Sony G90 Service Menu; What am I doing wrong? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-10-2000, 09:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Chuck Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 1,685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey, G90 experts!

Isn't it "ENTER ENTER UP DOWN ENTER?" I can't get into a cuxtomer's service menu. The book says to make sure the remote is hard-wired, but I know that isn't required. The unit works fine otherwise, and the remote seems to function normally. What am I doing wrong?

Chuck

Video Electronics Specialist
Precision ISF Calibration
E-mail cmwtek@aol.com
Chuck Williams is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-11-2000, 07:10 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tim McCune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Germantown, Md.
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was told by Roger Galvin that he never uses the remote in IR mode due to transmission errors. Given the long cord, I have never used it in IR mode either. I beleive you have the correct commands.
Tim McCune is offline  
Old 07-11-2000, 09:57 AM
wm
AVS Special Member
 
wm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Spaceship Earth, usually on the California deck
Posts: 2,387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Two words: STATUS ON

If "Status" is off, you can't get into service mode. It's a common problem, I was scratching my head when I got caught by this one...

IR mode works fine for me, as long as the batteries are fresh. With older Sony's where you had to hold the button for 5-6 seconds to get into service mode, IR was nearly impossible.

William

wm_avs6 (at) meier-phelps (dot) com (Note - new address! Please do not use AVS PM)
---
Optimized by William PhelpsÂ
wm is offline  
Old 07-11-2000, 03:37 PM
Member
 
Gary S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Chuck-William's exactly right (of course). I pushed Enter Enter Up Down Enter so many times I thought my fingers were going to bleed until I stumbled across the Status button trick!
Gary S is offline  
Old 07-11-2000, 05:16 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Chuck Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 1,685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, guys! I knew it had to be something easy. I've never had a problem just doing it IR, either.

Chuck

Video Electronics Specialist
Precision ISF Calibration
E-mail cmwtek@aol.com
Chuck Williams is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off