install electrical outlet on ceiling near projector? and other newb questions. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 14 Old 07-19-2012, 07:38 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Hello all. Im a complete newb about this but i bought a projector (epson 8350) which i have fallen in love with. I'm building a HT as we speak. I've gotten all long audio and video wires to run from my projector to my devices/receiver above the drop ceiling. All that is nice and tidy. However, as im sure most already know, the power chord for the epson will no way reach to the outlet near the floor a good 17' away.

I dont want to buy a super long powercord to run from my projector in the drop ceiling because i hear its not safe.

I've seen pics where people have electrical outlets installed on the ceiling next to the projector. This looks like the best thing for me to do.
What kind of outlet is used though? i want to call a electrician or contractor to install one. Is it the standard 3 prong outlet just like the ones on all the walls? Or a surge protector type like the ones installed in the bathrooms? how much does it cost to install this outlet?

Is a super long chord really unsafe? I'll buy one if needed but rather not.

Thanks in advance for the help all
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 07-19-2012, 09:22 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by linkseo View Post

Is it the standard 3 prong outlet just like the ones on all the walls?
Can be.
Quote:
Or a surge protector type like the ones installed in the bathrooms?
GFCIs are used in bathrooms, not surge protective devices. Depending on your local code, it may require a AFCI, though. You can use a surge protective device if you want and it meets code.
Quote:
how much does it cost to install this outlet?
Prices vary, ask one or more local electricians.
Quote:
Is a super long chord really unsafe?l
For what you want to do, yes.