Screenshot War!!!!!!!! - Page 5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 5489 Old 09-02-2007, 10:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mp20748's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Maryland
Posts: 6,339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13











It's all about the performance... Got Marquee!

 

High Performance Marquee Video chain modifications.  Now available!

mp20748 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 5489 Old 09-02-2007, 10:36 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
overclkr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 7,884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles R View Post

Ken hasn't gotten to this projector yet or it would look much better. But even Ken can only do so much based on what he has to work with and since I'm a guest at the CRT forum please don't drag me into the mine is better than yours.

Mine is better than yours.

We need to have a few beers in the future Charles.

Cliff
overclkr is offline  
post #123 of 5489 Old 09-02-2007, 10:45 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
overclkr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 7,884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by spotmatic View Post

My little addition to the screenshot war. All @ 1080p from my PS3, HDfury, and the projector is a BarcoReality 909 (no grayscale has been done yet).




Yours:



Mine:

overclkr is offline  
post #124 of 5489 Old 09-02-2007, 10:51 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
overclkr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 7,884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Yours:



Mine:



Dude, that's an 8"??????

Cliffy
overclkr is offline  
post #125 of 5489 Old 09-02-2007, 10:55 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
overclkr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 7,884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Mine:



Yours:



Once again, dude, that's an 8"??????



Cliffy
overclkr is offline  
post #126 of 5489 Old 09-02-2007, 11:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mp20748's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Maryland
Posts: 6,339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13













It's all about the performance... Got Marquee!

 

High Performance Marquee Video chain modifications.  Now available!

mp20748 is offline  
post #127 of 5489 Old 09-02-2007, 11:09 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
overclkr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 7,884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clarence View Post

I took those same screenshots months ago... from the Blu-Ray intro, right?

G90 at 1080P from PS3 blu-ray:



G90:



Vs. G90's:



Boy did you rank it just right big dog. Look at the difference in shadow detail. It's really not that much........

How about that little friend MOOME huh?????

I have to figure out now though why you have more picture on your shot.......

CLiffy
overclkr is offline  
post #128 of 5489 Old 09-02-2007, 11:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
overclkr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 7,884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Mine:



Yours:



Dude, it's damn near spot on except just a different frame. Very Nice!

Cliffy
overclkr is offline  
post #129 of 5489 Old 09-02-2007, 11:20 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
overclkr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 7,884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by overclkr View Post

G90:



Vs. G90's:



Boy did you rank it just right big dog. Look at the difference in shadow detail. It's really not that much........

How about that little friend MOOME huh?????

I have to figure out now though why you have more picture on your shot.......

CLiffy

Clarence,

Isn't it SCARY how close our screenshots are? Wow. The color is literally exact!!!!!!!!

Two different camera's with the same calibrator. WOW.

Cliffy
overclkr is offline  
post #130 of 5489 Old 09-02-2007, 11:35 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
overclkr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 7,884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Yours:



Mine:



That little burger is rockin' big dog.

Cliffy
overclkr is offline  
post #131 of 5489 Old 09-02-2007, 11:55 PM
Senior Member
 
spotmatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Damn, I really need to calibrate BOTH my 909 and my camera. The difference in shadow detail is striking. Unfortunately I have no way to tweak the gamma from the PS3...
spotmatic is offline  
post #132 of 5489 Old 09-03-2007, 12:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kschmit2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Heidelberg, Germany
Posts: 2,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by spotmatic View Post

Damn, I really need to calibrate BOTH my 909 and my camera. The difference in shadow detail is striking. Unfortunately I have no way to tweak the gamma from the PS3...


Moome's upcoming external HDMI box will feature gamma adjustments. You should really consider that (or a C2 Pro, Radience or VP50 perhaps).

Kai
kschmit2 is offline  
post #133 of 5489 Old 09-03-2007, 12:29 AM
Senior Member
 
spotmatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by overclkr View Post

Clarence,

Isn't it SCARY how close our screenshots are? Wow. The color is literally exact!!!!!!!!

Two different camera's with the same calibrator. WOW.

Wow indeed! But... I'm missing something in your and Clarence's screenshots, and that's sharpness. This very scene is very grainy, but I hardly see any grain in your shots (and Clarence's). I'd say that my screenshot comes much closer with regards to sharpness

Yours:



Mine:

spotmatic is offline  
post #134 of 5489 Old 09-03-2007, 03:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mp20748's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Maryland
Posts: 6,339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Look at the whiteness of the horse. One is clipping and one is not. For that extra lumens of low end increase, the upper end suffers. This is the problem that I have with gamma fixing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by overclkr View Post

Mine:



Yours:



Dude, it's damn near spot on except just a different frame. Very Nice!

Cliffy


It's all about the performance... Got Marquee!

 

High Performance Marquee Video chain modifications.  Now available!

mp20748 is offline  
post #135 of 5489 Old 09-03-2007, 03:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mp20748's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Maryland
Posts: 6,339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I've added mine to the two. The grain is there on my screen, as it is in Spot's screenshot. But it's not showing so well in the image I took (below). My camera does not always focus so well, so it's missing that grain a lot more than what's on the screen. I think the grain is pause related, and would depend on the player as to how it would show up.


Quote:
Originally Posted by spotmatic View Post

Wow indeed! But... I'm missing something in your and Clarence's screenshots, and that's sharpness. This very scene is very grainy, but I hardly see any grain in your shots (and Clarence's). I'd say that my screenshot comes much closer with regards to sharpness

Yours:



Spot's:


Mine:


It's all about the performance... Got Marquee!

 

High Performance Marquee Video chain modifications.  Now available!

mp20748 is offline  
post #136 of 5489 Old 09-03-2007, 06:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nashou66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: West Seneca, NY
Posts: 4,275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by mp20748 View Post

Look at the whiteness of the horse. One is clipping and one is not. For that extra lumens of low end increase, the upper end suffers. This is the problem that I have with gamma fixing.

That is why I love using the Lumagens Gamma controls. It is 11 pt fix from 0 IRE to 100 IRE so you can lower or increase each point another thing is if you have really good calibration equipment and alot of time you can change the IRE you want to change. so say you like your 10 IRE but it is a bit crushed at 13. you can change you 10 IRE to 13 and then bump that. It will add lumens starting at 13 and leave 10-13 alone, at least in theory, i dont have a calibrator to test this but this is hwat my calibrator explained to me the last time he was here. so i dont use the Moomes gamma control, i tired it and got exactly what you showed here. Now that would be asweet hdmi card if it had that type of control over a given IRE but then Moome would most definatly need an OSD for the user to see what he or she is adjusting. Are there any She's on this forum? hmmmm

Athanasios
nashou66 is offline  
post #137 of 5489 Old 09-03-2007, 07:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Don_Kellogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 3,373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Wow those screen shots are amazing guys kudus all around but can you do this with your CRT??

http://haha.nu/creative/how-to-make-shadows-on-the-wall

I didn't buy my RS1 to watch movies, secretly this is my longing. Puts down the Jameson.... then puts down the Jameson... hey it's 5 o'clock somewhere..

The Cinema Kellogg

"Anyone who lives within their means suffers from a lack of imagination."
Don_Kellogg is offline  
post #138 of 5489 Old 09-03-2007, 07:40 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Alan Gouger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Florida
Posts: 18,728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by nashou66 View Post

That is why I love using the Lumagens Gamma controls. It is 11 pt fix from 0 IRE to 100 IRE so you can lower or increase each point another thing is if you have really good calibration equipment and alot of time you can change the IRE you want to change. so say you like your 10 IRE but it is a bit crushed at 13. you can change you 10 IRE to 13 and then bump that. It will add lumens starting at 13 and leave 10-13 alone, at least in theory, i dont have a calibrator to test this but this is hwat my calibrator explained to me the last time he was here. so i dont use the Moomes gamma control, i tired it and got exactly what you showed here. Now that would be asweet hdmi card if it had that type of control over a given IRE but then Moome would most definatly need an OSD for the user to see what he or she is adjusting. Are there any She's on this forum? hmmmm

Athanasios

When in the 11 point calibration mode which do you change that effects gamma, is it IRE? I do not see anything labeled gamma. Thanks!!
Alan Gouger is offline  
post #139 of 5489 Old 09-03-2007, 08:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mr Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: San Francisco Bay Area/San Lorenzo, CA., USA
Posts: 9,408
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by mp20748 View Post

My camera does not always focus so well, so it's missing that grain a lot more than what's on the screen. I think the grain is pause related, and would depend on the player as to how it would show up.

Looks like y'all are using tripods for your screenshots. They all look really crisp, and with the time it takes to allow the lens to stay open during the shot, if not they would be showing lots of sway. A tripod makes sure the cam stays absolutely stock stable for the whole set of seconds the shutter is open.

You can get an even better shot by using the timer, so that your hands don't affect the cam at all during the shot, which will happen 10 seconds after you have removed your hands from touching it any further.

Of course the bigger the lens, the more the light gathering capacity of your cam. One with a 10x or 12x zoom capacity will have a very wide lens and as such very high light gathering capacity, and its shutter will need to stay open a far shorter length of time than a cam with a tiny lens, which would have to stay open several seconds on many of the darker screenshots.

The 6 year old screenshot on the front cover of my website - more visible by clicking the thumbnail version, inside in the Screenshots section - was done with a 35mm film camera on tripod at 6' on my 65" Panny RPTV. It's not the best in the world for colorations for various reasons I won't go into here, but it showed the crispness very nicely.

The 35mm was a Canon Photura, and even with a wide lens and strong telephoto capacity, the shutter still stayed open for several seconds on that shot. A tripod was an absolute must, as was its 10 second timer.

Of course from looking at your screenshots here, you guys know all this already!


Mr Bob

Robert Jones
Image Perfection
510-278-4247
650-333-4808 cell
bob at imageperfection dot com
www.projectiontvtroubleshootingadvice.com
YouTube channel: mrbobbigscreen

Mr Bob is offline  
post #140 of 5489 Old 09-03-2007, 08:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nashou66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: West Seneca, NY
Posts: 4,275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan Gouger View Post

When in the 11 point calibration mode which do you change that effects gamma, is it IRE? I do not see anything labeled gamma. Thanks!!

The Lumens, at work so i cant look but i think it say's lumens or luma something like that.

Athanasios
nashou66 is offline  
post #141 of 5489 Old 09-03-2007, 08:14 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
overclkr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 7,884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don_Kellogg View Post

Wow those screen shots are amazing guys kudus all around but can you do this with your CRT??

http://haha.nu/creative/how-to-make-shadows-on-the-wall

I didn't buy my RS1 to watch movies, secretly this is my longing. Puts down the Jameson.... then puts down the Jameson... hey it's 5 o'clock somewhere..

LOL! Dude you crack me up!

Cliffy
overclkr is offline  
post #142 of 5489 Old 09-03-2007, 08:21 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
overclkr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 7,884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mp20748 View Post

Look at the whiteness of the horse. One is clipping and one is not. For that extra lumens of low end increase, the upper end suffers. This is the problem that I have with gamma fixing.

Yeah, my camera does not have a manual shutter mode so I'm stuck with a fixed exposure. This makes my whites clip sometimes.

Luckily, you've seen it in person and know that's not the case.

This is my favorite from your last round:



Nice detail!!!!

Cliffy
overclkr is offline  
post #143 of 5489 Old 09-03-2007, 08:22 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Curt Palme's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 18,963
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I have no need to post screen shots, my projector isn't an extension of my already abnormally large penis..

Today I set up my Lumagen, my HD DVD, HDFury. I might even try to stack the second 9500 Ultra sitting on the floor.

Then you'll all be owned.... bitches!

(well except for Cliff, he already owns all of us.)

www.curtpalme.com - CRT tech info

www.soundsolutionscanada.com -pro audio website
Curt Palme is offline  
post #144 of 5489 Old 09-03-2007, 08:23 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Art Sonneborn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Battle Creek,MI USA
Posts: 22,307
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don_Kellogg View Post

Wow those screen shots are amazing guys kudus all around but can you do this with your CRT??

http://haha.nu/creative/how-to-make-shadows-on-the-wall

I didn't buy my RS1 to watch movies, secretly this is my longing. Puts down the Jameson.... then puts down the Jameson... hey it's 5 o'clock somewhere..

The fun thing is with a digital you can still do those shadow puppets during full fades to black. Really adds to the fun I think.

Art

My HT


iRule rules my theater
 

"If she's amazing she won't be easy,if she's easy she won't be amazing"

 

Bob Marley

Art Sonneborn is online now  
post #145 of 5489 Old 09-03-2007, 08:25 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Curt Palme's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 18,963
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Well it sure makes for fun times during the down times when the bulb burns out...



... ummmm wait a sec, no, that's not quite right..

www.curtpalme.com - CRT tech info

www.soundsolutionscanada.com -pro audio website
Curt Palme is offline  
post #146 of 5489 Old 09-03-2007, 08:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Don_Kellogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 3,373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'll have plenty of bulbs on the shelf waiting... bulbs are like ink cartridges or tone cartridges to me, or bullets to Cliff. You don't buy the gun to shoot things and then bitch about how much the bullets cost.

Shadow puppets have a very high entrainment value when you so blitz you can't find the remote. I'm still trying to get that Michigan J frog shadow puppet down.. "Hello my baby, hello my honey...."

The Cinema Kellogg

"Anyone who lives within their means suffers from a lack of imagination."
Don_Kellogg is offline  
post #147 of 5489 Old 09-03-2007, 10:57 AM
Member
 
2ndAnode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here are some screen shots from an overly ambitious 7" CRT projector projecting onto a very large screen.
-Projector: DWIN HD-700 "7" CRT
-Processor: TranScanner II
-Screen: 133" Pearlbright 16:9
-Source: Toshiba SD-5700 DVD player(standard definition)
-Camera: Three year old 2 megapixel

-Handicaps: 7" on 133" screen, weak green tube (red and blue output reduced to compensate) and an older 2 megapixel camera that needs more light than most modern cameras to faithfully capture images.







2ndAnode is offline  
post #148 of 5489 Old 09-03-2007, 11:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mp20748's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Maryland
Posts: 6,339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by overclkr View Post

Yeah, my camera does not have a manual shutter mode so I'm stuck with a fixed exposure. This makes my whites clip sometimes.

Luckily, you've seen it in person and know that's not the case.

Cliffy

Ok, you're right. I don't recall seeing that peaking in the whites. Not sure, but it seems that Casino Royal is a bit hotter than most other movies. It's not one of my best. I just can't seem to get good detail from it.


here's a good one to show both dynamics and detail..


It's all about the performance... Got Marquee!

 

High Performance Marquee Video chain modifications.  Now available!

mp20748 is offline  
post #149 of 5489 Old 09-03-2007, 06:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mp20748's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Maryland
Posts: 6,339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
A few changes later:












It's all about the performance... Got Marquee!

 

High Performance Marquee Video chain modifications.  Now available!

mp20748 is offline  
post #150 of 5489 Old 09-03-2007, 06:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mp20748's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Maryland
Posts: 6,339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
More..













It's all about the performance... Got Marquee!

 

High Performance Marquee Video chain modifications.  Now available!

mp20748 is offline  
Reply CRT Projectors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off