G70 - Add a Moome Hdmi card? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 08-17-2014, 05:36 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dchilders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
G70 - Add a Moome Hdmi card?

So I came here today looking for how to get rid of my G70. The kids are wanting to game in the theater and we havn't really upgraded anything in years. I was thinking about getting a benq w1070 so I could get hdmi and 3d.

I've had the projector for about 9 years with no trouble out of it. Getting the hdmi/3d upgrade for 1/2 the cost of a new projector would be nice, but I also see some people struggling to get it to work - which I don't want to deal with.

With kids and school and sports, I don't have a lot of free time, so I'm quite torn on the idea of attempting an upgrade that might not work. I think I'm answering my own question, but maybe you guys will talk me out of it.
dchilders is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 08-17-2014, 05:38 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dchilders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dchilders View Post
So I came here today looking for how to get rid of my G70. The kids are wanting to game in the theater and we havn't really upgraded anything in years. I was thinking about getting a benq w1070 so I could get hdmi and 3d.

I've had the projector for about 9 years with no trouble out of it. Getting the hdmi/3d upgrade for 1/2 the cost of a new projector would be nice, but I also see some people struggling to get it to work - which I don't want to deal with.

With kids and school and sports, I don't have a lot of free time, so I'm quite torn on the idea of attempting an upgrade that might not work. I think I'm answering my own question, but maybe you guys will talk me out of it.
I should add that - I didn't even know I could add HDMI to my G70 until I found this forum again a few hours ago!
dchilders is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 08-18-2014, 05:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 7,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 101
I used HDFury 1 and then HDFury 2 with my G70 but that was quite some time ago.... It did work lovely...I was happy with 1080p from it too.

Gaming seems a sad fate for the G70 though... maybe buy a cheap 3D digital optima ... that should rule for games and cost less to run. ... Just a thought.
Brian Hampton is online now  
post #4 of 4 Old 08-18-2014, 03:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
draganm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Brighton, Colorado
Posts: 4,795
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by dchilders View Post
With kids and school and sports, I don't have a lot of free time, so I'm quite torn on the idea of attempting an upgrade that might not work. I think I'm answering my own question, but maybe you guys will talk me out of it.
the number of people having problems with the Moome card are very few, maybe 1 in a hundred. He has sold thousands of cards, and I have read a handful of posts where people have had trouble with them. IMO, the cards have become too complicated for some people to operate and that was a result of people clamoring for " more features, more control" That was all fine and dandy for the die-hard video guys but most people don't even know what 0-255 or 20-235 color space is. Personally I wouldn't replace a G70 with a POS BenQ. The JVC RS series would be a good option though
you can ask for more opinions here

http://www.curtpalme.com/forum/viewf...00038b04a02d2e

Marquee HD mod's Marquee Upgrade/re-build package
draganm is offline  
Reply CRT Projectors
Gear in this thread - w1070 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off