Replacing 07MS tubes with SD-187? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 10-12-2006, 04:28 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Spookstah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Assen, The Netherlands
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an ECP-4500 which has 07MS tubes and i whas wondering if those tubes can be replaced with SD-187 tubes and if so can this be done 1 on 1 or do you need to pin mod or something else?

I`ve seen a SD-187 ElectroHome tube for sale on thebay (or atleast the seller said it whas), but i dont know if they are of an ECP-4500 and i also dont know if any other SD-187 will fit. (tubes from a Barco or a Seleco).
Spookstah is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 10-12-2006, 05:02 AM
Member
 
jantje112's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My guess.. a direct swap.

The sdd187 is a little less sharp en and also not so bright.
jantje112 is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 10-12-2006, 05:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
mrking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Göteborg, Sweden
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wouldn't go that way. SD187 is inferior to the 07MS.
Get a donor ECP perhaps?

I've got a 3500 with nice tubes laying around.

"Once you go BLACK you never go BACK!.." CRT forever!!!
info at cimagine.se
mrking is offline  
post #4 of 18 Old 10-12-2006, 05:34 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Spookstah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Assen, The Netherlands
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The ECP-4000/4100 also use SD-187 and they are indeed less bright (600 peak lumens) and the ECP-4500 original 07MS tubes are 725 peak lumens, but according to curt`s site the Seleco`s also do use SD-187 and their peak lumens are listed as 900.
Spookstah is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 10-12-2006, 01:45 PM
Senior Member
 
MrGogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't think you can directly swap them. I think you need to make changes cuz the 07MS require more current then the SD-187. I've never done it but I have heard of mosters with combinations of both tubes. I think there is just something you need to adjust or maybe a resistor you need to add. From what I hear its relatively simple.
MrGogo is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 10-12-2006, 02:18 PM
Member
 
UFOAbductT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an ECP 3500 at home with blue and green SD-187 tubes and a 07ms red. It started out with 07MS tubes but the green and blue had uneven wear. I didn't modify anything else, but I do remember reading something about different currents also.

UFOAbductT is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 10-12-2006, 07:37 PM
tse
AVS Special Member
 
tse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Titusville, Fl.
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The 07MS and SD187 have identical pin-out. In the Ampro 2000 and 2600 they will interchange. I can't say they will focus properly with the ECP chassis because the focus voltage MIGHT be a little different. If it will focus then it's good to go. Putting an SD187 in the blue position will lower the light output somewhat because you will have to turn down the green and red drive to match the lower light output. There have been times where I've had 07MS, SD187, and SD130 tubes in the same projector.

Scott
tse is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 10-13-2006, 09:54 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Spookstah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Assen, The Netherlands
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks all for your comments, but i still wonder how come the SD-187 are "rated" differently.
ElectroHome specs say 600 peak lumens, while Seleco says 900 peak lumens.
Spookstah is offline  
post #9 of 18 Old 10-13-2006, 11:05 AM
tse
AVS Special Member
 
tse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Titusville, Fl.
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Specsmanship.

Electrohome was using Electrohome lumens while Seleco was using Seleco lumens.

Scott
tse is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 10-13-2006, 04:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Vibe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I swapped all three 07MS's in a BD701 with SD-187's from an Ampro 2000g with absolutely no problems. They are just as bright as the 07MS's were. I hear the 07MS's are sharper but cannot say much on that as the ones I removed had wear and the SD-187's are like new (the reason for the swap).

I honestly don't know how anyone could live with
a 7" screen in their minivan.
Vibe is offline  
post #11 of 18 Old 05-18-2007, 05:43 AM
Newbie
 
pbody140's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
does anyone have the pin-outs of these CRTs? ive been searching for some time now and cant find them.
pbody140 is offline  
post #12 of 18 Old 05-18-2007, 06:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GEBrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Denver area
Posts: 1,228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbody140 View Post

does anyone have the pin-outs of these CRTs? ive been searching for some time now and cant find them.

Did you read post #7?

Now a member of the Marquee Maniacs Club
GEBrown is offline  
post #13 of 18 Old 05-18-2007, 11:19 AM
Senior Member
 
virusc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
you need to do a resistor swap out (I believe it is on the neck boards) on ECP's to use 07ms > 187 or the other way around. On barcos you just need to change the focus board depending on tubes used or they will not focus correctly as the tension voltage is different between tubes by a little bit. Curt should know
virusc is offline  
post #14 of 18 Old 05-18-2007, 12:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tbase1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: medina Ohio
Posts: 2,371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vibe View Post

I swapped all three 07MS's in a BD701 with SD-187's from an Ampro 2000g with absolutely no problems. They are just as bright as the 07MS's were. I hear the 07MS's are sharper but cannot say much on that as the ones I removed had wear and the SD-187's are like new (the reason for the swap).


Their not only sharper ,but their colored as well. I've owned all of the 700 series barco's in my projector time ,and must say...the 07MS tubes in a data projector is by far the better of the two. When you couple them with HD-145 lenses ,you're cooking on all 700 series burners.

tony4k
tbase1 is offline  
post #15 of 18 Old 05-18-2007, 10:12 PM
Member
 
rs454's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central FL
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote]There have been times where I've had 07MS, SD187, and SD130 tubes in the same projector.

Tse I think a friend bought this pj He did buy a ecp with that mix though but it now has tubes out of a sony d50 also direct replacement and even better than the 07ms 100 lumens brighter.
Spookstah If you have em put them in and enjoy . Rich
rs454 is offline  
post #16 of 18 Old 05-19-2007, 06:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
none74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by virusc View Post

you need to do a resistor swap out (I believe it is on the neck boards) on ECP's to use 07ms > 187 or the other way around. On barcos you just need to change the focus board depending on tubes used or they will not focus correctly as the tension voltage is different between tubes by a little bit. Curt should know

I believe you're thinking of the resistor change on the focus board of an ECP, but it isn't necessary if you are going from 07MS to SD187, the SD187's swap in with no mods at all, as long as the projector originated with 07MS's.
The two focus/shift board versions for Barco 7xx are, one for Toshiba T180's(very, very bright little tubes !) and another for the Sony tubes(either 07MS or SD187 afaik). I *think* you can interchange the focus/shift boards, but need to adjust the global focus voltage pot...
Also, if you are changing BURNED 07MS's for brand new SD187's, you'll notice a great improvement in light output and focus. However, if you have BRAND NEW 07MS's, compared to BRAND NEW SD187's, then yes, the 07MS's are very slightly better.
Not night and day better, but certainly somewhat of an improvement.
none74 is offline  
post #17 of 18 Old 05-19-2007, 07:11 AM
Senior Member
 
virusc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
none74 yes you are correct, its been a long time. sorry for bad information


however it should be mentioned that it is in your best interest to swap all tubes at same time with same type and hopefully similar hours on tubes, otherwise grey scale tracking will never be right. I have never had good luck with mixing and matching tubes of greatly different hours or of different types. If you are not picky it is fine but it will never be perfect.
virusc is offline  
post #18 of 18 Old 05-21-2007, 11:27 AM
Newbie
 
pbody140's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GEBrown View Post

Did you read post #7?


Im actually looking to swap out the sonys with a equivlant panasonic.... but i was wondering if someone had a list of pins on the sd-187 or 07msa???
pbody140 is offline  
Reply CRT Projectors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off