Lamp? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

Old 01-07-2007, 10:58 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm a hobbyist, not a pro like a lot of you. I was trying to explain a CRT projector to a buddy at work who did teach science at some point in his life. I was trying to tell him that the projector works the same way as a CRT TV only three times. He told me that there had to be a "lamp" in order to project an image. I said it was just an electron beam scanning back and forth in a tube for each color. Honestly, and it should be fairly obvious by how, I don't know exactly how it works. Is the tube lamp-like? I rejected this notion based on my knowledge of how black is produced.

How is the image projected? Politely now, what do I tell my buddy?

Layman's terms for me please.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-07-2007, 11:11 AM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's three tv screens, one red, one green and one blue.
the screens are really bright almost too bright to look directly at.

You can also use a regular 19" tv and use a fresnel lense to project a picture on a wall.

Bow down and kneel before
the three eyed beast
Old 01-07-2007, 11:17 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
CRT projectors work much like any Vacuum tube. The Vacuum tubes in an old radio work on the same basic principles. There is a cathode which goves off electrons, a high voltage anode that draws the electrons to it, and a gate between them that varies voltage and controls how many electrons get through. With CRT there is an additional Phosphor face right next to the anode which lights up as electrons carsh into it.
Think of projection tubes as audio tubes on Steroids. There is a good explanation here
http://www.etechvideo.com/techarticle1.htm

Marquee HD mod's Marquee Upgrade/re-build package
Old 01-07-2007, 06:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks guys.
Old 01-07-2007, 07:43 PM