Anyone for a DVI-D Input Card for Sony crt? - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 206 Old 02-25-2005, 04:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
techman707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Florida & New York
Posts: 9,348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Terry,

Since the output from the display card is DVI, what difference should the cable length make since the signal would remain in the digital domain all the way to the card on the projector, right?

Bruce

"The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be judged by the way its animals are treated." -Ghandi
techman707 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 206 Old 02-25-2005, 04:10 PM
Member
 
bravozulu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think he means comparing it with a long VGA cable - more of a "real world" comparison. The DVI image should be, as you say, untouched.

Pete

Want good radio? www.kexp.org - where the music matters.
bravozulu is offline  
post #93 of 206 Old 02-25-2005, 05:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Don Rombach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 1,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So the coming lack of analog HDTV material means the extinction of the three eyed dinosaur:rolleyes:

Pssst buddy, wanna buy a chip:D

Big D
Don Rombach is offline  
post #94 of 206 Old 02-25-2005, 07:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuchuf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Alpharetta, GA
Posts: 5,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bruce,
What Pete said. Shouldn't make any difference on the DVI cable so long at the max length isn't exceeded. I want a real world VGA comparison.
Andrew pointed something I found interesting last night. That is that NVidia in their design and implementation is doing a very good job with D-A.
And as an aside, I tested that $4K video cable I had gotten from someone and could see no difference between it and my Canare cable.

Terry

AVS Marketplace or Videogon are the places to see F/S ads
Chuchuf is offline  
post #95 of 206 Old 02-25-2005, 07:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 4,012
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
How the heck did I miss THIS thread altogether????

Is there any talk of making a DVI card for the NEC? Maybe for the ISS-6010 switcher? Someone fill me in, please.

Marc

Welcome to the darkside.....
Tinman is offline  
post #96 of 206 Old 02-25-2005, 08:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
curtisG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Great Falls, VA
Posts: 806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally posted by hdtvme
Do you recall if the Macrovision CP was turned off in the "secret menu" on the Momitsu? Correct me if I'm wrong, but if Macrovision is not disabled the DVI-D will have HDCP active.
I don't know. This was a brand new Momitsu Network version out of the box. Clarence - do you recall if it was?

--curtis
curtisG is offline  
post #97 of 206 Old 02-26-2005, 05:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuchuf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Alpharetta, GA
Posts: 5,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Marc,

I'm sure that Mike could make this card available to any PJ he wanted to simply by macing it into an external enclosure w/ DVI in and RGBHV out. The proto I have fits in a Sony.
I suggested this once before on Petr's transcoder, but if I were going to design a widget to go into the input of a PJ, I would consider a motherboard/daughter board arrangement so that the motherboard could be made PH specific and the daughter board containg the circuitry of what the device does.

Terry

AVS Marketplace or Videogon are the places to see F/S ads
Chuchuf is offline  
post #98 of 206 Old 02-26-2005, 05:31 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Clarence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Northern Virginia Projector: G90 CRT
Posts: 8,849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by curtisG
I don't know. This was a brand new Momitsu Network version out of the box. Clarence - do you recall if it was?

--curtis
I don't think you even get 1080i/720p out of the DVI pins if Macrovision was still enabled (even using the DVI-I -> analog HD15 adapter).

And if you got it from extremephono.com, I'm pretty sure they disable it for you.

But you can check to see...
http://www.keohi.com/keohihdtv/brand...mitsuv880.html
Quote:
The Momitsu will pass a analog VGA compatible signal if you disengage the Macrovision protection. Assuming you've got a newer firmware version you can access the hidden menu by using button combination "down-updown-up-right-left" on the remote control.
  • Power on DVD player with the Aconda hooked up via a component/RCA video port and a DVI-I -> VGA cable simultaneously.
  • Take any discs out of the DVD player
  • When blue screen graphics shows, hit the following button sequence on remote control "down-up-down-up-right-left"
  • There a menu will now show up allowing you to select your Region and Macrovision settings.
  • Change the region you want. "0" makes the Momitsu region free.
also http://www.gumboot.co.nz/forums/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=89
Clarence is offline  
post #99 of 206 Old 02-26-2005, 09:03 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hdtvme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Tinman
How the heck did I miss THIS thread altogether????

Is there any talk of making a DVI card for the NEC? Maybe for the ISS-6010 switcher? Someone fill me in, please.

Marc
I'm open to adapting the design to other projectors or Terry's motherboard / daughterboard idea. With the question of G series compatibility answered, one major hurdle remains: getting > 60Hz refresh out of an NVidia DVI port. This does not appear to be an EDID problem as I have the limits there set well above what 1440 x 960 72p would require. Also, several ATI cards I have tried have no problems going above 60Hz on DVI.

At this point, I consider the hardware fully compatible with anything that can accept an IFB-11.

The firmware may still need to change depending on what it takes to get the NVidia cards outputting correctly.
hdtvme is offline  
post #100 of 206 Old 02-26-2005, 09:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuchuf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Alpharetta, GA
Posts: 5,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
And I think more testing should be done with other DVI sources besides a HTPC.

Terry

AVS Marketplace or Videogon are the places to see F/S ads
Chuchuf is offline  
post #101 of 206 Old 02-26-2005, 09:36 AM
 
Tom.W's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Costa Rica would be nice!
Posts: 1,397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Iv'e read other posts on problems with the Nvidia DVI output.I don't think your converter is at fault.
Tom.W is offline  
post #102 of 206 Old 02-26-2005, 09:45 AM
Member
 
Das444's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chelsea,Michigan
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New at all this CRT stuff. It sounds like I would like one for my 1252q. When will they will be available?
Dan
Das444 is offline  
post #103 of 206 Old 02-26-2005, 11:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
techman707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Florida & New York
Posts: 9,348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally posted by Chuchuf
And I think more testing should be done with other DVI sources besides a HTPC.

Terry
I don't think other sources should present any unforeseen problems.

Now all you have to do is buy a cheap HDTV with a DVI/HDCP input and strip out the HDCP chip they won't sell.:D:p :D

"The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be judged by the way its animals are treated." -Ghandi
techman707 is offline  
post #104 of 206 Old 02-26-2005, 01:26 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Art Sonneborn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Battle Creek,MI USA
Posts: 22,288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 42
I'm happy to see that progress is being made. What exactly is involved in installing this card into something like a G90 ?

Art

My HT


iRule rules my theater
 

"If she's amazing she won't be easy,if she's easy she won't be amazing"

 

Bob Marley

Art Sonneborn is offline  
post #105 of 206 Old 02-26-2005, 01:41 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Clarence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Northern Virginia Projector: G90 CRT
Posts: 8,849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Treat it just like an IFB-11. It slides right into the projector input slot.

Art, how do you usually feed the same image to both G90's?
Also, do you have a Sony switcher?
Clarence is offline  
post #106 of 206 Old 02-26-2005, 02:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuchuf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Alpharetta, GA
Posts: 5,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Art,
Like Clarance said it simply plugs into one of the other available slots for inputs in the PJ. You then select input B and there it is. Since the G90 (or G70 or D50 I assume) see's this as an RGBHV input yu have all the color controls you would have with RGBHV like bias, gain, etc.

Bruce.....that's the ticket.

Terry

AVS Marketplace or Videogon are the places to see F/S ads
Chuchuf is offline  
post #107 of 206 Old 02-26-2005, 03:05 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Art Sonneborn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Battle Creek,MI USA
Posts: 22,288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally posted by Clarence
Treat it just like an IFB-11. It slides right into the projector input slot.

Art, how do you usually feed the same image to both G90's?
Also, do you have a Sony switcher?

Clarence,
I have an Extron distribution amplifier that splits the RGBHV signal. I do not have a Sony switcher.

Art

My HT


iRule rules my theater
 

"If she's amazing she won't be easy,if she's easy she won't be amazing"

 

Bob Marley

Art Sonneborn is offline  
post #108 of 206 Old 02-26-2005, 03:07 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Art Sonneborn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Battle Creek,MI USA
Posts: 22,288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally posted by Chuchuf
Art,
Like Clarance said it simply plugs into one of the other available slots for inputs in the PJ. You then select input B and there it is. Since the G90 (or G70 or D50 I assume) see's this as an RGBHV input yu have all the color controls you would have with RGBHV like bias, gain, etc.


Terry
Sounds wonderful for the electronically challenged such myself.

Art

My HT


iRule rules my theater
 

"If she's amazing she won't be easy,if she's easy she won't be amazing"

 

Bob Marley

Art Sonneborn is offline  
post #109 of 206 Old 02-26-2005, 05:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 4,012
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally posted by hdtvme
I'm open to adapting the design to other projectors or Terry's motherboard / daughterboard idea. With the question of G series compatibility answered, one major hurdle remains: getting > 60Hz refresh out of an NVidia DVI port. This does not appear to be an EDID problem as I have the limits there set well above what 1440 x 960 72p would require. Also, several ATI cards I have tried have no problems going above 60Hz on DVI.

At this point, I consider the hardware fully compatible with anything that can accept an IFB-11.

The firmware may still need to change depending on what it takes to get the NVidia cards outputting correctly.
Well, I'd certainly be interested. I have Petr's transcoder, which after a small mod is now happy with whatever I feed it. I am interested in future-proofing my system as much as possible. For me, the DVI card would have to be an ISS-60XX input card, since the NEC PG series does not use input modules. I have enough NEC's to last me for at least 20 years, so I am not too motivated to find a G90 or XG just for the input slot. Unfortunately I don't have time to monitor all the threads here at all times, so if I could be notified if an ISS card or stand-alone unit is in the works, I'd be VERY interested.

Marc

Welcome to the darkside.....
Tinman is offline  
post #110 of 206 Old 02-27-2005, 12:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
moome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i have a external model for DVI-VGA, see my web
http://221.169.10.62
moome is offline  
post #111 of 206 Old 02-27-2005, 09:33 AM
 
Tom.W's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Costa Rica would be nice!
Posts: 1,397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is one with a built in linear power supply and is HDMI compatible.It also has a built in 1080i > 1080p scaler.Mike Parker will have one for testing at his next gathering with the optional SDI input :)
Tom.W is offline  
post #112 of 206 Old 02-28-2005, 05:09 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hdtvme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Update:

A Momitsu V880 is on the way here (thanks Ed!) so that compatibility will be assured with the firmware that ships on the IFB card.

Everyone who said they wanted 1 or more cards should have received a PM from me today confirming. If you didn't get a PM and want to order, please PM me or post here ASAP. Also, anyone that wants off the list let me know so I don't over-build.
hdtvme is offline  
post #113 of 206 Old 02-28-2005, 05:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Graham Johnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 2,488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just to confirm that these WILL DO 1080p in a 1292 !!

Thanks

Graham
Graham Johnson is offline  
post #114 of 206 Old 02-28-2005, 05:54 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hdtvme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Graham Johnson
Just to confirm that these WILL DO 1080p in a 1292 !!

Thanks
Yes, 1920 x 1080p, 60Hz refresh is well within the card's capability and is tested.
hdtvme is offline  
post #115 of 206 Old 02-28-2005, 06:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Graham Johnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 2,488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Umm will it support 50hz ??

As 60 hz way is outside the bandwidth capabilities of most projectors !!

Graham
Graham Johnson is offline  
post #116 of 206 Old 02-28-2005, 07:24 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hdtvme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Graham Johnson
Umm will it support 50hz ??

As 60 hz way is outside the bandwidth capabilities of most projectors !!
50Hz is no problem. I tried it on my 1292 just now to be sure.
hdtvme is offline  
post #117 of 206 Old 02-28-2005, 07:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Graham Johnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 2,488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Mike. This is very cool can't wait now.

Graham
Graham Johnson is offline  
post #118 of 206 Old 03-03-2005, 10:07 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hdtvme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The IFB-DVI is now being offered in the Power Buys section.
hdtvme is offline  
post #119 of 206 Old 03-03-2005, 10:17 AM
LJG
AVS Special Member
 
LJG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Brookville, NY
Posts: 3,978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Other than the HDCP issue, what advantage is there running a DVI input into the G90U vs RGBHV ?

Lon
LJG is online now  
post #120 of 206 Old 03-09-2005, 04:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hdtvme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Momitsu V880 is now tested and guaranteed to work with the IFB-DVI, including custom resolutions / refresh rates.

HDMI video compatibility is also guaranteed when using HDMI to DVI patch cables.

They will begin shipping early next week.
hdtvme is offline  
Closed Thread CRT Projectors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off