Is 20' too long of an HDMI Cable Run? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-25-2007, 08:17 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
cmkunisch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
20 foot HDMI?
I see longer HDMI cables for sale on Blue Jeans site. Is this too long of a run?
cmkunisch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-25-2007, 12:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
benareeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 2,063
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 16
This is quite simple...buy from monoprice.com, they will ensure the cable passes the 1080p test, that's all you need to know.
benareeno is offline  
Old 02-25-2007, 01:17 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Art Sonneborn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Battle Creek,MI USA
Posts: 22,307
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 49
No , I ran a 25' on Monday demonstrating a JVC RS-1 all was great .

Art

My HT


iRule rules my theater
 

"If she's amazing she won't be easy,if she's easy she won't be amazing"

 

Bob Marley

Art Sonneborn is offline  
Old 02-25-2007, 02:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
R Johnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 1,678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I use a 50 foot Monoprice.com cable at 1080i without problems.
R Johnson is offline  
Old 02-25-2007, 06:17 PM
Senior Member
 
dominical2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been using an inexpensive 25 ft cable with no issues .
dominical2 is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 02:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mark_A_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 8,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had all sorts of issues with a 7m Lindy DVI cable. So the answer is maybe....

Buy the same cable someone else has working at the same res you are running.

Loving my Electric Bike!!
Mark_A_W is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 11:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
alexsquared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Gresham, OR
Posts: 655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Most cables manufacturers, including Gefen and Key Digital, have cables that are 30-50' long. The only caveat, is that the 30' or less cables are rated at 1080P, but the 50' cables are only rated at 1080i. You can "up" the resolution over long distances, though, with their blasters or their HDMI-Cat5 baluns.
alexsquared is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 03:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jon Spackman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 2,347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have a 85ft HDMI cable on mine it seems fine so far. I also have a 66ft HDMI for my bedroom plasma. Both of these long cables are Accel repeater/amped cables.

Just enjoy HD in whatever form you can (Sat, Cable, D-VHS, OTA, HD DVD, or BD).
Jon Spackman is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 03:38 PM
Senior Member
 
virusc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
dvi is very different from HDMI. DVI was only made to go about 3 feet and has many issues like analog video.
virusc is offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 05:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuchuf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Alpharetta, GA
Posts: 5,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by virusc View Post

dvi is very different from HDMI. DVI was only made to go about 3 feet and has many issues like analog video.

I'm not sure I understand this statement??
The digital signals used for the video are exactly the same be it HDMI or DVI. The only difference is the connectors and that HDMI can carry audio as well. So if the cable is the same there should be no difference in length limitations between DVI and HDMI for video.

Terry

AVS Marketplace or Videogon are the places to see F/S ads
Chuchuf is offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 08:32 AM
Senior Member
 
virusc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
"hometoys.com/article.php4?displayid=850"

I was having problems with DVI and asked a engineer who works for a major cable manufacturer why some short DVI with certain displays were giving me problems. He went into detail about cable construction and interface/protocol differences . The link above has most of the info he told me. He did say that how DVI is handled on the devices themselves makes a big difference in driving long cables without issues.
DVI from what I remember reading about was only designed to go around 3 feet to connect
to early digital panels on workstations/mainframes
virusc is offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 10:57 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
cmkunisch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what does the "AWG" stand for? I see on Monoprice's site they offer 22AWG, 24AWG and 26AWG. Which should I get for my 20' run?
cmkunisch is offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 11:28 AM
Senior Member
 
kawal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Sequim, WA
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmkunisch View Post

what does the "AWG" stand for? I see on Monoprice's site they offer 22AWG, 24AWG and 26AWG. Which should I get for my 20' run?

AGW is the wire gauge. The smaller the number, the larger the diameter of the conductor and therefore, the less signal loss.

22AGW is Monoprice's largest, and "best", cable.
kawal is offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 11:37 AM
Senior Member
 
kawal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Sequim, WA
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by virusc View Post

dvi is very different from HDMI. DVI was only made to go about 3 feet and has many issues like analog video.

I have to run 50' from my components to my G70 projector. I only have analog now (both RGBHV and component) with no problems. Since I want to change over to digital, I too asked about DVI and HDMI, since I understood that other than connector configuration, they are the same except for the lack of audio signal on DVI.

I got this answer from JohnHWman, who knows WAY, WAY more than I do about this stuff:

"And no : HDMI is not better than DVI-D for the cable length : they are just the same on embedded signals ! Maybe HDMI can do longer cable run but it's only because most people are using HDMI in 720p or 1080i (74.25MHz pixelclock) and DVI-D is often used at higher pixelclock (until 165MHz with single link) : nothing else."

Hope this helps,

Ray
kawal is offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 11:57 AM
Senior Member
 
kawal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Sequim, WA
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by virusc View Post

"hometoys.com/article.php4?displayid=850"

I read this article, which was very interesting, but I found it mostly pertained to the background of DVI and HDMI development and also how Cat 5 cables can be used for video transmission.

I could find nothing in the article that suggested DVI cables have any inherent disadvantages compared to HDMI cables.
kawal is offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 12:17 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
cmkunisch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kawal View Post

AGW is the wire gauge. The smaller the number, the larger the diameter of the conductor and therefore, the less signal loss.

22AGW is Monoprice's largest, and "best", cable.


Will 24 do for a non-pro like myself? They don't have the 22 in stock and I'm impatient. Will I be able to tell the difference?
cmkunisch is offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 12:44 PM
Senior Member
 
virusc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
HDMI cables can go much further than DVI(not including fiber DVI) because of the output stage and input stage is different between the two. This is one of the first benefits of HDMI and HDMI is much more forgiving than DVI in this respect. The later half of the article goes into detail why. I will say again. DVI was never intended to be a consumer interface run more than a few feet. Sorry this is what I was trying to say before but explained badly before.

Cheap projectors/displays often have major issues with some brands of DVI cables and lenths due to improper implementation of DVI. This rarely happens with HDMI devices.
virusc is offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 10:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
moome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i have check both DVI and HDMI receiver chip.
for HDMI chip spec, the cable is 15M, and DVI chip is 5M, this is because the HDMI have EQ to compensate cable effect. i even test HDMI with MOLEX cable up to 40M and 720P, no sparks! ya, the PCB quality will effect to, but the cable is the main issue!
moome is offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 10:38 PM
Senior Member
 
dominical2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Moome ,
Agreed HDMI should be a more robust signal but I am more interested in your new HDMI to RGB converter with Gamma . Any news ?
dominical2 is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 08:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
moome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ya, prototype is working now, but need more work to put in a box!
moome is offline  
Old 03-20-2007, 12:37 PM
Newbie
 
joeblowstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by moome View Post

ya, prototype is working now, but need more work to put in a box!

So, any progress on completing the prototype? I really want to order one!
joeblowstein is offline  
Old 03-20-2007, 05:23 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Axatax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: S. Florida, USA
Posts: 1,617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Cheap projectors/displays often have major issues with some brands of DVI cables and lenths due to improper implementation of DVI. This rarely happens with HDMI devices.

I have found devices in all price ranges that have issues. Infact, the most expensive often seem to be the most tempermental.
Axatax is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 05:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rajdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 2,102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I run a 35' cable from the comcast DVR in the basement to the 1st floor plasma daily. Absolutely no issues.

The cable is a monoprice 22 guage. Looks like a little fire-hose!

I bought another cable but that one is a HDMI to DVI (35 ft again) for my broher in law. His PJ is being fed by the dish tv cable box using that cable....again with no issues !

Monoprice rocks !

oh yes....I'd hold for the 22G to come in stock again .

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmkunisch View Post

20 foot HDMI?
I see longer HDMI cables for sale on Blue Jeans site. Is this too long of a run?


-Rajiv
rajdude is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 01:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
KrisRoberts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sunny San Diego
Posts: 547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got two 35foot no name DVI cables from an ebay store last year for use with my LCD 1920x1200 panels for $65 each. They worked fine for that Now that I have my moome ifb HDMI card I've put two DVI to HDMI converters on the ends of one of them and have been using that as the interim cable to my projector. No problems at 1080p. Of course your mileage may vary.
KrisRoberts is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 10:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
moome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeblowstein View Post

So, any progress on completing the prototype? I really want to order one!

ya! pcb is ok now! but the main issue is box, i am find someone can make good box locally! if you need only PCB, i can send end of this month!
moome is offline  
Old 03-25-2007, 12:03 PM
Newbie
 
joeblowstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by moome View Post

ya! pcb is ok now! but the main issue is box, i am find someone can make good box locally! if you need only PCB, i can send end of this month!

PCB is done! That's great news! Will you provide some details? Number of inputs and outputs? Input and output resolutions supported? HDCP? Price? I just bought the OPPO DVD player which is only HDMI output, so I need to be able convert the HDMI signal to component or VGA for my Sharp projector.

How long will it take to get boxes made? I'd like to wait for you to put a box together, but depending on how long it will take, I may opt to build a box myself.

Thanks.
joeblowstein is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off