Barco 808 Graphic help needed - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 12 Old 10-13-2010, 04:10 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I read about CRTs, and being a photographer, I said to my self -how hard can that be? -And bought an 808 Graphic with 9000h on tubes. So far so good.
But now I seem to have more questions, then before I started out in this project.

1. Do i scrap it, and look for a 9" or DLP?

2. Is a 3 meter screenwith pushing it too far (too little light?)

3. Sharpness isn't too overwhelming, eisemann-theater upgrades promise a 200% increase in sharpness and coloration.
Is that worth investing in for the 808 - or would I be better off, start working on a 9"?

4. Individual tubes. Green seems brightest, then red, and then about 50% less light comes out of the blue tube - is that normal? (when I look at the patterns with the dots in the middle)

5. Raster! I looked the manual for this, turned the contrast down, the light up, look into the tube, and it looks nothing like in the manual! See:
Attachment 188304
It's shaped like if you squeezed the straight sides with your fingers, so it's curvy instead of strait - why? And what is what? Where is the "forbidden area"?

6. I have a DVI-VGA box like this:
Attachment 188305
Sitting in port 3 getting current from port next to it. Eisemann told me it's a piece of crap - alright, but what do I do instead then?

Hope you can help me out here! Thanks guys.
LL
LL
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 10-14-2010, 12:58 AM

I also own a barco 808, so Let me give some input that I have discovered over the past few months...

1.) At 9000 hours, maybe? Depends how much effort your willing to put into the picture. I have spent many many hours tweaking to get the picture looking as good as I can. Since I got my projector for free, it was worth it all the way, and the image I get out of it is fantastic. If you don't want to put the time into it, then move on...