Mike Parker ??? - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 241 Old 05-13-2002, 05:44 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 20,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 625 Post(s)
Liked: 587
Actually put all of us DC vacinity locals in one HT and it is scary, really scary. I think just MP, JB, and me would be plenty scary by ourselves.

Mark Haflich
markhaflich@yahoo.com
call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 241 Old 05-13-2002, 05:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mp20748's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Maryland
Posts: 6,339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Guys,
I would really like to modify a Sharp. I think it would make a real nice space heater. :D

It's all about the performance... Got Marquee!

 

High Performance Marquee Video chain modifications.  Now available!

mp20748 is offline  
post #93 of 241 Old 05-13-2002, 06:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GScott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Lewis Center, OH
Posts: 2,492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mike,

I assume we will have to send you our video card for the mod unless you offer some type of DIY kit. Would it be easier to have us send a blank plate with the video card?
GScott is offline  
post #94 of 241 Old 05-13-2002, 07:08 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
stefuel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Marshfield, MA, USA
Posts: 5,887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Mike,
I've got a Sharp for you to experiment with, but I can't move it yet. It's outside under the front wheel of my old pickup so it won't roll down the hill. I would have used a brick but you know what those are worth?

Chip S.

Current owner of the last/best AmPro on the planet. The mighty 4600HD, and it's still running...better than Barco's, especially southern ones.
stefuel is offline  
post #95 of 241 Old 05-13-2002, 09:00 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mark haflich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: brookeville, maryland, usa
Posts: 20,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 625 Post(s)
Liked: 587
Actually a Sharp improves with an external 720p generator and MPs card is designed to improve p generators. I understand this is a CRT forum and here lurks many who own CRTs in preference. But for many a Sharp is a good choice, an external processor will improve things further, and MPs card will make the processor better. Now could MP make the internal sharp processor better? Not by the current MP technology. Nope you have to bypass the internal with a better external. And Mike, our CRTs put out a lot mote heat than an admittedly toasty Sharp.

Mark Haflich
markhaflich@yahoo.com
call me at: 240 876 2536
mark haflich is online now  
post #96 of 241 Old 05-14-2002, 09:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tim in Phoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: phoenix
Posts: 5,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by mp20748
Guys,
I would really like to modify a Sharp. I think it would make a real nice space heater. :D
Why not? The best audio CD player I have used is a Panansonic DVD player, and the best DVD player I have seen is my PC. I am not sure what the best PC is yet, a toaster oven? :D Need to research that some more!

--------------------
Tim at E-Tech ooo ehometech@earthlink.net ......your Marquee Pro Shop!
Tim in Phoenix is offline  
post #97 of 241 Old 05-14-2002, 05:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
Kevin Coleman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Wichita KS USA
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mike,
Are you close enough yet where you can post a rough estimate of how much you are going to charge? We won't hold you to it I promise.


Kevin C. :)
Kevin Coleman is offline  
post #98 of 241 Old 05-14-2002, 06:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mp20748's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Maryland
Posts: 6,339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Kevin,
it's taking longer than I'd expected. For now the board would still have to be hand made, and that requires soldering over 60 components on the board, plus the power supply. I've made good success though.

The beta testing of the mod is near complete. So far I've tested it on:

- Marquee 8500, 8500LC, 9500LC.

- Sony G70.

- NEC 6PG Extra.

- Barco D800.

I've wanted an opportunity to test it on a Sony G90, and that happen'd today in another location - thanks!. I still have some test to perform, two on NEC XG projectors and one on a DLP. Two will happen soon, the other after I get the BNC plates. We'll wait on the ones that'll happen soon and then we'll move forward.

It's all about the performance... Got Marquee!

 

High Performance Marquee Video chain modifications.  Now available!

mp20748 is offline  
post #99 of 241 Old 05-17-2002, 08:55 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
amillians's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Bloom County
Posts: 4,822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm the "other location" with the G90. :)

Here's my mini review: I like it. I want another mod for my HiPix card.

Here's a link to what the system it was inserted into looks like (just for the "test bed"):

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...hreadid=140885

In other words:

Radeon 7500 BNC -> 3' Belden 1694a RGBHV run -> Extron SW 6 AR MX HV Switcher -> 25' Belden 1694a RGBHV run -> Sony G90

I'm a bad test case, I'm afraid--this card went into a new HTPC (my first), so I don't have a baseline to compare to...but Roger Galvin was very pleased with the overall PQ and very pleased with the sharpness of the desktop text (and absence of any video noise). He has seen more G90s that I (obviously!) and more HTPC setups--he was very, very, very pleased with the PQ.

Here's a link to another post from me on the card:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...19#post1079419

PLEASE UNDERSTAND THAT THE MINOR VIDEO ANOMALIE WAS 100% RESTRICTED TO G90 TEST PATTERNS SCREENS AND WAS DIRECTLY RELATED TO THE SONY EXPECTING A 0.7V FEED VS. THE 0.8V THAT WE FED IT. THE MOD HAD NO NEGATIVE IMPACT ON *ANY* VIDEO SOURCE WE TESTED.

Alex doesn't live here anymore
amillians is offline  
post #100 of 241 Old 05-17-2002, 01:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
KennyG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: within the unlimited boundries of my imagination
Posts: 3,994
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am one of the NEC test cases...here is the thread that will follow my testing through both my NEC XG and my Ampro 3600. The basic physical description is also included.
http://avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthrea...hreadid=141000
As you can read, I'm start with my standard Radeon card, switching to this Mike Parker mod'ed card which has no BNC output, then later hoping to move to the BNC terminations...each "step up" can then be evaluated.

Think Audio reproduction for a second...discreet output components vs op amps and the like in Audio amplifier sections...if the differences on video output are even close to the same, this will be outstanding!
KennyG is offline  
post #101 of 241 Old 05-18-2002, 02:23 PM
Member
 
FLORA66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anybody did a side by side comparison with this mod and a extron? I have a self modded radeon 7200 with 5bnc conversion and the filters removed with fifty foot of 75ohm canare cable so I am in need of some kind of boost/peaking. Are you going to make this mod available as a DIY kit or instructions? I am interested in a external solution that I can use with different devices instead of on one card.

Regards,
JASON
FLORA66 is offline  
post #102 of 241 Old 05-19-2002, 05:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mp20748's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Maryland
Posts: 6,339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Jason,
I'm working on an external box for the mod, but it's for stand alone processors, and I would not recommend it for cable runs of 50' I don't use "Peaking" on the mod, that's why I'll not recommend it for distances over 30' and at thirty feet, good cable must be used!

Peaking is either equalization or emphasis, either one can be a form of distortion (ringing/banding). The mod is flat to beyond 900 Mhz, I plan to keep it that way.

You should go with the Extron 202. Do a search for KD4 he has one for sale.

It's all about the performance... Got Marquee!

 

High Performance Marquee Video chain modifications.  Now available!

mp20748 is offline  
post #103 of 241 Old 05-19-2002, 07:25 AM
KD4
Senior Member
 
KD4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jason,

I have both the Extron 202xi and Mike's Modded video card. The Extron looks great and does what it is supposed to do. The modded video card is cleaner, sharper, better. I use the modded card exclusivly. That being said, if you need switching capability or the need for an external amp, the Extron is a very nice unit. email me.

Thanks,
Doug
KD4 is offline  
post #104 of 241 Old 05-19-2002, 10:09 AM
Member
 
FLORA66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mike, Doug thanks for the info. Mike do you think that your mod teamed up with the extron would make a difference with my setup? Doug do you know if the 202xi will accept a hdtv stb feed along with a htpc feed? I want to be able to switch between my htpc and a hdtv box.

Regards,
JASON
FLORA66 is offline  
post #105 of 241 Old 05-19-2002, 04:35 PM
KD4
Senior Member
 
KD4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Extron will take both a HDTV feed and an HTPC feed. I was running it with DTC-100 HD BOX and an HDTV.
KD4 is offline  
post #106 of 241 Old 05-19-2002, 05:29 PM
Member
 
FLORA66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What kind of hookup did you use for the hdtv stb, vga 15 pin or rgb component to the 9 pin input? Did it make a difference which input you used for hdtv, or can either htpc or hdtv be used in both inputs? Does the inputs have to be switched manually or does it do it automatically? Last question how did the hdtv look thru the extron, did it degrade the picture?

Regards,
JASON
FLORA66 is offline  
post #107 of 241 Old 05-20-2002, 11:35 AM
KD4
Senior Member
 
KD4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I used a 15 Pin to 9 Pin from the DTC100 to the Extron. The switching is manual. Either input can be used for either source. I did use a little peaking from the Extron and to me it looked better than straight DTC100 to the projector so I would say it enhanced the picture.

I hope this helps,
Doug
KD4 is offline  
post #108 of 241 Old 05-20-2002, 11:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tim in Phoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: phoenix
Posts: 5,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Guys!

Just a reminder that E-Tech stocks HD15-to-9pin cables for Extron inputs, in lengths of 18", 24" and 36" at $78, and 48" for $99. E.mail me for more info. I also have some new clearance 202xi's for $795, these were $1050 new.

--------------------
Tim at E-Tech ooo ehometech@earthlink.net ......your Marquee Pro Shop!
Tim in Phoenix is offline  
post #109 of 241 Old 05-21-2002, 10:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 3,088
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi Mike,

I don't really expect an answer on this - nor wish to distract you from mission one: pricing your card mods. :cool:

However, since this daughtercard is wedged at the filter location, would it be conceivable, when and if Matrox' next mastercard is a winner, that it could be adapted to that graphics card too?

Just musing...

Brett
Brett is offline  
post #110 of 241 Old 05-21-2002, 12:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mp20748's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Maryland
Posts: 6,339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Brett,
I just got finished reading about the Matrox card. From the write up it seems to be something to look forward to, and we're looking forward to doing a mod on one.

Thanks!

It's all about the performance... Got Marquee!

 

High Performance Marquee Video chain modifications.  Now available!

mp20748 is offline  
post #111 of 241 Old 05-23-2002, 04:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 3,088
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Great news Mike!

If you need a guinea pig to volunteer a card, let me know - I like to support the bleeding edge. :cool:

Cheers,

Brett
Brett is offline  
post #112 of 241 Old 06-03-2002, 11:54 AM
Member
 
hep8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Denville, NJ USA
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Mike!

Howz' it going with your mod project? Any ballpark $ yet? I've got a 7200 waiting in the wings!

Darren -
hep8 is offline  
post #113 of 241 Old 06-03-2002, 12:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mp20748's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Maryland
Posts: 6,339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Darren,
we've got a web site coming up real soon. All info will be on that site.

Coming real soon!

It's all about the performance... Got Marquee!

 

High Performance Marquee Video chain modifications.  Now available!

mp20748 is offline  
post #114 of 241 Old 06-18-2002, 11:20 AM
Member
 
Doug Ravizza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Brentwood, California
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mike,

I've been following this thread with great interest and thought I'd just give it "nudge" :)

Doug
Doug Ravizza is offline  
post #115 of 241 Old 06-23-2002, 04:39 AM
Member
 
Jrgen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Vaihingen/Enz, Germany
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@ Mike : Something new on your mod? Thanks and best Regards Jürgen;)
Jrgen is offline  
post #116 of 241 Old 06-23-2002, 07:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mp20748's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Maryland
Posts: 6,339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
This is taking longer than I had expected. I chose to do certain tests before release. Most of the test are in, however there are a few other test that I'm waiting on, and one is the final results from the local lab (this week). So far everything still looks real good, no stumbling blocks as of yet.

During the wait and testing process I was also preparing for improvements, so I had my own testing going on. So in the past week I have added nine more components and replaced three, and this has made an noticeable improvement in the overall performance. I'm now working on having the filtering set for specific windows (720, 960, 1080, etc). this will allow for the best slew rate possible, while maintaining that clean image.

I have my own HT system in my home. I guess I've only watched about 3 to 4 movies in the last two years on my system (set down and actually watched the whole movie). I have a NEC 6PG Extra (very nice projector), I also have a Marquee 9500LC for testing, both have weak green tubes, but I must admit, in the last week or so, I've been an object in that room, I'm actually watching complete movies, I'm not really sure why, but It's truly a different experience.

It's all about the performance... Got Marquee!

 

High Performance Marquee Video chain modifications.  Now available!

mp20748 is offline  
post #117 of 241 Old 06-23-2002, 08:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jbryngelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 1,147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Mike!

Drop me a like if you would llike another professional set of eyes to look at your product. I have about 30 eyes (15 HT enthusiasts) stopping over on Saturday who will be touring my demo room. Having a preliminary comming out party is possible here in Detroit!

Jeff in Detroit
jbryngelson is offline  
post #118 of 241 Old 06-23-2002, 08:54 AM
Senior Member
 
BenjaminWoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Mike,


Have you tried modifying the ATI Radeon 8500? The gamma has been fixed.


Ben
BenjaminWoo is offline  
post #119 of 241 Old 06-23-2002, 09:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mp20748's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Maryland
Posts: 6,339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Jeff,
I would love to have you do an evaluation for me. However, I won't be able to make it happen by this coming Saturday. The changes that I've made thus far will not be on the mini PC board by then. I have to re do the boards. I have an outboard unit (not for HTPC) that connects between the processor and the projector, I must first remove the filters from the processor first because I do the filtering on my circuit.

This is what I would like to do:

Give me a couple of weeks and I could send you a modified outboard processor, and I'll also send the outboard mod with it (with the connecting cables).

You can then evaluated it at your convience. let me know what processors you are familiar with, and would prefer for this.

It's your call!

It's all about the performance... Got Marquee!

 

High Performance Marquee Video chain modifications.  Now available!

mp20748 is offline  
post #120 of 241 Old 06-30-2002, 03:51 AM
Member
 
Jrgen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Vaihingen/Enz, Germany
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a ATi ALL-IN-WONDER RADEON 32 MB DDR memory graphicscard and would like to have this mod with BNC connectors and higher output ( cleaner ).Is a filter removal necessecary/possible?Use the ATi only as graphicscard and SDI-Silk as capture card.My PJ is a AMPRO3600. @Mike:Have you made any progress?I want to upgrade/mod my HTPC when the new case from Thomas( power buy DIGN ) will arrive. Thanx for give me your thougts Jürgen
Jrgen is offline  
Closed Thread CRT Projectors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off