Driver Level Blender Project - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 34 Old 10-23-2006, 04:36 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Luke212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Im getting more motivated to do this now so I'll start a thread here.

The basic premise is:

- 1 virtual display to show the source material (1920x1080)
- 2 monitor windows assigned a location inside the virtual display (left side / right side)
- fancy blending and overlapping algorithms.

And then later:

- easy to use setup program
- unlimited projectors 3x2, 3x3, 6x3 etc
- if you use an HDCP compliant Video Card, an internal NEC100A and WinDVD 8 you can blend HDDVD movies. (this is my ultimate goal )
Luke212 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 34 Old 10-23-2006, 05:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tim in Phoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: phoenix
Posts: 5,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hello

Two projectors on a twenty percent overlap works well, no one has gone very far with this using PCs however.......

--------------------
Tim at E-Tech ooo ehometech@earthlink.net ......your Marquee Pro Shop!
Tim in Phoenix is offline  
post #3 of 34 Old 10-23-2006, 05:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
Fellenz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Phelps, New York USA
Posts: 640
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sounds real nice if you could make it happen; Now when it will run on my Geforce 5500 I'll take it

Hope you can make it work

RGB

CRT Forever
Fellenz is offline  
post #4 of 34 Old 10-23-2006, 05:43 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Luke212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tim View Post

Hello

Two projectors on a twenty percent overlap works well, no one has gone very far with this using PCs however.......

Well I got DirectShow to blend ok, and then I got full screen to blend ok (but slow frame rate), so the driver level blender should be a workable solution. There are no technical hurdles to cross here, but it is a pain in the butt, and time consuming, working in kernel mode.
Luke212 is offline  
post #5 of 34 Old 10-23-2006, 06:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
YONEXSP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Newmarket, Ontario Canada
Posts: 2,413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Go for it luke
YONEXSP is offline  
post #6 of 34 Old 10-23-2006, 06:21 PM
Member
 
Saeid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Halifax, Nova Scatia
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I second that
Saeid is offline  
post #7 of 34 Old 10-23-2006, 06:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
Briands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 935
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you understand the shortcoming of the Nvidia powerwall driver implementation. Seems that even with proper blend settings, there is a bright line at one edge of the blend area. No offence, but if Nvidia could not get it to work in the driver, are we sure there is not some hardware limitation?

BTW... I'm all for this too, just disappointed that the "feature" does not seem to work in Nvidia's drivers already.

Brian
Briands is offline  
post #8 of 34 Old 10-23-2006, 07:32 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Luke212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Briands View Post

Do you understand the shortcoming of the Nvidia powerwall driver implementation. Seems that even with proper blend settings, there is a bright line at one edge of the blend area. No offence, but if Nvidia could not get it to work in the driver, are we sure there is not some hardware limitation?

BTW... I'm all for this too, just disappointed that the "feature" does not seem to work in Nvidia's drivers already.

i know about the white line. thats just the blending algorithm - a non-linear ramp will solve that.
Luke212 is offline  
post #9 of 34 Old 10-24-2006, 08:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
Fellenz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Phelps, New York USA
Posts: 640
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What type of hardware requirement are we looking at for the blend rig. Would this be a piece of code that could be used for many different cards or would it be hardware specific. If this could be done so it could be implemented on our prexisting hardware I'm sure it would be widely used; although if it could be done and built into some sort of cheaper Blendzilla like rig I'd also be all for it.

Hope You Can Make It Work

RGB

CRT Forever
Fellenz is offline  
post #10 of 34 Old 10-24-2006, 11:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dokworm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Grattai, Australia
Posts: 2,749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Briands View Post

Do you understand the shortcoming of the Nvidia powerwall driver implementation. Seems that even with proper blend settings, there is a bright line at one edge of the blend area. No offence, but if Nvidia could not get it to work in the driver, are we sure there is not some hardware limitation?

BTW... I'm all for this too, just disappointed that the "feature" does not seem to work in Nvidia's drivers already.

Well, VLC works, so it isn't a hardware problem.
It isn't so much that Nvidia *can't* get their driver working properly, more that they have no interest in doing so.

DON'T feed the troll.
dokworm is offline  
post #11 of 34 Old 10-24-2006, 06:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
Briands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 935
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke212 View Post

i know about the white line. thats just the blending algorithm - a non-linear ramp will solve that.

There seem to be some people out there that have "alternative" versions of the Nvidia drivers. Would it be possible to "simply" substitute the non-linear ramp into the existing driver?

Brian
Briands is offline  
post #12 of 34 Old 10-24-2006, 10:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
antorsae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Spain
Posts: 690
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Luke,

You might want to look at this whitepaper on multi-monitor support using miniport drivers: http://whitepapers.techrepublic.com....2&promo=300111 and this http://www.codeproject.com/system/driverdev6asp.asp

Regards.

OOO CRT Blend powered OOO Blog
antorsae is offline  
post #13 of 34 Old 10-25-2006, 01:21 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
MadMrH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Im not so sure that it is Nvidia that have it wrong....................

Did anyone who was testing the Nvidia system actually fully calibrate the PJ's

I know I did not...........

I now have the senecore colourimeter so this will help I hope.......


MY real issue with Nvidia was the non stable DVI use.....

I hope to have resolved that, and it was not just Nvidia with that DVi issue.............



Keep me posted, Im happy to test anything.......



I am soon gonna test the VLC route, my new PC is being built as we speak.......

It includes QUAD SLi system, 4Gb V fast ram, AMD 64 processor, HD SDI capture card for my HD SDi HD DVD player............few other little tricks........

So NO I dont think there will be a hardware issue.........!

Bringing Rodan-O-Blend to you.

Find me on the map :UK CRT : European CRT : Worldwide CRT
MadMrH is offline  
post #14 of 34 Old 10-25-2006, 07:17 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Luke212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by antorsae View Post

Luke,

You might want to look at this whitepaper on multi-monitor support using miniport drivers: http://whitepapers.techrepublic.com....2&promo=300111 and this http://www.codeproject.com/system/driverdev6asp.asp

Regards.

tnx i was aware of this site and yes it is very useful
Luke212 is offline  
post #15 of 34 Old 10-25-2006, 07:20 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Luke212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Briands View Post

There seem to be some people out there that have "alternative" versions of the Nvidia drivers. Would it be possible to "simply" substitute the non-linear ramp into the existing driver?

i wouldnt think so.

its funny because im thinking now that i dont even need to write drivers...
you can do it all with 2 graphics cards and a high end dual core system.

if i dont get too drunk this weekend i could try and put together something nice to demonstrate.
Luke212 is offline  
post #16 of 34 Old 10-25-2006, 07:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rajdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 2,102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Isn't there some people here (at AVS) who started this same thing as a project some time back? I read that they even tried to hire some software programmers on the internet to build them custom drivers and software for blending. That was a LONG thread.

Just thinking....maybe the originator of this thread can hook up those folks.


Unless, of course that project is dead.

-Rajiv
rajdude is offline  
post #17 of 34 Old 10-25-2006, 07:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MTyson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Good luck. Anyway to make it to where more than two projectors can be blended? Like 4. I believe VLC can do this.
MTyson is offline  
post #18 of 34 Old 10-25-2006, 08:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
YONEXSP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Newmarket, Ontario Canada
Posts: 2,413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by rajdude View Post

Isn't there some people here (at AVS) who started this same thing as a project some time back? I read that they even tried to hire some software programmers on the internet to build them custom drivers and software for blending. That was a LONG thread.

Just thinking....maybe the originator of this thread can hook up those folks.


Unless, of course that project is dead.

That project is resting 6 feet under. I still have the Details I posted on Rent-A-coder if you want them?
YONEXSP is offline  
post #19 of 34 Old 10-25-2006, 02:55 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
MadMrH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are we re inventing the wheel ???

HOWEVER......

A bit of software designed to produce the "variable overlap" and "edge blending" with easy to use perameter settings , Now THAT would be cool......

Bringing Rodan-O-Blend to you.

Find me on the map :UK CRT : European CRT : Worldwide CRT
MadMrH is offline  
post #20 of 34 Old 10-25-2006, 05:15 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Luke212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MTyson View Post

Good luck. Anyway to make it to where more than two projectors can be blended? Like 4. I believe VLC can do this.

I thought VLC was a Video Player? How will it handle HD-DVD?
Luke212 is offline  
post #21 of 34 Old 10-25-2006, 08:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dokworm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Grattai, Australia
Posts: 2,749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
VLC plays most types of files, we have been using it to playback HiDef .TS files, but it can't playback protected HD-DVD content currently.

DON'T feed the troll.
dokworm is offline  
post #22 of 34 Old 10-25-2006, 10:07 PM
Member
 
slartibartfasst's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Luke,

I'm glad to hear that you're going through with this concept. If I could make a suggestion: do try and make the drivers work cleanly with VMR9, and specifically the "renderless exclusive" mode. It's tough, because this mode seems to like to take control of the video hardware. That said, to my eye, it gives the smoothest playback.

Hi again Andy,

When I tried the nVidia the first time, I hammered out my color balance as well as my Spyder2Pro would allow. It was as close as I could get my Marquee 8000s to tracking D65, and visually indistiguishable to my eye.

Color balance aside, though, I suppose the gamma is the key to a transparent blend. I can't give a subjective assesment of the suitability of my projectors' gamma curve, but I know that the Marquee VIM circuitry was modified after the 8000 to alter gamma tracking. I would think that the designers at nVidia would have to use a particular gamma exponent as a given in designing the blend algorithms. I tried 2.2 and 2.5, and both showed the same band in the middle of the screen.

That said, it's only visible in a very small percentage of video material, but enough so and visibly enough that it really doesn't qualify, uncorrected, as a reference-type solution.

I don't mean to go off-topic, but if you get a chance, when you've set up your beast of a computer, do try the "overlay" avisynth functionality built into ffdshow. It lets you overlay a 32-bit RGB bitmap onto the pre-blend video frames, and has allowed me to just sit back and enjoy two blended CRTs, using the nVidia software.

Sorry for the intrusion, Luke, and I wish you the best in your efforts.
slartibartfasst is offline  
post #23 of 34 Old 10-26-2006, 02:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mark_A_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 8,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh God not Renderless Exclusive...

It takes over the whole PC, you can't do anything else. And ZoomPlayer doesn't have an interface for it.

Theatertek does, but it won't use the Dscaler 1080i version with Inverse Telecine for 1080i film material. Therefore Theatertek is useless.

Something that works for normal VRM9 would be perfect.

Loving my Electric Bike!!
Mark_A_W is offline  
post #24 of 34 Old 10-26-2006, 06:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dokworm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Grattai, Australia
Posts: 2,749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I second that motion, renderless exclusive is the weapon of last resort...

DON'T feed the troll.
dokworm is offline  
post #25 of 34 Old 10-26-2006, 09:47 AM
Member
 
slartibartfasst's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All,

I mentioned the renderless exlusive mode because it takes over the whole PC; I uninformedly thought that a driver that would work with this mode would be more likely to work with the rest. Renderless exlusive doesn't work with the nVKeystone that effects the nVidia blend, so I figured it Luke was going to go to the trouble, it might be a worthwhile goal for the project.

Mark, the newer versions of ZoomPlayer do have a Renderless Exclusive mode, and it works quite nicely with the DScaler 5008 IVTC decoder (and ffdshow, etc.). I agree, though, after seeing MPEG-2 decoded with DScaler on the "reference" setting, everything else pales in comparison. To my eye, it is a cut above the rest, and at least on par with the Broadcom chip in the newer generation optical-format players. Further, the newest builds of ffdshow allow the use of hardware deinterlacing for video and film, so that Dscaler sharpness can be used with the fairly robust hardware deinterlacing on the newer video cards. It's all pretty amazing, especially when you throw in all of those Avisynth processing functions.

If I remember, you're the moderator over at the Reclock forums, right? Is that how you're getting any VMR9 renderer to play smoothly? I get very occasional tearing in anything other than VMR9 Renderless Exclusive - maybe it's time to give Reclock a shot.

Oh, and anyone who has to weigh his "hobby" time against "getting drunk" time sounds like a man with his priorities straight. Sorry for taking your thread off topic, Luke. I'll send you down a case of your beer of choice when you get this done. Thanks for the efforts.
slartibartfasst is offline  
post #26 of 34 Old 10-26-2006, 01:28 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
MadMrH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HI,

New PC being built as we speak.............

About to order the HD SDi capture card, thats the last bit.........

Then its spend a weekend letting Windows update its updates, and then on to try VLC for my first real look at VLC........

Any thng that does get built, give me a shout, I will try and test it......

Andy.

Bringing Rodan-O-Blend to you.

Find me on the map :UK CRT : European CRT : Worldwide CRT
MadMrH is offline  
post #27 of 34 Old 10-26-2006, 03:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dokworm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Grattai, Australia
Posts: 2,749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That quad SLi should really help DVD playback

Are you getting an analogue HD input card as well?

DON'T feed the troll.
dokworm is offline  
post #28 of 34 Old 10-26-2006, 03:53 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
MadMrH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dokworm View Post

That quad SLi should really help DVD playback





Quote:


Are you getting an analogue HD input card as well?

Nope, do I need one ???

Bringing Rodan-O-Blend to you.

Find me on the map :UK CRT : European CRT : Worldwide CRT
MadMrH is offline  
post #29 of 34 Old 10-26-2006, 07:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mark_A_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 8,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I configured a HTPC with SLi 7800GT's. (Overkill by a clueless IT guy).

Only one output works in SLI mode. 4 outputs...one works.

Disabling SLi allows you to run 3 monitors.


I removed the 2nd 7800GT and told the owner to stick it in another PC.

Loving my Electric Bike!!
Mark_A_W is offline  
post #30 of 34 Old 10-26-2006, 07:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mark_A_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 8,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by slartibartfasst View Post

Hi All,

I mentioned the renderless exlusive mode because it takes over the whole PC; I uninformedly thought that a driver that would work with this mode would be more likely to work with the rest. Renderless exlusive doesn't work with the nVKeystone that effects the nVidia blend, so I figured it Luke was going to go to the trouble, it might be a worthwhile goal for the project.

Mark, the newer versions of ZoomPlayer do have a Renderless Exclusive mode, and it works quite nicely with the DScaler 5008 IVTC decoder (and ffdshow, etc.). I agree, though, after seeing MPEG-2 decoded with DScaler on the "reference" setting, everything else pales in comparison. To my eye, it is a cut above the rest, and at least on par with the Broadcom chip in the newer generation optical-format players. Further, the newest builds of ffdshow allow the use of hardware deinterlacing for video and film, so that Dscaler sharpness can be used with the fairly robust hardware deinterlacing on the newer video cards. It's all pretty amazing, especially when you throw in all of those Avisynth processing functions.

If I remember, you're the moderator over at the Reclock forums, right? Is that how you're getting any VMR9 renderer to play smoothly? I get very occasional tearing in anything other than VMR9 Renderless Exclusive - maybe it's time to give Reclock a shot.

Oh, and anyone who has to weigh his "hobby" time against "getting drunk" time sounds like a man with his priorities straight. Sorry for taking your thread off topic, Luke. I'll send you down a case of your beer of choice when you get this done. Thanks for the efforts.


Yep, I occasionally delete the porn links added to the reclock forum by robots...grr.

And yep, I use Reclock with VRM9 windowless and get smooth tear free playback of all material on a 9500 Pro.

I tested a few Nvidia cards and they all tear - they need Exclusive Renderless. I think the problem is the nvidia drivers don't respect the V-sync setting unless in exclusive mode.

I sat there and played with 2 PCs - mine with normal VRM9 and 9500 pro, the other with a 5950 Ultra and Exclusive, and with reclock there was no smoothness difference for HD material.


Zoomplayer 4.51 will play in exclusive, but is has no interface - you can't control it with the mouse at all. No right click, no seek bar, no buttons.

So I stuck with normal VMr9 as it's more friendly.

Loving my Electric Bike!!
Mark_A_W is offline  
Reply CRT Projectors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off