Crescendo Sys RTC2000 and gamma - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 361 Old 01-28-2007, 04:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Marshall F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Tampa, Fl
Posts: 1,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think the rebate is like a core charge when you get a starter for your car and then take the old one back. Seems reasonable to me....

"Time's up. Had your chance. Muffed it." ~Lord Scrumptious



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Marshall F is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 361 Old 01-28-2007, 04:45 PM
kal
AVS Special Member
 
kal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 7,252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 33
CZ, you find a $30 upgrade expensive?? IMHO, I think Kim is nuts to only charge this much. The amount of stuff he has to go through, problems,etc. $30 is a joke.

You pay $125 now, and are refunded $95 after Kim receives your return (older) board. Simple.

Yes, I'm sure it's partially a hobby for Kim. That's most likely why his prices are so low.

Kal

P.S. Ordered my RTC2200 a couple of days ago...

Editor:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
, Founder:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

kal is offline  
post #183 of 361 Old 01-28-2007, 04:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
beun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Eddie,

The word rebate is probably the wrong word but I could not come up with a better one, maybe refund is the right word.

The upgrade works as follows:

You buy the upgrade board and pay the list price, it is easy to install yourself and you ship the old board back. When I receive it you will receive the refund and effectively only pay the difference between the RTC2000 and the RTC2200.

Edit: I canged the word rebate with refund on the website

Kim
beun is offline  
post #184 of 361 Old 01-28-2007, 05:18 PM
Senior Member
 
dominical2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CZ Eddie View Post

I don't get it, why is the upgrade board so expensive? Is it an instant $95 rebate or do I have to wait for a refund check to come in the mail? How weird is a "rebate" anyways for something I assumed was mostly a hobby.

Ok Eddie now I'm confused ... $30 for a new card with the added gamma circuit is expensive ? I was a bit surprised the cost was so low ! Not quite sure what you meant by the mostly a hobby thing ....
dominical2 is offline  
post #185 of 361 Old 01-28-2007, 08:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CZ Eddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Austin TX, USA
Posts: 7,065
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by kal View Post

You pay $125 now, and are refunded $95 after Kim receives your return (older) board. Simple.

I must have missed where it mentioned anything about a "core" charge. That would have made better sense than "rebate".

"Refund" is also the wrong word to use.
Maybe try something like "$30 after a refundable $95 core charge".

And no, $30 is not expensive.

"The boom is dead, long live the bass"
CZ Eddie is offline  
post #186 of 361 Old 01-29-2007, 05:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Person99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Flower Mound, TX
Posts: 5,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Personally, I think $30 for the upgrade is insane! Yes, I know this is a hobby for Kim, but I don't think he should lose money doing it!!!

Dave
Person99 is offline  
post #187 of 361 Old 01-29-2007, 06:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GEBrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Denver area
Posts: 1,228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm happy to report that I got an email from Kim this morning saying my new KimCoder+ shipped today and he supplied the FedEx tracking number.

Looks like another "HT Widow Weekend" for the wife!

Now a member of the Marquee Maniacs Club
GEBrown is offline  
post #188 of 361 Old 01-29-2007, 09:49 AM
Senior Member
 
gravymaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for this refund option Kim - makes it very easy for us. (probably not so much for you tho!)



Thanks!

Scott
gravymaker is offline  
post #189 of 361 Old 01-29-2007, 10:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
beun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Patrick,

I can easily do all that, would anyone also be interested in a fuming wife detector before she blows?


Kim
beun is offline  
post #190 of 361 Old 01-29-2007, 11:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
scottatl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hope that someone is going to start posting some picture of images with and without the Gamma correction, I really want to see what kind of detail it brings out without washing out the blacks.

I would love to get this but it does not fit into my chain, I am using a Moonjong scaler that needs to be fed HDMI, if I used this I would have to give up the 1080i to 1080p scaling. But I think Gamma correction would make the most significant difference of any upgrade.
scottatl is offline  
post #191 of 361 Old 01-29-2007, 12:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Person99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Flower Mound, TX
Posts: 5,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottatl View Post

I hope that someone is going to start posting some picture of images with and without the Gamma correction, I really want to see what kind of detail it brings out without washing out the blacks.

I'm not sure a digital camera has the dynamic range to show this. It is also


Quote:
Originally Posted by scottatl View Post

I would love to get this but it does not fit into my chain, I am using a Moonjong scaler that needs to be fed HDMI,

You can do it. You go Moonjong -> Kim's RGB in -> Kim's RGB out -> PJ

Quote:
Originally Posted by scottatl View Post

if I used this I would have to give up the 1080i to 1080p scaling.

I don't know what your budget looks like, but I've tested the moonjong, and while it is the best DVI->RGBHV I've tested, it won't take 1080p and its scaling is using the Fli2300 which is not designed to scale HD. It does not properly deinterlace film mode content like a Lumagen does. You might want to consider an upgrade to your scaling.

Dave
Person99 is offline  
post #192 of 361 Old 01-29-2007, 12:55 PM
kal
AVS Special Member
 
kal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 7,252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Originally Posted by scottatl:

I hope that someone is going to start posting some picture of images with and without the Gamma correction, I really want to see what kind of detail it brings out without washing out the blacks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Person99 View Post

I'm not sure a digital camera has the dynamic range to show this.

Yeah, they should - as long as you expose for the darker areas and don't mind blowing (clipping) the lighter areas.

There are also advanced methods for doing this using the latest version of photoshop that involve combining multiple photos of varying exposure that create one 'super dynamic' picture with great contrast range.

Digital SLR cameras with a photographer who knows what they're doing need only apply...

(Haven't tried myself - it's on my todo list - Hell, I haven't even taken screenshots of my new [15 month old] projector!)

Kal

Editor:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
, Founder:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

kal is offline  
post #193 of 361 Old 01-29-2007, 02:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Person99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Flower Mound, TX
Posts: 5,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kal View Post


Digital SLR cameras with a photographer who knows what they're doing need only apply...

Then I won't try!

Dave
Person99 is offline  
post #194 of 361 Old 01-29-2007, 05:00 PM
Senior Member
 
dominical2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can also set Moonjong's converter to output component and then feed the component signal to Kim's card but Kim's transcoder does apply gamma using RGBHV pass through . I believe the Crystalio used the FLI 2300 chip for scaling to 1080p .
dominical2 is offline  
post #195 of 361 Old 01-29-2007, 05:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dokworm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Grattai, Australia
Posts: 2,749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CZ Eddie View Post

I don't get it, why is the upgrade board so expensive? Is it an instant $95 rebate or do I have to wait for a refund check to come in the mail? How weird is a "rebate" anyways for something I assumed was mostly a hobby.

Well it is like a deposit, pending return of the original board. When Kim gets his board back, you get your 'deposit' back and you only end up paying $30 for the upgrade.

Otherwise Kim would never get his boards back and would lose a fortune. This way you have an incentive to send the original board back quickly, and Kim doesn't have to inconvenience you by asking for the board to be returned before shipping a replacement.

It works for everyone, Kim is covered for non returning boards, Kim gets the boards back more quickly and the customer doesn't have to be without his transcoder while waiting for the upgrade board.

Brilliant.

I think $30 was too cheap, but I aint complaining!

DON'T feed the troll.
dokworm is offline  
post #196 of 361 Old 01-30-2007, 08:47 PM
Senior Member
 
dominical2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
$30 is damn cheap and I have the feeling Kim is coming close to breaking even if not losing money after including his time . Hats off to Kim for a great transcoder at a great price and an even better transcoder with gamma control at an unbelievable price !
dominical2 is offline  
post #197 of 361 Old 01-30-2007, 08:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GEBrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Denver area
Posts: 1,228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
CZEddie,

Are you ready to cry "UNCLE" yet ? or do we have to twist your arm around again?


Now a member of the Marquee Maniacs Club
GEBrown is offline  
post #198 of 361 Old 01-30-2007, 08:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Doug Baisey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Diamond Bar Calif USA 91765 / Seattle area WA 98512
Posts: 4,923
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I may be speaking out of line but why not tip him a bit so you dont feel quilty about it? Doug
Doug Baisey is offline  
post #199 of 361 Old 01-30-2007, 09:13 PM
Senior Member
 
dominical2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sounds good to me Doug . I must say Kim has worked very hard on this project . And many thanks to tse !
dominical2 is offline  
post #200 of 361 Old 01-31-2007, 05:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
scottatl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Person99 View Post

You can do it. You go Moonjong -> Kim's RGB in -> Kim's RGB out -> PJ


Dave


Thanks Dave, I have the onboard MJ on my 9500 so I do not think I can do that. You are talking about an external box right? If I could create that chain i would put my order in today.
scottatl is offline  
post #201 of 361 Old 01-31-2007, 06:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Person99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Flower Mound, TX
Posts: 5,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottatl View Post

Thanks Dave, I have the onboard MJ on my 9500 so I do not think I can do that. You are talking about an external box right? If I could create that chain i would put my order in today.

Sorry, I was thinking external. You could see if he could sell you an external. The external is really just the Quee card plugged into a small output board and a power supply. The external is cleaner than the internal thanks to the well shielded linear power supply.

Dave
Person99 is offline  
post #202 of 361 Old 01-31-2007, 07:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Doug Baisey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Diamond Bar Calif USA 91765 / Seattle area WA 98512
Posts: 4,923
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
dominical2,
Yes he has a good product here, also TSEs. Not many products that do this well from the get go. Dave I can see why you like these so much. Doug
Doug Baisey is offline  
post #203 of 361 Old 01-31-2007, 10:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CZ Eddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Austin TX, USA
Posts: 7,065
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by GEBrown View Post

CZEddie,

Are you ready to cry "UNCLE" yet ? or do we have to twist your arm around again?



UNCLE!!!!

"The boom is dead, long live the bass"
CZ Eddie is offline  
post #204 of 361 Old 02-05-2007, 09:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
beun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All,

An update on the shipping process: I shipped most of the complete RTC2000/RTC2200's out today. The upgrade boards are going later in the week.

Kim
beun is offline  
post #205 of 361 Old 02-06-2007, 09:17 PM
Member
 
shaz782's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Manchester/UK Tokyo/Japan
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it possible to apply the gamma correction to the RGB pass-thru? The reason I ask is that my scaler (FaroudjaDVP5000) sends out 1080p via RGBHV and if possible I'm wondering if the gamma correction could be applied to the pass-thru?

Thanks!

Shaz
shaz782 is offline  
post #206 of 361 Old 02-06-2007, 10:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
beun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Shaz,

Yes, the gamma is also applied to the passthrough
beun is offline  
post #207 of 361 Old 02-07-2007, 08:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Person99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Flower Mound, TX
Posts: 5,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaz782 View Post

Is it possible to apply the gamma correction to the RGB pass-thru? The reason I ask is that my scaler (FaroudjaDVP5000) sends out 1080p via RGBHV and if possible I'm wondering if the gamma correction could be applied to the pass-thru?

Thanks!

Shaz

Why can't anyone do a friggin' search? My god, the answer to your question was in this very thread. You think this thread went on for this long and no one else asked that?

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...48#post9334948

Dave
Person99 is offline  
post #208 of 361 Old 02-07-2007, 09:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bruce can's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Kamloops BC. Canada
Posts: 1,493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK Dave I did a a search and all that comes up is you giving people $hit for not searching


Bruce
bruce can is offline  
post #209 of 361 Old 02-07-2007, 09:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GEBrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Denver area
Posts: 1,228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FWIW, I just searched this thread for "passthrough" and I got 8 different hits.

The question of whether the gamma is applied to the passthrough has been answered several times.

In Dave's defense, I think we all have our days when we get tired of the same old same old questions. Other days, we manage to just "leave it alone".

My 2 cents

Now a member of the Marquee Maniacs Club
GEBrown is offline  
post #210 of 361 Old 02-07-2007, 09:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Marshall F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Tampa, Fl
Posts: 1,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Person99 View Post

Why can't anyone do a friggin' search?Dave


I'm sorry, that's already been asked. Please RTFM, check the FAQ's and do a search.

"Time's up. Had your chance. Muffed it." ~Lord Scrumptious



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Marshall F is offline  
Reply CRT Projectors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off