Help With Car Audio Please - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 30 Old 11-30-2009, 10:28 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello everyone, I'm new to subwoofers and amps, but I need some help.

I have a 2001 Ford Focus, and want to know which subs and amp would be best for it, and specifications.

I am mostly looking for something that will make the bass vibrate the whole car and vision, when turned up high. I also would want clear sound (Being able to clearly hear the words).

My price range for now is $1,000. After Christmas I may or may not have more, so we will start from there.

All help is appreciated, thanks. Send a private message if you have any questions, or just post here.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 30 Old 12-01-2009, 07:09 AM
Advanced Member

there are hundreds of options out there for an improved sound system. you will need to upgrade all speakers for improved clarity along with a new head unit. if i were you, i would start by going to www.crutchfield.com and begin checking out head units with different feature sets (bluetooth, ipod, usb, aux input, rca outputs, etc). pick a head unit and then begin to price out subs and then the amp can be determined after. correct box size is crucial as well. start over there and post back.
post #3 of 30 Old 12-01-2009, 07:27 AM - Thread Starter

Ok thanks, but can you tell me why I need new speakers and headunit?
post #4 of 30 Old 12-01-2009, 08:09 AM
Advanced Member

you stated "clear sound". at high volumes your factory speakers will not be able to keep up with the bass you appear to want. they will be drowned out and potentially distort. a new HU will allow better control over the entire system and greater flexibility in adjustments.