NEC Setup - Newbie step by step help...? The main thread begins. - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!

Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread

post #1 of 78 Old 02-17-2004, 09:20 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The guides are great and the manuals are extensive...but I hope I am not the only one who cannot even get past step one.
I hope this thread becomes solid answers to stupid questions about NEC and other setups for absolute newbies.
I would rather take longer setting it up and know what and why I am doing - than guess and end up frustrated to no end.
If the opinion here is "ya got to do it to learn it, we cant hold your hand" I will understand.

Should this thread come to life - lets keep it on topic and to the point.
I guess we would not need the history of each setting - but a "do this like this now" type of reponse. Who knows, maybe one day someone will maje a pdf out of this like they have for Guys guide and Curts guides.

Question 1. The ZERO issue.
What is the correct button sequence to set each option to ZERO.
Does it mean ZERO - Does it mean factory setting...is factory setting good and considered a clean slate for a new setup? Is 50 supposed to be zero for some items?

Question 2. The 16:9 conundrum.
Part One:
Example: PC set to 16:9 at 1280 x 720 - new input setup is saved. Projector appears to shoot out 4:3 with this setup no matter what I do. Example - my taskbar is off the screen by 10" at the bottom.
What is the process needed to get to 16:9 showing correctly on a 16:9 screen without running setting up too high (on NEC)