My Blendzilla rig & HT room construction therea - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 197 Old 08-12-2007, 10:15 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
antorsae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Spain
Posts: 695
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi Art,

Here's some pics showing dimensions. I need to tilt down the PJs a bit that's why I am running 2.50:1 at the moment. Once tilted, the actual picture will be a bit down (right now I am blanking the top) and 2.40:1.

Here's a pic for reference:


The screen with dimensions:


With overlay showing dimensions of the screen:


Best regards - Andres

OOO CRT Blend powered OOO
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
antorsae is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 197 Old 08-13-2007, 05:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tim in Phoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: phoenix
Posts: 5,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Andres

You have taken the Personal Imax to an amazing level; we applaud you!!!!!!!

--------------------
Tim at E-Tech ooo
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
......your Marquee Pro Shop!
Tim in Phoenix is offline  
post #183 of 197 Old 08-13-2007, 06:17 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Gino AUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Cairns, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Andres, so you are now running with 12.5' wide? Are you planning to go bigger because your screenwall is still 16.5' wide? I'm sitting at 13' wide now, but am considering dropping down size a bit. Will see what happens when I install the LUG's and the frankenyokes first

( B ) ( G ) ( R ) BlendZilla DownUnder ( R ) ( G ) ( B ) - Tubes of Fury
Gino AUS is offline  
post #184 of 197 Old 08-14-2007, 01:52 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
antorsae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Spain
Posts: 695
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi Gino,

Yes, I am running 12.5 ft wide. I am very comfortable with that size both in terms on size and brightness. I still need to tune physical setup a bit (tilt PJs down) and install the Frankenyokes, and the MP Specials when they arrive.

Other than that, the blend zone remains an issue because I have not matches the gammas on the 6 channels yet by measurement (just by eye).

One step at a time.

OOO CRT Blend powered OOO
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
antorsae is online now  
post #185 of 197 Old 08-14-2007, 04:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Don_Kellogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 3,373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Looks really good! Wish I had the width for a screen that large, personal IMAX.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


"Anyone who lives within their means suffers from a lack of imagination."
Don_Kellogg is offline  
post #186 of 197 Old 08-14-2007, 05:05 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
antorsae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Spain
Posts: 695
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi guys, thanks for the comments! As much as I like my current setup I know it is still very much a work in progress. My goal is to have it *finished* by Christmas.

OOO CRT Blend powered OOO
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
antorsae is online now  
post #187 of 197 Old 08-17-2007, 10:34 AM
Member
 
midasxl4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think I'm in love! This is absolutely amazing, guys. So, the point behind this is to end up with a 2.35/2.40 image that's using the entire face of the tubes, right? That being the case, are those of you doing blending also using your rigs for 16:9 material, or just for film? You guys rock! Andres, Gino, Cliff, Art - all y'all! And kudos to people like Mike, Tim, and Terry helping to keep the reference quality alive! Unfortunately, I don't have the 'entrance fee' for getting into something like this - a few people in the family would have to keel over first! (ha!) I hope someday I can invite y'all to Florida (in the winter!) for a meet of my own!

-Phil
midasxl4 is offline  
post #188 of 197 Old 08-17-2007, 11:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tim in Phoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: phoenix
Posts: 5,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Guys!

One can choose a range of screen aspect ratios with BlendZilla from 1.78 to 2.40 depending on ones' preference of source material. I watch a lot of HDTV, but my room is short and I wanted the projectors on low tables so, having tried 1.78 initially, the image looked too tall somehow so I elected 1.92 in a Stewart Luxus Deluxe with 1.0 Snowmatte fabric. Those watching mostly movies may want to go 2.35.

--------------------
Tim at E-Tech ooo
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
......your Marquee Pro Shop!
Tim in Phoenix is offline  
post #189 of 197 Old 09-05-2007, 01:08 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
antorsae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Spain
Posts: 695
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am playing with some focus coil mods on my setup. Update here:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...2#post11525442

OOO CRT Blend powered OOO
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
antorsae is online now  
post #190 of 197 Old 09-14-2007, 12:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
joeycalda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Tile Floor with the big Genelec sub. You are sure not missing any bass. Everyone is just looking at the picture ...well you needed to match that big dinosaur with big bass and you did... awesome. I was comtemplating that sub.


Joey Caldarella
joeycalda is offline  
post #191 of 197 Old 12-12-2007, 05:03 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
antorsae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Spain
Posts: 695
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Little update:

- I installed frankenyokes in both PJs
- I am tensioning the screen with a better method. I am getting rid of the micro-weaves... :-)
- I installed the latest MP "mikrons" in both PJs.
- I am using a fully digital chain:

HTPC/PS3/XBOX => Denon AVC-A1XVA => Moome HDMI->DVI => DVX-8022 => Moome input card w/ gamma.

For HTPC sources I am using 1050p72. Smooth as silk. The only thing I miss is a frame-rate doubling technology that works in a PC; like Trimension but HD - I don't think this exists yet.

For PS3 I am running 1080p60. I am running 720p off the XBOX.

I got a little Panny AE2000 for 16/9 browsing and gaming; but I think I will still use the CRTs for gaming for two reasons:

- three-dimensionality of the image in dark areas. There are many "dark" games or levels.

- As much as the PS3/XBOX360 are touted "1080p" most games are sub-720p and jaggies and the like are much more pronounced when playing in the digital PJ than in the CRTs.

Regards - Andres

OOO CRT Blend powered OOO
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
antorsae is online now  
post #192 of 197 Old 12-12-2007, 05:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuchuf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Alpharetta, GA
Posts: 5,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Andres,
What are you running for the output of the 8022?? 1400 x 1050?? 60 or 72hz?? Do you switch the refresh rate of the 8022 depending on material being film or video.

Looks like you are coming along nicely.

Terry

AVS Marketplace or Videogon are the places to see F/S ads
Chuchuf is offline  
post #193 of 197 Old 12-12-2007, 05:58 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
antorsae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Spain
Posts: 695
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have the DVX-8022 refresh rate to "Follow input #1" which is the DVI input. I have my HTPC setup at 1050p72 and the DVX outputs 1400x1050 to both PJs.

The HTPC is always running 72 Hz and I use it as my main video-source. In that configuration each Marquee is seeing 1400x1050 @ 72 Hz. When I run the PS3, the PS3 is running 1080p60 and the Marquees see 1400x1050 @ 60 Hz.

The lack of arbitrary output resolutions in the DVX is a pita, because 1050p is clearly a compromise:

- For 2.35:1 is an overkill as it would be best to have the PJs at 1066x800 @ 96 Hz (800 lines, since anamorphic movies in HD only have 800 lines of info)

- For 16/9 you incur in horizontal scaling (1080->1050). Not really a big deal, but the closer you get to no scaling, the better...

OOO CRT Blend powered OOO
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
antorsae is online now  
post #194 of 197 Old 12-12-2007, 07:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
overclkr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 7,884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by antorsae View Post

I have the DVX-8022 refresh rate to "Follow input #1" which is the DVI input. I have my HTPC setup at 1050p72 and the DVX outputs 1400x1050 to both PJs.

The HTPC is always running 72 Hz and I use it as my main video-source. In that configuration each Marquee is seeing 1400x1050 @ 72 Hz. When I run the PS3, the PS3 is running 1080p60 and the Marquees see 1400x1050 @ 60 Hz.

The lack of arbitrary output resolutions in the DVX is a pita, because 1050p is clearly a compromise:

- For 2.35:1 is an overkill as it would be best to have the PJs at 1066x800 @ 96 Hz (800 lines, since anamorphic movies in HD only have 800 lines of info)

- For 16/9 you incur in horizontal scaling (1080->1050). Not really a big deal, but the closer you get to no scaling, the better...

Big dog, how come your not running 24hz on the PS3 for BD?

Cliffy
overclkr is offline  
post #195 of 197 Old 12-12-2007, 08:00 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
antorsae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Spain
Posts: 695
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I use the HTPC to watch movies, even BRs and HD-DVDs. I could use the PS3 in 24 Hz mode and have the DVX refresh the PJs at 72 Hz; but:

1) I want to use a single device as my movie-playback device. I've only managed to get pretty much out of everything using the HTPC. I have a lot of HD-DVDs too, and at this point I prefer to use the PC.

2) As much as I like the PS3 XMB and I don't like the PC UI (or lack thereof), the PS3 crashes like crazy with many 1080i60 OTA movies I have. I have a big big (>10 Tbytes HD space) media server which I run as a uPnP server. I could probably fix it by having a smart DNLA uPnP server with on the fly transcoding, but I'm not there yet.

3) PQ-wise and being picky I am forced to 1080p or 720p with the PS3; so for 2.35:1 movies the vertical scaling would happen inside the DVX, which I want to avoid. If I run the HTPC at 1050 lines, the HTPC media player scales much better than the DVX.

I have to say that if (when?) I manage to solve 2) and transcode everything so that the PS3 can see it I would probably do re-evaluate...

...but right now I need to get the whole rig running...

OOO CRT Blend powered OOO
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
antorsae is online now  
post #196 of 197 Old 12-12-2007, 08:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
garyfritz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ft. Collins, CO
Posts: 3,379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
That's right! You said "My goal is to have it *finished* by Christmas."

Time is running out, Santa...
garyfritz is offline  
post #197 of 197 Old 12-12-2007, 10:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuchuf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Alpharetta, GA
Posts: 5,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by antorsae View Post

I have the DVX-8022 refresh rate to "Follow input #1" which is the DVI input. I have my HTPC setup at 1050p72 and the DVX outputs 1400x1050 to both PJs.

The HTPC is always running 72 Hz and I use it as my main video-source. In that configuration each Marquee is seeing 1400x1050 @ 72 Hz. When I run the PS3, the PS3 is running 1080p60 and the Marquees see 1400x1050 @ 60 Hz.

When the 8022 switches from 60 to 72hz and visa versa via follow input 1, doesn't your covering, HSize and HPosition change on the 8022 requiring you to manually change these??

Terry

AVS Marketplace or Videogon are the places to see F/S ads
Chuchuf is offline  
Reply CRT Projectors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off