Electrohome 8000 lost focus, then lost picture - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 04-09-2012, 01:08 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Joshua Snyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Madison, Wi
Posts: 468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Electrohome 8000 lost focus, then lost picture.

while watching some videos, the projector would suddenly cut image, then come back from blurry and dim to sharp and bright. then one last time it did that same trick, and from then on has had no image at all. I am getting nothing that looks like an error light from the system. have power to the fans, can turn the unit on and off, and when on, I get the full complement of fans.

Am I likely looking at a HV PS? or another board somewhere?

with "reasonable" digitals well under 1K.... this may be my final push

Josh

CRT/Projecton obsessed since 1985
HT Owner since 1998

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Joshua Snyder is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 04-09-2012, 02:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
draganm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Brighton, Colorado
Posts: 4,780
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joshua Snyder View Post

Electrohome 8000 lost focus, then lost picture.Am I likely looking at a HV PS? Josh

those are certainly the symptoms of a dying HVPS. Considering used ones sell for $250. I'm not sure I would invest that into an 8000. Not unless the tubes are good, it's a newer late-model 1994/95 version, and you already have and HDMI converter (moome card or Fury) .
If it's an ancient 8000 with the fixed rear heat sink that doesn't hinge down and your running some kind of line doubler or momitsu player I would not fix it.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Marquee Upgrade/re-build package
draganm is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 04-09-2012, 04:13 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Joshua Snyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Madison, Wi
Posts: 468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
it's a 8000 from October 1995, the Tubes have about 2000 hours on them or less. I have an external mark 1 Mome converter.

Still not sure if Imm going to repair it. Don't you have to drop the projector from the ceiling to replace the HVPS?

CRT/Projecton obsessed since 1985
HT Owner since 1998

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Joshua Snyder is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 04-09-2012, 05:35 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Curt Palme's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 18,959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 23
BEfore you write off the HVPS, reset the H deflection board, the one between the G and B tubes. The HVPS can be changed out with the set on the ceiling.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- CRT tech info


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-pro audio website
Curt Palme is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 04-10-2012, 08:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
draganm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Brighton, Colorado
Posts: 4,780
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joshua Snyder View Post

it's a 8000 from October 1995, the Tubes have about 2000 hours on them or less. I have an external mark 1 Mome converter.

it's a keeper, there will be some 8500 parts in there for sure. Also be aware that a $1K digital will not be the perfect new display your hoping for. The really good ones like the JVC DILA's are still $4K + if you can find last years model on close-out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joshua Snyder View Post

Still not sure if Imm going to repair it. Don't you have to drop the projector from the ceiling to replace the HVPS?

No you don't, just have to unplug it 6 screws and it slides out . A newer 8500 HVPS will also give you 200 more Lumens
You can try curt's suggestion though, sometimes the HDM doesn't lite up the error light for whatever reason.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Marquee Upgrade/re-build package
draganm is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 04-10-2012, 11:11 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Joshua Snyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Madison, Wi
Posts: 468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The HVPS that is in the unit now is one from a 8500, so that's what I would want to put in it if I could.

I reseated both of the vertical boards in the unit, and still no go, no HV "crackle" as the set starts up anymore.

I did pull the "LV" PS, cleaned it out, a little dusty since I replaced the fans years ago.

Where might I find a 8500 HVPS?

Thanks

CRT/Projecton obsessed since 1985
HT Owner since 1998

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Joshua Snyder is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 04-10-2012, 12:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tim in Phoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: phoenix
Posts: 5,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Where might I find a 8500 HVPS?

Hello. I have those for $250 and postage.

ehometech @ earthlink.net


Cheers

Tim

--------------------
Tim at E-Tech ooo
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
......your Marquee Pro Shop!
Tim in Phoenix is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 04-10-2012, 04:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
draganm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Brighton, Colorado
Posts: 4,780
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joshua Snyder View Post

Where might I find a 8500 HVPS?
Thanks

maybe send your old one to the same person if they can test it. Tim can for sure
try and find a newer V3 (version 3)


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Marquee Upgrade/re-build package
draganm is offline  
Reply CRT Projectors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off