barco data with i2c short circuit failure - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 08-23-2012, 12:12 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jusm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hello,

i have an old barco data 800 witch doesn't work anymore.
Al i get is " failure short circuit on i2c bus".
Can anybody help me with this problem?

thanks in advance
jusm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 08-23-2012, 06:45 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Curt Palme's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 18,942
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
You have a short on the data communication line within the set. Unfortunately that can be on almost any board. Without swapping boards, you can't really tell.

I have most boards for sale for $10 each in tested working shape.

You can pull the convergence board out from under the lenses and see if the problem goes away. That's the only board you can pull though without losing the image. You'll lose convergence functions, but you'll be able to see if the error message goes away. Instead, you'll get a bunch of specific I2R location errors, which refer to the convergence board.

www.curtpalme.com - CRT tech info

www.soundsolutionscanada.com -pro audio website
Curt Palme is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 08-23-2012, 08:30 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jusm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks for the replay curt.
i started the barco up with the tray under the lenses removed but the error was still the same.
you are right it could be a bunch of cards (every card on the i2c bus).
I still have another working barco data 800, so i can swap the cards one by one but i'm afraid that the broken barco will kill a working card from my good barco.
If one day i start swapping cards and i locate the broken card then i will give your $10 cards a thought smile.gif
jusm is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 08-23-2012, 10:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
draganm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Brighton, Colorado
Posts: 4,772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
probably helpful to keep in mind that you would have to literally pay someone to haul those things way at this point, so really not necessary to worry about causing further damage. So swap the boards until you find the faulty one
People are giving away much better and more capable sets

Marquee HD mod's Marquee Upgrade/re-build package
draganm is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 08-23-2012, 04:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Curt Palme's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 18,942
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
If you give up and want to sell the HV quadruplers out of the sets, let me know.

Cheers!

www.curtpalme.com - CRT tech info

www.soundsolutionscanada.com -pro audio website
Curt Palme is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 08-24-2012, 11:02 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jusm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok. thanks for the answers
jusm is offline  
Reply CRT Projectors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off