Antique Sony KP-5000 Help - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 144 Old 12-16-2005, 08:25 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am new to AVS Forum and not sure this is the right place, or even if anyone remembers the above.
I am the proud owner of a 1981 Sony KP 5000 Video Projection System.
A super cool looking all-in-one system that resembles an automatic washer when closed!
It uses 2 CRT's (one Green and one Purple (Red/Blue?), and has no on screen menus that I know of.
Apart from a greenish picture ( even on B&W with the color turned off) and convergence issues, it works pretty well.
Judging from the lack of info on the net. I am guessing that not too many of these are still around.
Anyone out there with info or advice on solving the above picture issues or just old recollections on the above, would be appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 144 Old 12-16-2005, 08:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member

Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Correction: I think you're the ONLY one with one of these!

I have heard of them, never seen one.

I will guess though that the tubes are probably flat (worn out) and are emitting uneven amounts of light. If you're lucky, you can open the unit and find the G2 controls (master brightness) and balance them out for a better image.

At this point, it's on it's way to collector status more than anything else. I don't think you'll have much luck finding any info, but if you post some pix of the internals, I can probably pin point the G2 controls for you.

www.curtpalme.com - CRT tech info

www.soundsolutionscanada.com -pro audio website
post #3 of 144 Old 12-16-2005, 12:12 PM - Thread Starter

Thanks Curt for your insight. I feel honoured.
I guess hearing it from you and looking at that low serial number, you are probably right.

Here are some photos. It is quite busy in there, but amazingly not much dust.
I was quite surprised to see 3 CRT's in there (2 are coupled to one lens).