Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread

post #1 of 448 Old 09-16-2004, 11:44 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm just starting the learning process on how to install and set up my XG-852. If you've got one, you know this is a complex beast to configure. Especially since the NEC manuals really suck.

I've been writing computer manuals for 10 years, so I figure I ought to document the process while I'm learning. That way future XG newbs will have a huge head-start, and it will greatly reduce the question load on existing XG owners. So it's in your best interest to help me out. :)

If there are any XG owners in COLORADO, PLEASE contact me. Your experience could be incredibly valuable in this process. If I could come to your place to have you show me, or better yet you come here and help me set up mine, I'd try to make it worth your while within my already-strained-to-breaking budget.

===

I've been reading through some of the previous XG setup threads, such as Mikecazzx's thread, and more advanced experts-only posts like Guy Kuo's Black-Level Calibration, and KennyG's G2 calibration (danger danger will robinson!), so I've got an idea what I'm in for. (And I'm terrified!! :)) Between those and trying to extrapolate from Tinman's PG setup guide, I think my starting point should be:

1. Hang projector in desired location. Ensure it's dead level and perfectly perpendicular to the screen. (I haven't mounted my screen yet so I'll put the screen up once the projector shows me the right location.) I believe the recommended way to get the PJ square to the screen is to measure from the L screen corner or other fixed point to the L front & back feet, from R screen corner to R front & back feet, and make sure both front distances & both back distances are equal.
2. Set the Scheimpflug adjustments (the tabs on each lens) for my screen size and set the ceiling/floor settings if necessary.