Which crt projector to choose??? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 62 Old 09-10-2007, 03:35 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey everybody

Im new to the crt community, Im 17 years old and my room is pretty small; only 4.15metres (13feet) long and 3m wide (4.2feet),

Ive had 3 digital projectors prior to getting this idea and each time Ive been very unhappy with the black level, I just cant help but look for the blackest spot on the screen and compare it to the black bars and theyve all had pretty crappy throw ratios only giving me a 60inch picture,

my original plan was to trade the crappy digital projector that I had against a crt and I looked at curtpalme.com's requirements and started contacting people on a local swedish advert site and I got two peoples interested, both professionally dealing with these projectors within an hour drive

only one however, told me that he had a spare ceiling mount.

one of the guys is the owner of cinemagine.com and he offered me to trade it in for one of the following:

NEC GP3000 didnt ask for info

Barco 700 with very little wear, didnt ask about time on chassis

barco 800 with very little wear, 25 000 hour chassis

I called him a friday morning asking if he had any projectors calibrated that I could look at and he said he had a Barco 800 so
I went to his home cinema place where I saw the barco 800 and
it was MASSIVE, I'd thought it was half the size so I was really chocked and I was also chocked by the quality of the image...
and it had 25 000hours on its chassis!!!, focus mustve sucked!

I thought getting a crt projector was out of the question until he showed me some of the smaller units.

Anyhow, now 1 month later Ive painted my room, with a really dark blue color on the walls and light gray on the ceiling,