HELP! I need assistance troubleshooting an Electrohome ECP2000 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 10 Old 04-15-2014, 08:22 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey everyone,

I'm fairly new to the world of CRT Projectors, having picked up my ECP2000 off Craigslist a few weeks ago. Up until tonight, things were working great. Using the NTSC Input to display the analog signal from my DirecTV box, things worked well. However, I am not having much luck using the RGBs input to connect to my computer.

I received my Extron RGB 109 Plus device today and hooked it up between my computer and the projector, with my monitor hooked to the pass through on the Extron box. Everything worked fine for a few minutes... before the picture started to shake and slowly diverge into two nearly identical images (narrower versions of what should have been appearing) squished to the left and right side of the screen. The NTSC input is still displaying correctly... only the RGBs input is experiencing this issue.

My current hypothesis is that the computer is outputting an interlaced signal, while the projector can only handle a progressive scan signal. (IE: 540i vs 540p) I'm pretty certain I can force my video card to output a progressive scan signal using the ATI Catalyst software... but Windows 7 seems to have compatibility issues with Catalyst. Before I downgrade my computer to XP, I wanted to to make certain I was on the right track... or if there is another explanation for the problems I'm having.

Any thoughts???

Thanks in advance for any advice and assistance you can give!

Chris
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 04-16-2014, 06:59 AM - Thread Starter