Barco Cine 6 for 250$? good price? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 42 Old 03-28-2010, 10:31 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dvb1994's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was offered a Barco Cine 6 with only 500 hours on the tubes, it comes with ceeling mount, remote and vga cable.

The owner want 200-300 $ for it, including shipping, is that a good price?
Keep in mind i live in Denmark where everything costs a million..

And lastly is there anything i need to be aware of on the cine 6?
dvb1994 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 42 Old 03-28-2010, 02:42 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Curt Palme's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 18,942
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Yes, no available parts.

I personally have never seen one, and it's a completely different animal than any other BArco CRT out there. The price is right, hopefully you'll get 5 years out of it, but if it blows up tomorrow, you're probably out of luck.

Someone emailed me pictures of it a couple of years ago looking for an HV part, and I didn't have it, and I've seen probably 1500 Barcos through here over the last 10 years.

www.curtpalme.com - CRT tech info

www.soundsolutionscanada.com -pro audio website
Curt Palme is offline  
post #3 of 42 Old 03-28-2010, 09:49 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dvb1994's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok, thanks

i am visiting the seller tomorrow to see if it in good condition(he told me that it was used in a conference room, and is looking as if it was new) ...
dvb1994 is offline  
post #4 of 42 Old 03-29-2010, 12:24 AM
Member
 
RaWsHaRk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Finland
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
since You live in Denmark maybe it used to have a famous owner:

http://www.barco.com/en/pressrelease/471/

lol. just kidding. what tubes and lenses does cine 6 have, curt?

if its shows a good pic when You see it, grab it, nobody else here has one
RaWsHaRk is offline  
post #5 of 42 Old 03-29-2010, 02:54 AM
Ile
Advanced Member
 
Ile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Jyväskylä, Finland
Posts: 743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by RaWsHaRk View Post

what tubes and lenses does cine 6 have, curt?

It have F1,15 LC-optics (propably plastic, because these have only 5 lp/mm sharpness). I quess it use same 7" ES tubes that Cine7.

It's not super performer (BW 20MHz, 28-38 kHz), but it's small, have internal line doubler, LC-optics and is silent (no fans).

http://www.curtpalme.com/docs/BarcoC...ochure_old.pdf

Here's manuals
http://www.cineversum.com/homecinema...t/pg000012.htm

Cine6 is based on Barco vision 508 design, 508 was not designed by Barco but some indian company that Barco bought in the end of 90's. Barco used their expertise to improve the cicuitry and added a line doubler to the 508 and make it a Cine 6. Parts are unique to cine6, that could come problem at some point.

For that price I'd go for it and enjoy dvd's and sdtv as long it runs. For 1080i it's going to be pretty soft, I quess.
Ile is offline  
post #6 of 42 Old 03-29-2010, 03:29 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dvb1994's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for your indputs.

Do any of you know how it compares it a sony vpl-hs50 or a sony vph-1031qm?
dvb1994 is offline  
post #7 of 42 Old 03-29-2010, 03:41 AM
Member
 
RaWsHaRk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Finland
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hs50 is a digital so dont even start a comparison here:=) if You can get that sony for the same price as barco then definitely buy it.

1031 is really old tech, I wouldnt take one for free now even that I am a nut who collects a lot of junk. so Cine 6 is definitely above that.
RaWsHaRk is offline  
post #8 of 42 Old 03-29-2010, 04:42 AM
Senior Member
 
dyates69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cine6 is a good unit. Excellent for that price, I'd snap it up.
dyates69 is offline  
post #9 of 42 Old 03-29-2010, 05:42 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Curt Palme's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 18,942
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Sounds like it's about the same as a Sony D50. I've personally never seen one, and the only inquiry I've ever had was from Europe, so maybe Barco North America never brought that model in?

www.curtpalme.com - CRT tech info

www.soundsolutionscanada.com -pro audio website
Curt Palme is offline  
post #10 of 42 Old 03-29-2010, 06:47 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dvb1994's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the sony is more than double the price

Curt, it says on your website that the Cine 6 is only able to display 800x600p while the sony D50 is 1280x1024p.
It also says that the Cine 6 is "only" able to produce a 120" picture, is that right?
dvb1994 is offline  
post #11 of 42 Old 03-29-2010, 09:04 AM
Member
 
RaWsHaRk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Finland
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
D50 has a bandwith of what, 75mhz? so if cine 6 has only 20mhz like Ile said above, then you cannot really push it with any modern hd resolution like 720p..probably 576i or something like that..?
and 120 inch pic with that kind of resolution is not really a good idea. so do you have a chance to buy a D 50,.1030 or hs50? hs50 with double the price is probably still a better deal, if it has some factory guarantee left to it. for a 1030 i wouldnt pay anything like i said earlier, and a D50 should be inspected carefully since they usually have bad tubes..it does a nice 720p, I have one.
RaWsHaRk is offline  
post #12 of 42 Old 03-29-2010, 10:41 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dvb1994's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
somone is also selling an electrohome epc(?) 3500, with slight 16x9 tube wear. i should be able to show 720p and the seller is asking 400$ for it...i dont know if it is a better machine or not, but the Cine 6 i from 2003 and looks easy to install compared to the ECP3500..

It is going to be my first CRT projector, so that is why i was leaning towards the Cine 6 cince it looks relativly easy to set up(compared to the ECP3500)

Thanks again
dvb1994 is offline  
post #13 of 42 Old 03-30-2010, 04:21 AM
Senior Member
 
barcoed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's a super little unit. Fanless. Totally silent. Yummy! However, don't let it get too hot or it'll go bang. I have one and am looking for another so if you don't go for it please put me in contact with the seller!
barcoed is offline  
post #14 of 42 Old 03-30-2010, 04:55 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dvb1994's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i am going to look at it in a couple of hours..
if i decide i dont want it, i will post the sellers phone number.

barcoed: how big is your screen? what resulution are you running it at? and how sharp is the image?
dvb1994 is offline  
post #15 of 42 Old 03-30-2010, 05:54 AM
Senior Member
 
barcoed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1080i or 720p RGB works well (I prefer the latter) even straight out of the DVD player, doubled via the internal LiMo is really rather good. It sits crazily close to the screen which is 4x3 1.25 gain 2m wide. OK it's no EH9500 or G90 but it's not bad either. Some on these forums will call it a POS but that's like saying a modest family car is a POS because it's not a Lambo or a Porsche. - After all, a lift in a ford Focus is better than walking!
Personally I find it sharp enough not to worry about it. Again, it's not as sharp as many others but (at the risk of repeating myself), it's sharp enough.

Frankly, I'm happier to sacrifice a bit of brightness, sharpness and size to gain simplicity, value for money and silence! Trouble is, when/if it goes bang - bin it - as almost zero parts available.


Quote:
Originally Posted by dvb1994 View Post

i am going to look at it in a couple of hours..
if i decide i dont want it, i will post the sellers phone number.

barcoed: how big is your screen? what resulution are you running it at? and how sharp is the image?

barcoed is offline  
post #16 of 42 Old 03-30-2010, 05:57 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dvb1994's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by barcoed View Post

1080i or 720p RGB works well (I prefer the latter) even straight out of the DVD player, doubled via the internal LiMo is really rather good. .

how can you display 720p when the max resulution is 800x600?
dvb1994 is offline  
post #17 of 42 Old 03-30-2010, 07:13 AM
Senior Member
 
barcoed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry - 540p (I get so used to typing 720p these days!)



Quote:
Originally Posted by dvb1994 View Post

how can you display 720p when the max resulution is 800x600?

barcoed is offline  
post #18 of 42 Old 03-30-2010, 10:14 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dvb1994's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i just bought the projector, it was in perfect condition, no burn marks and i ended up paying 200$...
Now i am proberbly going to need ALOT of help setting it up right..
dvb1994 is offline  
post #19 of 42 Old 03-30-2010, 12:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Prehjan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Weclome to the dark side

Martin
Prehjan is offline  
post #20 of 42 Old 03-30-2010, 01:24 PM
Member
 
RaWsHaRk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Finland
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvb1994 View Post

i just bought the projector, it was in perfect condition, no burn marks and i ended up paying 200$...
Now i am proberbly going to need ALOT of help setting it up right..

I hope it came with a manual..and You will take to actually READ it, unlike some newcomers here lately.

congratulations on the buy! hope you will enjoy it!
RaWsHaRk is offline  
post #21 of 42 Old 03-30-2010, 02:46 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dvb1994's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks everyone for the help
I spend the last 2 hours on converging it, and the picture already looks really really good..
It didnt come with a manual, but i have the installation manual on my computer(cant find the owners manual anywhere) and there are on-screen menus
dvb1994 is offline  
post #22 of 42 Old 03-30-2010, 03:42 PM
Senior Member
 
barcoed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Enjoy! - Take care to get the C6 in good mechanical alignment (dead centre of the screen and not pointing up or down too much - so you can keep the electronic adjustments to the minimum). If you stress the beast (especially keystone) it can get extra hot and if it's on the ceiling it's already in the hottest part of the room. As a fanless design, HEAT is the ENEMY of long service.

Have fun!
barcoed is offline  
post #23 of 42 Old 03-30-2010, 03:51 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dvb1994's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay, two questions...
Is keystone hard on it, and why?
What color temp are you using?
dvb1994 is offline  
post #24 of 42 Old 03-30-2010, 03:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Prehjan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had no idea there even was a cine 6. (...forgive me but my memory is a little rusty on this!)

Martin
Prehjan is offline  
post #25 of 42 Old 03-30-2010, 10:22 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dvb1994's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can post some pictures of it if anyone wants to see it?
dvb1994 is offline  
post #26 of 42 Old 03-31-2010, 06:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
Citation4444's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Georgia Mountains
Posts: 884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I have all the manuals on the Cine6, including the brochure, owner's manual, installation manual, safety manual. PM me your email address and I'll send them to you.

Bob
Citation4444 is offline  
post #27 of 42 Old 03-31-2010, 07:35 AM
Senior Member
 
barcoed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No, not hard to do - just don't be tempted to angle the C6 up or down beyond the amount stated by the Barco LENS app..
65Kish. (Don't want to nuke the blue too much!




Quote:
Originally Posted by dvb1994 View Post

Okay, two questions...
Is keystone hard on it, and why?
What color temp are you using?

barcoed is offline  
post #28 of 42 Old 03-31-2010, 11:15 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dvb1994's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i was looking at the install manual to try to find out how to turn the picture for ceeling mount. i found the description/pictures but i cant see it on the projector...
can anyone explain it to me?
dvb1994 is offline  
post #29 of 42 Old 03-31-2010, 11:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
Citation4444's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Georgia Mountains
Posts: 884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 26
You have to remove the top and side covers and another top cover to gain access to the scan connectors. There are 3 for horizontal scan and 3 for vertical scan. The connectors have to be oriented (plugged in to their socket) according to the table on page 4-2 of the installation manual I sent you. I assume you are ceiling mounting it for front projection so you would follow column 2 of the table.

Bob
Citation4444 is offline  
post #30 of 42 Old 03-31-2010, 11:44 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dvb1994's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Citation4444 View Post

You have to remove the top and side covers and another top cover to gain access to the scan connectors. There are 3 for horizontal scan and 3 for vertical scan. The connectors have to be oriented (plugged in to their socket) according to the table on page 4-2 of the installation manual I sent you. I assume you are ceiling mounting it for front projection so you would follow column 2 of the table.

Bob

i already have the covers off, but i cant see anywhere inside the projector that looks like whats on the picture
dvb1994 is offline  
Reply CRT Projectors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off