4 gauge or 8 gauge for my amp Situation? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 11 Old 10-02-2009, 10:12 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, long story short, I have been saving for an upgraded system on my Dodge Charger. I had done a lot of homework since i'm not an expert with audio equipment. Anyway, did my homework and worked the best prices for a kicker setup. I have a Dodge Charger 2007 and have saved for this system for over 2 years. I ended up going with 2 kicker amps, 1 for the sub, the 750.1, and then for the front and rear speakers, the 350.4.

I got a solid deal on a buy 1 get 1 free with free shipping CVR COMP 10'' 2 ohm dual voice coil subs.

I just wanted to post my setup just in case it was needed. The thing is I did a lot of reading and most people said for dual amps to go with "4" gauge wire. That is what I discussed with my setup last week when I was checking around for knowledgeable installers and a reasonable price. When I brought the car in this morning the guy mentioned that since my battery is in the "back" there is no sense in running 2 feet of 4 gauge wire and he is gonna use "8 gauge." I had mentioned that we discussed 4 gauge initially and he was explaining that he didn't realize or think about the battery being in the back at the time and again, running 2 feet of wire for each amp seperately (or something to that extent) makes no sense so 8 gauge is what he'll use.

I'm not sure how big of a thing this is....but before this guy gets started I thought i'd ask the experts here on their thoughts with my setup. Any info/advice/suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 10-02-2009, 11:42 AM - Thread Starter