Advice for projecting an HD image onto a CIRCULAR screen - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 6 Old 07-31-2012, 07:09 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi everyone and thanks for the help,

Im making a video projection for a music festival. It is to be projected onto a big circle screen. the circle will be 12 feet across...

My project is done in after effects. I've rendered out the video in the following format
-HDTV 1920 x 1080
-16:9 Aspect Ratio

I have also added a circle mask which lies bang on in the center of the video.

My question basically is, will this circle fit perfectly onto the 12foot across screen? I will be projecting using an HD projector, but is there any kind of math/calculations I need to make to ensure that my crop circle that I apply to the video actually matches the screen circle?

Sorry for sounding like an idiot, its my first ever projection project. I'm a graphic artist but I have no idea about hardware like projectors... smile.gif

David
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 07-31-2012, 10:20 AM

Liked: 11
Since you asked this in the CRT projectors forum, are you using a CRT projector (as opposed to a more portable digital LCD or DLP projector)? If you are, there are geometry adjustments that can easily be made. to compensate for the curvature of the screen. If it's a digital projector, things could be a bit trickier and depend more on the specific model of projector you have.
post #3 of 6 Old 07-31-2012, 01:12 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
My question basically is, will this circle fit perfectly onto the 12foot across screen?

that would depend on the zoom lens and position of the projector.
post #4 of 6 Old 08-01-2012, 01:42 AM - Thread Starter

thanks for the reply.