G70 New or old ROM Vers. ? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 10-25-2010, 10:58 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
didaschi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I can buy a Sony G70. I asked for the ROM Vers. and the seller told me this:

H: 1.00 U1: 1.03 U2: 1.04 U3: 1.00

Is it the old version so that I can setup G2?

If I buy a G70 with latest ROM Vers. and I can`t setup G2 what do I have to do to make a good b/w balance? Is there a manual for b/w balance available?

best regards

didaschi
didaschi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 10-26-2010, 03:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AFryia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by didaschi View Post

If I buy a G70 with latest ROM Vers. and I can`t setup G2 what do I have to do to make a good b/w balance? Is there a manual for b/w balance available?

You should be able to get good grayscale tracking without adjusting G2.

IMO the geometry is more stable with the newer firmware, I have both.

AJF

No such thing as a stupid question! Well have you got a minute ?
AFryia is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 10-26-2010, 11:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cinema mad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Here Nor There..
Posts: 1,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Hi AFryia,

Just wondering what Probe you where using in the GrayScale example above
as it looks pretty good, or is that with A VPs CMS..

Also how many hours are on your G70 tubes?..

Cheers...
cinema mad is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 10-27-2010, 05:48 AM
Senior Member
 
barcoed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Personally I would not use a G70 unless I could use the old firmware. I must turn off the Auto black thigy to remove those horrifically bright bowed lines at the top of the tube. Switch off auto black and adjust the G2 - job done and no lines.
If all I could get was a G70 with new firmware, then I'd sell it and buy a digital!
barcoed is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 10-27-2010, 04:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AFryia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cinema mad View Post

Hi AFryia,

Just wondering what Probe you where using in the GrayScale example above
as it looks pretty good, or is that with A VPs CMS..

Also how many hours are on your G70 tubes?..

Cheers...

The probe is the HCFR Colormeter (DIY).

No processing or color management for that graph; just the HTPC direct to the PJ. The key is to keep the contrast down. This way your contrast ratio will be higher, gamma will be closer to 2.2-2.5. Down side is overall brightness is lower. Ideally you need a 100% light controlled room.

I run AGB=ON and have to look real hard to see the AGB line. The AGB line resides at the top of the 4:3 raster and I project wide screen only 16:9 etc. The only time I notice it is when I'm half way through a calibration and the contrast, grayscale and gamma are not set.

Tubes were ~2500-3000hrs. With the lower contrast the tubes are still 8&9s.

AJF

No such thing as a stupid question! Well have you got a minute ?
AFryia is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 10-28-2010, 08:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cinema mad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Here Nor There..
Posts: 1,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Thanks for your reply AFryia,

My G70 Contrast's @ 55 at this time but run a little 16x9 92" 1.3gain screen in a Bat cave..
I also run AGB on & rarely notice the line myself , and like my Gamma around 2.35..
I've read A couple good things posted about the HCFR DIY Probe..

Thanks again,
Jase...
cinema mad is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 10-29-2010, 03:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AFryia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cinema mad View Post

My G70 Contrast's @ 55 at this time but run a little 16x9 92" 1.3gain screen in a Bat cave.

The same here other than contrast @ 60-65

Quote:
Originally Posted by cinema mad View Post

I've read A couple good things posted about the HCFR DIY Probe..

IMO better than my SpiderII especially at low IRE. More acurate also.

AJF

No such thing as a stupid question! Well have you got a minute ?
AFryia is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 11-09-2010, 07:57 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Axatax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: S. Florida, USA
Posts: 1,617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FWIW,

My G70 started life with the new FW and I swapped in a new Y* board set with no ill effects.


Jeff
Axatax is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 11-13-2010, 10:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AFryia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axatax View Post

My G70 started life with the new FW and I swapped in a new Y* board set with no ill effects.

I don't know if it is necessary but I would (did) swap the three matching Y boards just to be safe.

AJF

No such thing as a stupid question! Well have you got a minute ?
AFryia is offline  
Reply CRT Projectors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off