 1,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 34
As you no YcBcR 4:2:2 is the holy Grail thus why I whent to the Panisonic BD30 which outputs 4:2:2 in 12bit but then the Frigin 50pro downgrades 4:2:2 to 10bit..

I think the Oppo Blu Player can output 4:2:2 ?...

Cheers mate...
cinema mad is offline  
post #12 of 20 Old 01-02-2010, 07:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nashou66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: West Seneca, NY
Posts: 4,364
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by cinema mad View Post

As you no YcBcR 4:2:2 is the holy Grail thus why I whent to the Panisonic BD30 which outputs 4:2:2 in 12bit but then the Frigin 50pro downgrades 4:2:2 to 10bit..

I think the Oppo Blu Player can output 4:2:2 ?...

Cheers mate...

I have the oppo but the the Tv-ons HDCP is acting up, and if i use the Moome MUX it also converts to rgb, its not bad but i want to see how true YUV looks straight to my Marquee.

Athanasios
nashou66 is online now  
post #13 of 20 Old 01-02-2010, 08:02 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Shoujiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Haha nice one AG :P , A happy new years to you too!

Hmm this is intriguing because i've been fiddling with the setup a bit, and i cannot get it to accept the HDMI connection from the LG to the DVDO... theres a picture there (of the LG's background/menu) for a few seconds and then the "curtains close" ( the dvdo is doing this...it has a button called "curtains" that makes the screen go blank after these gray curtains go across the screen...what is that annways?)... If i hook up my HDDVD player directly to the moome card...i get a picture..might try it with the LG and see what happens.

|OOO| Sony VPH-1272QM

Regards,
Kurt
Melbourne, Australia
Shoujiki is offline  
post #14 of 20 Old 01-02-2010, 08:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cinema mad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Here Nor There..
Posts: 1,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 34
What type of DVDO VP do you own Shoujiki ?..

Cheers..
cinema mad is offline  
post #15 of 20 Old 01-02-2010, 08:43 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Shoujiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Cinema Mad,

An IScan VP20.

|OOO| Sony VPH-1272QM

Regards,
Kurt
Melbourne, Australia
Shoujiki is offline  
post #16 of 20 Old 01-02-2010, 08:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cinema mad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Here Nor There..
Posts: 1,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 34
VP 20 will not Except A 1080p signal, You need to put the VP20 into Pass through
mode then it will pass 1080p to the Display device.. The Edge, Duo, VP 50 & VP50pro
deal with 1080p but only the VP50/50pro allow custom timmings...

Cheers..
cinema mad is offline  
post #17 of 20 Old 01-02-2010, 08:48 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Shoujiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Interesting. So what if i set my LG to 720P output? Will it then process the signal?
I've never seen a pass through option on the VP20 menus, ill have to have a look!

|OOO| Sony VPH-1272QM

Regards,
Kurt
Melbourne, Australia
Shoujiki is offline  
post #18 of 20 Old 01-02-2010, 08:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cinema mad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Here Nor There..
Posts: 1,840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 34
The VP20 and 30 will deal with an interlaced "i" input signal but not Progressive "P"
correctly thus why DVDO brought out the VP50 and beyond..

Try sending 1080i to the VP20. Set the Blu-ray player to output 1080 i @60hz



Cheers..
cinema mad is offline  
post #19 of 20 Old 01-02-2010, 10:03 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Shoujiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok cheers mate, i'll try that!

|OOO| Sony VPH-1272QM

Regards,
Kurt
Melbourne, Australia
Shoujiki is offline  
post #20 of 20 Old 01-03-2010, 01:18 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Shoujiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok tried that with no such luck.
When connected via HDMI, i get either of two things. First, if i set "HDCP Mode" to ON on the DVDO, i get the picture up for 1 second and then the "curtain's close" and the screen just goes black. The blue light on the front of the DVDO flashes constantly.
The second thing is that if i set HDCP Mode to OFF on the DVDO, i get a picture again for 1 second, and then the screen goes either black or green, with this time, no "curtains closing".

Connected the LG up to the PJ directly, and no signal either...just a picture for 1 second and then black screen. Maybe the Moome card is not handshaking with the bluray player?

|OOO| Sony VPH-1272QM

Regards,
Kurt
Melbourne, Australia
Shoujiki is offline  
Reply CRT Projectors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off