Anyone for a DVI-D Input Card for Sony crt? - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 206 Old 06-19-2005, 09:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tbase1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: medina Ohio
Posts: 2,371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
You can count me in if you can make one for a barco 808 and nec pg9+

tony4k
tbase1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 206 Old 06-19-2005, 11:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JonFo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Big Canoe, GA, USA
Posts: 1,347
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuchuf
Jon,
Has it been that long!!!! Man time flies when you are having fun.
From what I understand the circuit was designed to put the chip in if you have the capability to solder a plcc. Haven't tried it but the designer said it can be done.
Let me know when you want me up there.

Terry
Thanks, while I'm note quite up to soldering plcc's, I do have a friend who does.

You need to hear my Infinite Baffle Subwoofer. Will blow you away man :D

Although I wonder what it does to the CRT alignment drift :eek:
Actually, with 3 main resolutions, touch-ups every six months keep me well practiced on alignments.

I'll send you email and see what works for both of us in July (or once I secure the DVI card and a 33' cable).
JonFo is offline  
post #183 of 206 Old 06-21-2005, 09:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
misohorny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Summer in Van Dieman's Land/Summer in Crete
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For those interested in the background to Patrices IFB-DVI card, and are fluent in French there's a thread here. Or you could do what I did and use Babel and read the Frenglish.

The guy making them is experimenting with circuit design for Sony and now Barco, cards were sent to forum members for appraisal, lucky b*stards. From what I understand, he used chips (Sil-907B) with a generic Silicon Image HDCP key, so they are fully compliant.

It cost $15000 for annual fee, and $1000 for 10000 chips with your products tailored HDCP key. So in one year if you made and sold 1000 units thats a cost of $16 per unit for full compliance. My translation skills may have lead me astray, but that sounds more than reasonable. So why are non compliant IFB cards even being made?

I'm sure I've made a bad assumption/translation somewhere.

EDIT:Maybe you have to order 10000 chips.

Cheers,

John

I'm no genius, but I do have a million monkeys with typewriters in my head.
misohorny is offline  
post #184 of 206 Old 06-22-2005, 01:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
misohorny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Summer in Van Dieman's Land/Summer in Crete
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In reply to the question, considering the work that he's done, would he consider paying the licence fees, and manufacturing his cards, quote in Frenglish, John (the guy) on the French forum:

"I do not build these interface boards to earn my living but to share my passion of the numerical video with some other impassioned forumeurs. It is possible that a company repurchases me the design to produce these charts under their own mark by paying this licence."




Cheers,

John

Edit: For that Forum I have forgone the User ID "misohorny", too many people think its an adjective, and not a tongue-in-cheek tribute to Stanley Kubrick. Who knows? Maybe the French would have got it.
I've used "jumper", the user ID I use on stock market forums.

I'm no genius, but I do have a million monkeys with typewriters in my head.
misohorny is offline  
post #185 of 206 Old 06-22-2005, 07:04 AM
WTS
AVS Special Member
 
WTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
I'm not sure why he is still doing it with DVI chipsets. I guess the annual fee isn't bad if you're selling over 1000 boards a year, the question is, could you sell 1000 boards a year to have it pay for itself.

Walter
WTS is offline  
post #186 of 206 Old 06-22-2005, 08:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
misohorny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Summer in Van Dieman's Land/Summer in Crete
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WTS,
I would hope that the $15000 licence fee could only apply while you are manufacturing. It would be a nightmare if it had to be renewed every year as maintenance for cards already built. You could build Sony cards for just one year, I'm sure 1000+ could be sold when people realise that compliant DVI-D input future proofs their CRT projectors, and allows DVD players, and other source components to upscale legitimately. What are the disadvantages of DVI-D transducer chips? I'm still learning, and new to the idea of digital.

I used 1000/$16 as an example, I would gladly pay more, and that would mean the need to sell fewer cards. i.e 320/$50

Cheers,
John

I'm no genius, but I do have a million monkeys with typewriters in my head.
misohorny is offline  
post #187 of 206 Old 06-22-2005, 08:50 AM
WTS
AVS Special Member
 
WTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I don't know for sure, but I would imagine that you wouldn't have to keep up a maintenance fee, just a one time fee for a period and any chips purchased during that period would be good for life so to speak.

Why shouldn't you use DVI, will I would think that most sources are going to be HDMI in the upcoming HDDVD and other HD boxes. Yes DVI and HDMI use the same signals but, DVI is in the RGB format(4:4:4) only and HDMI can do both formats RGB(4:4:4) and YCrCb(4:2:2). So if you have a DVI input card and a HDMI source which can only output in YCrCb format then you're screwed. Now if you were to design a HDMI card it can be made to be selectable for use with either format whether its coming from a DVI or HDMI source.

I don't know, but it seems that would be the logical way to go from my perspective.

Walter
WTS is offline  
post #188 of 206 Old 06-22-2005, 08:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
misohorny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Summer in Van Dieman's Land/Summer in Crete
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good point. Thanks for the information.

I'm no genius, but I do have a million monkeys with typewriters in my head.
misohorny is offline  
post #189 of 206 Old 06-22-2005, 10:22 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hdtvme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Art Sonneborn
Terry,
Will this card pass 1080p 60 ?

Art
The IFB-DVI will pass 1080p 60. The card has a maximum pixel rate spec of 165,000,000 pixels/sec. 1920x1080p 60 requires about 145,000,000 pixels/sec.
hdtvme is offline  
post #190 of 206 Old 06-22-2005, 03:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuchuf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Alpharetta, GA
Posts: 5,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As Mike indicated it will and we double checked the one I have here the other day on a G90 and it worked perfectly.

Terry

AVS Marketplace or Videogon are the places to see F/S ads
Chuchuf is offline  
post #191 of 206 Old 06-23-2005, 08:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GScott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Lewis Center, OH
Posts: 2,492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mike,

Are these cards still available? Thanks.

Gary
GScott is offline  
post #192 of 206 Old 06-23-2005, 08:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hdtvme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GScott
Mike,

Are these cards still available? Thanks.

Gary
Yes they are still available. Please send me a PM. Thanks!
hdtvme is offline  
post #193 of 206 Old 07-20-2005, 02:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JohnHWman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: France
Posts: 1,035
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray Cendroski
I've seen references to the SiI 907b chip in other threads, and it was usually refered to as a triple 8 bit chip.
The Silicon Image data sheet for the 907b (see link below) calls it an 8 bit chip, but the "Product Brief" link in the upper right corner refers to it multiple times as a 10 bit chip.
http://www.siliconimage.com/products/product.aspx?id=21
This is apparently the same chip used in the Dtronics DC-DA1 DVI to VGA Transcoder module that's gotten some good comments here.
Can anyone shed any light on the 8 bit / 10 bit comments?
Ray
Hi Ray,

I'm the french designer of the IFB-DVI input card which is using the SiI907B device.

As I got the device DS "SiI-DS-0056-D.pdf" from Silicon Image, it is clearly stated page #5 that the IC have "Integrated 175MHz triple 10-bit DAC". Maybe you're refering to older IC version called "SiI905" which shoud has : triple 8-bits VDAC and external HDCP secured EEPROM.

Also, The SiI907B device in incorporating HDCP keys inside the IC (feed in by Silicon Image before IC shipment). My IFB-DVI is then HDCP compliant :) .

John

Home theater enthusiast for over 20 years !
My dedicated HT room !
JohnHWman is offline  
post #194 of 206 Old 07-20-2005, 03:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JohnHWman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: France
Posts: 1,035
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by WTS
Yes DVI and HDMI use the same signals but, DVI is in the RGB format(4:4:4) only and HDMI can do both formats RGB(4:4:4) and YCrCb(4:2:2). So if you have a DVI input card and a HDMI source which can only output in YCrCb format then you're screwed.
True WTS but as far as I know, when an HDMI source is linked to a DVI input of a display device, the source sense the display device category (EDID retreive) and know that is only RGB 4:4:4 digital link so the source never output YPrPb (4:2:2) in the digital link but rather transcode it in RGB to match the display capability.

That is what patrice's DVD players do when hooked to IFB-DVI. That is why it is essential to have the small EDID EEPROM within the IFB-DVI board...

John

Home theater enthusiast for over 20 years !
My dedicated HT room !
JohnHWman is offline  
post #195 of 206 Old 09-13-2005, 01:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
bomrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: chicago
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
update please, is there a dvi to rgbhv ( external ) available yet? that is hdcp...

My new Company... CNG Conversions
Friends - Countrymen, lend my your Theaters :)
no theater here in Memphis :(
bomrat is offline  
post #196 of 206 Old 10-25-2005, 10:17 AM
Member
 
azakeran's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: San Jose,Ca
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi There;

Does anybody know if the IFB-DVI (French version) uses the same chip-set as the one that's discussed here in this forum ? Also, if understand this right then you want to have a card that supports HDCP or some dvd's will not work (display) at all !!!

Best Regards & Thanks in Advance
azakeran is offline  
post #197 of 206 Old 02-01-2006, 05:49 AM
Newbie
 
TASchwartz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My question is concerning the External convertor vs the IFB interface that "HDTVME" is currently offering for sale. Is there any advantage to one interface or the other on my Sony 1272 projector? Looks like all the specs are the same and I can use the External module on any VGA capable screen not just my 1272. Am I not seeing something here?

Thanks

Tom in Atlanta

In HD since 1999
TASchwartz is offline  
post #198 of 206 Old 03-16-2006, 09:07 AM
Member
 
morksbeanbag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chesterfield, UK.
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All,

I'm in the UK and have just bought a VPH-1272QM after working on a 1020qm for a while.

I want to be able to input 576p component as directly as possible into my 1272QM from my DVP-NS999ES dvd player, at the moment the only board i have is an IFB-10QA which seem to be RGBHV only. I have a Scart to RGB+Sync (4 RCA jacks in total) but could not get a picture to lock on properly. I've just bought a VGA to RGBHV (5bnc) and am going to give that a try on my pc.

Which board would i need to fit into my 1272QM to be able to get 576p Progressive scan PAL direct from my dvd player to the projector.

I've seen moome's boards and they look great, although a tad pricey for me at the moment. Has anyone had these working on a 1272?
morksbeanbag is offline  
post #199 of 206 Old 03-16-2006, 09:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GEBrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Denver area
Posts: 1,228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by morksbeanbag
. . .
I've seen moome's boards and they look great, although a tad pricey for me at the moment. Has anyone had these working on a 1272?
Yep, many of us have that board - works great

Now a member of the Marquee Maniacs Club
GEBrown is offline  
post #200 of 206 Old 03-16-2006, 03:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Deja Vu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: great white north
Posts: 4,346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Why not wait and see how many HD-DVD and BR HD-DVDs will engage the ITC flag. Most studios say they're not going to so we probably will get full HD over component on some, if not most HD-DVDs (or so I am hoping). I am standing pat for the next few months to see how this pans out. Just what does this device offer if it's not HDCP compliant?

Cheers,

Grant
Deja Vu is offline  
post #201 of 206 Old 03-16-2006, 03:09 PM
Member
 
murphyjjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deja Vu
Why not wait and see how many HD-DVD and BR HD-DVDs will engage the ITC flag. Most studios say they're not going to so we probably will get full HD over component on some, if not most HD-DVDs (or so I am hoping). I am standing pat for the next few months to see how this pans out. Just what does this device offer if it's not HDCP compliant?

Cheers,

Grant
Works as a component input card instead of RGBHV so it is an internal transcoder also.

WTB sony C-element's for G70
murphyjjr is offline  
post #202 of 206 Old 03-17-2006, 06:00 PM
 
Tom.W's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Costa Rica would be nice!
Posts: 1,397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by misohorny
Good point. Thanks for the information.
Please PM me
Tom.W is offline  
post #203 of 206 Old 03-17-2006, 11:05 PM
Member
 
jcrhunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You want a Sony IFB-1400 input board. I've been using one of these in my Sony 1271Q for the last three years for viewing 480p and 576p directly from my Pioneer region-free DVD player and it gives a great picture. As it takes the DVD player's signal directly, there's no mucking around with component to RGBHV transcoding or any other unneccessary signal processing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by morksbeanbag
Hi All,

I'm in the UK and have just bought a VPH-1272QM after working on a 1020qm for a while.

I want to be able to input 576p component as directly as possible into my 1272QM from my DVP-NS999ES dvd player, at the moment the only board i have is an IFB-10QA which seem to be RGBHV only. I have a Scart to RGB+Sync (4 RCA jacks in total) but could not get a picture to lock on properly. I've just bought a VGA to RGBHV (5bnc) and am going to give that a try on my pc.

Which board would i need to fit into my 1272QM to be able to get 576p Progressive scan PAL direct from my dvd player to the projector.

I've seen moome's boards and they look great, although a tad pricey for me at the moment. Has anyone had these working on a 1272?
jcrhunter is offline  
post #204 of 206 Old 03-18-2006, 10:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Graham Johnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 2,488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yes I have one here I dont need

Graham
Graham Johnson is offline  
post #205 of 206 Old 03-23-2006, 10:45 AM
Member
 
speedyandre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Graham :)

I'm looking for a component inputcard, what card have you got?
Ifb12 and ifb1200/1400 cards are hard to find in Europe :(
My setup is 1251qm and 1271 switcher using the remote 14p cable.

Thanks

André
speedyandre is offline  
post #206 of 206 Old 03-23-2006, 01:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Graham Johnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 2,488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Its an IFB-1400 proper component in card. PM me if you need it.

Graham
Graham Johnson is offline  
Closed Thread CRT Projectors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off