Are tubes for a Sony G70 still available? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 27 Old 06-25-2007, 10:54 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Peterpanski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm in a position where I'm debating whether I should keep my G70 and buy an extra set of tubes now and hold on to them. I bought a low hour parts G70 some time ago hoping that it had usefull tubes but the previous owner had it set up wrong and the wear pattern is too small, you'll see it on my screen so I'll eventually need some tubes and was wondering if they are available and at what cost ( roughly)

Thanks.
Pete
Peterpanski is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 27 Old 06-25-2007, 10:57 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Curt Palme's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 18,963
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 24
$750 to $1000 each from Sony with the LC hardware attached.

$645 to $695 from VDC each for the bare tube that you need to install onto your existing LC hardware (easy to do, instructions are on my site).

www.curtpalme.com - CRT tech info

www.soundsolutionscanada.com -pro audio website
Curt Palme is offline  
post #3 of 27 Old 06-25-2007, 11:42 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Peterpanski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you. So at least a $2000 investment. Do these tubes include a core charge? Are the VDC rebuilds?
Peterpanski is offline  
post #4 of 27 Old 06-25-2007, 11:47 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Curt Palme's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 18,963
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 24
There's a $100 core charge on top of that, but they are NEW tubes, not rebuilds.

Curt

www.curtpalme.com - CRT tech info

www.soundsolutionscanada.com -pro audio website
Curt Palme is offline  
post #5 of 27 Old 06-25-2007, 02:43 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Peterpanski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the information Curt!
Peterpanski is offline  
post #6 of 27 Old 06-25-2007, 02:59 PM
Senior Member
 
James McClellan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Suwanee, Georgia
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What's a core charge? I've never heard that term before.

James

the artist formerly known as jamesdmc
James McClellan is offline  
post #7 of 27 Old 06-25-2007, 04:54 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Peterpanski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by James McClellan View Post

What's a core charge? I've never heard that term before.

James

It means that you have to give them your old tube or it will cost $100 more. When you buy a new part for your car like a battery, the price may be $68 with a $20 core charge, That means it will be $88 if you do not bring in your old battery.
Peterpanski is offline  
post #8 of 27 Old 06-25-2007, 07:08 PM
Senior Member
 
James McClellan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Suwanee, Georgia
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ah. Got it. Thanks.

the artist formerly known as jamesdmc
James McClellan is offline  
post #9 of 27 Old 06-25-2007, 07:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mark_A_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 8,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The new tubes VDC sells are OEM Panasonic tubes. Not sure if they can still get 08's, but you can fit 07's with a simple mod.

Loving my Electric Bike!!
Mark_A_W is offline  
post #10 of 27 Old 06-25-2007, 08:11 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Peterpanski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark_A_W View Post

The new tubes VDC sells are OEM Panasonic tubes. Not sure if they can still get 08's, but you can fit 07's with a simple mod.


Thanks for the info Mark. What does the 07/08 designate?
Peterpanski is offline  
post #11 of 27 Old 06-25-2007, 09:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
newbieDAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bunbury, Western Australia
Posts: 613
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why do they charge a "core charge" if they are new tubes.....and the 'core' isn't ever used...seems like a scam charge.....they get glass for a rebuild that's not associated with the new tube sale....WTF?

sorting the fly SH!T from the pepper

Now Barco Graphics 1209s (colour filtered) in the house, feeding the mighty beast thru DVDO VP50 & PC-3000 with Moome
newbieDAN is offline  
post #12 of 27 Old 06-25-2007, 10:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
Prometheusbound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Great Pacific Northwest
Posts: 735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do the tubes from VDC have the C elements installed? As I remember there is a charge for them to install your C elements onto the new tubes. This adds to the price of the tubes. The green tube from sony comes complete from about 800. The blue is about 1000. Is this right? I'm in the same boat as you Pete. I have a completely functional G70 with great tubes and a fully functional spare with bad tubes. I also have an almost complete set of spare boards too. I recently put in my order for an RS1. If this works for me I'll be dumping all of the G70 stuff.

Oops, Curt answer my question in his post. The tubes from VDC do not come with the C elements.

______________________________
Prometheusbound is offline  
post #13 of 27 Old 06-25-2007, 11:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mark_A_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 8,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
VDC has bare P16LJE08 (or 07) tubes. To make it a "G70" tube, they have to reuse your old LC housing (including C element), and fit a Sony HV lead.

I did not think they would charge a "core charge" for the useless worn tube, but they do need the LC housing.

A bare tube looks a bit like a light bulb. All the black engineeringy stuff hanging off the front is the LC housing.

Loving my Electric Bike!!
Mark_A_W is offline  
post #14 of 27 Old 06-26-2007, 07:49 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Curt Palme's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 18,963
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark_A_W View Post


A bare tube looks a bit like a light bulb. .



All of the posts we do around here telling people not to refer to tubes as bulbs, and now this post from a bona fide CRT tech...

www.curtpalme.com - CRT tech info

www.soundsolutionscanada.com -pro audio website
Curt Palme is offline  
post #15 of 27 Old 06-26-2007, 08:15 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Peterpanski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark_A_W View Post

VDC has bare P16LJE08 (or 07) tubes. To make it a "G70" tube, they have to reuse your old LC housing (including C element), and fit a Sony HV lead.

I did not think they would charge a "core charge" for the useless worn tube, but they do need the LC housing.

A bare tube looks a bit like a light bulb. All the black engineeringy stuff hanging off the front is the LC housing.

Thanks Mark,
I've replaced many tubes. I just need the tubes and I'll use the old LC housing. I still don't know which way to go. If I'm going to stay with CRT ( which in likely for the next few years) I might want to invest that $2000 or more into a G90 or M9500 instead of new tubes. Tough call. I might als be better off buying a low hours G70 with good tubes.

Thanks for the input.
Peterpanski is offline  
post #16 of 27 Old 06-26-2007, 08:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
draganm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Brighton, Colorado
Posts: 4,781
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peterpanski View Post

Thanks Mark,
I've replaced many tubes. I just need the tubes and I'll use the old LC housing. I still don't know which way to go. If I'm going to stay with CRT ( which in likely for the next few years) I might want to invest that $2000 or more into a G90 or M9500 instead of new tubes. Tough call. I might als be better off buying a low hours G70 with good tubes.
Thanks for the input.

Why all 3? the Red almost never needs replacing. Considering it'a only putting out 20% of the light output even a Red with 5K hours on it is equal to a Green with 1K hours on it in terms of Phosphor wear. A brand new B+G is $1300., simply specify Sony anode leads and swap the LC cells yourself. Send your old tubes back and get the refund on the core charge.
AFA the core charge being a scam, I don't think they are out to scam anybody. Some part of the old tube is being re-used by Pannasonic when they build a new tube. I'm guessing it's probably the Bell, they most likely cut the tube face off and discard it but re-use some of old glass like the Bell and neck? Either way the new tubes I've bought from VDC in the last couple of years have been excellent, not a single problem.

Marquee HD mod's Marquee Upgrade/re-build package
draganm is offline  
post #17 of 27 Old 06-26-2007, 09:24 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Peterpanski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by draganm View Post

Why all 3? the Red almost never needs replacing. Considering it'a only putting out 20% of the light output even a Red with 5K hours on it is equal to a Green with 1K hours on it in terms of Phosphor wear. A brand new B+G is $1300., simply specify Sony anode leads and swap the LC cells yourself. Send your old tubes back and get the refund on the core charge.

I was thinking in terms of having a complete set in case anything goes wrong and for resale but you're probably right, there really is not need to buy a new red tube and $1300 sounds a lot better than $2000. Thanks for the input.
Peterpanski is offline  
post #18 of 27 Old 06-26-2007, 02:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mark_A_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 8,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Panasonic doesn't reuse the bell - or any part of the tube.

Look at an old bell, the silver lining inside has turned brown. A nrew tube is still shiny silver.

TSE explained why once - radiation I think.

Loving my Electric Bike!!
Mark_A_W is offline  
post #19 of 27 Old 06-26-2007, 06:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
newbieDAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bunbury, Western Australia
Posts: 613
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark_A_W View Post

Panasonic doesn't reuse the bell - or any part of the tube.

Look at an old bell, the silver lining inside has turned brown. A nrew tube is still shiny silver.

TSE explained why once - radiation I think.

So why-oh-why are they $100 dearer without an exchange....for us down here in OZ, shipping is a be-atch, it would cost nearly that to send them.

sorting the fly SH!T from the pepper

Now Barco Graphics 1209s (colour filtered) in the house, feeding the mighty beast thru DVDO VP50 & PC-3000 with Moome
newbieDAN is offline  
post #20 of 27 Old 10-02-2007, 10:36 AM
Member
 
Jimakros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Athens
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i want to buy a set of G70 tubes from SONY,can someone please tell me how to contact the proper department???i cant find any info,thanks.
Jimakros is offline  
post #21 of 27 Old 10-02-2007, 12:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
draganm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Brighton, Colorado
Posts: 4,781
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark_A_W View Post

Panasonic doesn't reuse the bell - or any part of the tube.Look at an old bell, the silver lining inside has turned brown. A nrew tube is still shiny silver.

shiny silver? I don't rememebr a shiny silver lining inside a tube and I have seen a few brand new ones that came directly from Pannasonic. That lining BTW is called an Aquadag conductive coating. "IF" Pannasonic does in fact re-use the tube Bell-glass, I am sure they would re-apply the coating.

Quote:
Originally Posted by newbieDAN View Post

So why-oh-why are they $100 dearer without an exchange....for us down here in OZ, shipping is a be-atch, it would cost nearly that to send them.

I am sure someone here on the forum would offer to ship some burnt tubes in on your behalf if you pay the $15. fed-ex gound fee's. I have 4 burnt G70 tubes and even though it would take an hour to pull and strip them I would do it for someone down Undah simply to save them the horrible trans-global shipping cost.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimakros View Post

i want to buy a set of G70 tubes from SONY,can someone please tell me how to contact the proper department???i cant find any info,thanks.

I don't have the Sony info but the tubes will be much cheaper from VDC Florida. $650. each with core exchange and you would have to swap over your LC chambers. Just call 1-800-241-5005 , ask for Gina and tell her you need new P16 tubes with Sony Anode lead.

Marquee HD mod's Marquee Upgrade/re-build package
draganm is offline  
post #22 of 27 Old 10-03-2007, 01:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
mtmelvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: SF Bay Area, California
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can purchase new G70 tubes (and other parts) direct from Sony here:

https://servicesplus.us.sony.biz/sony-parts.aspx

Just type "VPH-G70" where it says Model Pre-fix. I got six pages of results and the tubes are on the second page. Strangley though, they only list Red and Green. I wonder if they've run out of Blue.

On the last page they list tubes for the VPHG70VRU for $1500 each. Interesting.

-Mark

What did I do with my time before I found AVS?
mtmelvin is offline  
post #23 of 27 Old 10-03-2007, 05:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mark_A_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 8,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by draganm View Post

shiny silver? I don't rememebr a shiny silver lining inside a tube and I have seen a few brand new ones that came directly from Pannasonic. That lining BTW is called an Aquadag conductive coating. "IF" Pannasonic does in fact re-use the tube Bell-glass, I am sure they would re-apply the coating. .


Not the dag on the outside, the silver coating on the inside, visible through the undagged part of the bell. Go and look at a tube - a newish one will be silver, an old one will have gone brown.

Loving my Electric Bike!!
Mark_A_W is offline  
post #24 of 27 Old 10-04-2007, 04:03 AM
Member
 
Jimakros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Athens
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtmelvin View Post

You can purchase new G70 tubes (and other parts) direct from Sony here:

https://servicesplus.us.sony.biz/sony-parts.aspx

Just type "VPH-G70" where it says Model Pre-fix. I got six pages of results and the tubes are on the second page. Strangley though, they only list Red and Green. I wonder if they've run out of Blue.

On the last page they list tubes for the VPHG70VRU for $1500 each. Interesting.

-Mark


thanks Mark.Blue is listed on page 5.
Jimakros is offline  
post #25 of 27 Old 10-04-2007, 08:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Phil Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 4,201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtmelvin View Post

On the last page they list tubes for the VPHG70VRU for $1500 each. Interesting.

It's in storage so I can't look at it, but I think I have a new A1501425A for a VPHG70VRU.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimakros View Post

thanks Mark.Blue is listed on page 5.

I couldn't find the blue yesterday. Glad to know they're all still available!

Phil Smith
Phil Smith is offline  
post #26 of 27 Old 10-04-2007, 02:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mark_A_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 8,110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To fit a bare tube from VDC just requires siliconing the HV lead, and swapping the housing - which is EASY on a G70. And the HV boots on sony tubes are pretty robust - easy to get off.

It's not a hard job at all. Seems to me that much effort is worth $850 per tube....

Loving my Electric Bike!!
Mark_A_W is offline  
post #27 of 27 Old 10-04-2007, 10:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
newbieDAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bunbury, Western Australia
Posts: 613
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
From recent experience.....DITTO

sorting the fly SH!T from the pepper

Now Barco Graphics 1209s (colour filtered) in the house, feeding the mighty beast thru DVDO VP50 & PC-3000 with Moome
newbieDAN is offline  
Reply CRT Projectors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off