Image too narrow in 720p and 1080i from DVD-player. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 01-04-2007, 06:48 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
mrking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Göteborg, Sweden
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there another way short of buying a video processor to get more image width from a Marantz 6600 fed through HDMI to DVI to a BG808s/E

I know I could adjust the master width pot on the smps but that's not a good solution right?
Also the BG808s doen't measure 48V like it should on the master width pot. It's more like 94V is this something I should be concerned about or is this because it's an s/E model?

The problem is that the timings on 720p and 1080p are completely out of whack when fed to a BG808s.
576p looks good though but that's not erally the solution I would strive for if 720p and 1080i is offered.

"Once you go BLACK you never go BACK!.." CRT forever!!!
info at cimagine.se
mrking is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 01-04-2007, 08:59 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
MadMrH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the S/E is ONLY a quad/eht change.

Im not too sure about the 808 range but does is have 2 scan coil width pots - like a BG1208/9s ?

If so you need to be running the second set of coils.

If not the the 120x series chassis is the answer!

OR maybe powerstrip and change the porch settings ???

Bringing Rodan-O-Blend to you.

Find me on the map :UK CRT : European CRT : Worldwide CRT
MadMrH is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 01-04-2007, 11:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Person99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Flower Mound, TX
Posts: 5,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MadMrH View Post

Im not too sure about the 808 range but does is have 2 scan coil width pots - like a BG1208/9s ?

I think you mean 2 sets, and I'm 99% sure it only has one set.

But to OP, since you are in PAL land and their porch settings are way wacky, you have to do what Andy says and use something to adjust the porch settings.

Dave
Person99 is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 01-04-2007, 03:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
Gunnar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Lillehammer, Norway
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The voltage is 48V only with standard video signal (eg. PAL), At higher scan frequencies the voltage is higher. I don`t think there is any danger to set the master width pot to a higher voltage to fill the raster.

Gunnar
Gunnar is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 01-05-2007, 07:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
secstate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,577
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you set the voltage on the width pot too high you may begin to get horiztonal instability (shaking at the sides of the screen) and blinking (momentary loss of picture). At an extreme the projector may not power up or it may go into scan fail mode randomly. The 808 only has 1 set of coils for sure and in my experience the 120x series projectors have more problems with width than than 808 projectors so they are not likely to be the answer. Also the second set of coils in the 120x series projectors only come into play around 60 KHz horiztonal scan frequencies and higher (and this only after you adjust the cutover to the lowest possible) so that isn't going to help your with either 1080i or 720p since neither of those are going to get to that scan frequency unless you are using some very high vertical refresh rate.
secstate is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 01-05-2007, 08:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Person99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Flower Mound, TX
Posts: 5,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I really don't think there is anything to do in the Barco. It is the silly HD porch settings in PAL land. You have to fix that before it gets to the Barco.

Dave
Person99 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 01-05-2007, 08:21 AM
Senior Member
 
dominical2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You could pick up a Momitsu 880DX for about $225 that has a custom settings menu with porch adjustments . Does your player output 720p and 1080i via component ?
dominical2 is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 01-05-2007, 08:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Person99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Flower Mound, TX
Posts: 5,253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ooops, my bad, I thought he was talking about HD. He is talking about from a DVD player. Nevermind.

Dave
Person99 is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 01-05-2007, 12:12 PM
Senior Member
 
ThomasW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Uppsala, Sweden
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
mrking,

Like you say the timings for 720p and 1080p are probably out off wack, with giant porches that should be reduced before any width pots are adjusted.

One way to do this is to get a Momitsu DVDplayer with custom resolutions menu like dominical2 suggests. Definitely less expensive than a separate video processor. I have a V880N myself, it does a pretty good job of upconverting DVD's. On the other hand it is not the best built player and the included remote is horrible.
ThomasW is offline  
Reply CRT Projectors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off