What do I need to use a sub in my car? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 01-27-2011, 04:56 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
skatingrocker17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toledo, Ohio Metro: North Baltimore
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm getting a Kenwood $1000 watt amp and 2 Elemental Design 15" subs for my car but they aren't coming with any cords. What do I need and where do I get them? Can someone point me in the right direction?

Thanks
skatingrocker17 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 01-28-2011, 09:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cubdenno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cham-Bana Illinois
Posts: 1,441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Order a wiring kit. it will usually include rca's and speaker wire as well as the power wire. Give knukonceptz.com a look. otherwise even walmart sells a kit. DO NOT undersize the power wire.

Also do you have a factory or aftermarket head unit?

XBL-Steelhouse1

"No one wants to fight the naked guy."
cubdenno is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 01-28-2011, 09:52 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
skatingrocker17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toledo, Ohio Metro: North Baltimore
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cubdenno View Post

Order a wiring kit. it will usually include rca's and speaker wire as well as the power wire. Give knukonceptz.com a look. otherwise even walmart sells a kit. DO NOT undersize the power wire.

Also do you have a factory or aftermarket head unit?

I'm looking at the amp installation kits. I've got a Kenwood DNX6960 and a Kenwood 1000 watt amp.
skatingrocker17 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 01-29-2011, 12:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MrBobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Uh... people who install 1000 watt amps and 15" sub usually don't ask this kind of question.

This is serious power drain and may need to beef up your wirings, battery, maybe alternator. Else ur looking at electrical probs, interference with ignition, alarm etc.

Solution: FREE. Explanation: I will have to charge$ you.

MrBobb is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 01-29-2011, 08:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cubdenno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cham-Bana Illinois
Posts: 1,441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Mr.Bob,

Figure this is a teenager. I have one of these at home or rather did. These same questions always come up. Seriously though, a 1000 watt amp is not a huge drain. I run ~2500 watts in my car total. stock 80 amp alternator, sears Diehard Platinum battery. I have dimming but no other issues. Music does not pull amperage continuously. I have amp clamped my system and on tones I have pulled 138 amps. On music at full volume it never got above 110 amps draw.

My son also had a 1000 watt class D sundown audio amp. on a Mazda 3 hatchback. Stock electrical. Can show the install log. No issues.

So I figure, unless the OP has an old electrical system or components are weak, he should be fine.

XBL-Steelhouse1

"No one wants to fight the naked guy."
cubdenno is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 01-30-2011, 11:21 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
skatingrocker17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toledo, Ohio Metro: North Baltimore
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cubdenno View Post

Mr.Bob,

Figure this is a teenager. I have one of these at home or rather did. These same questions always come up. Seriously though, a 1000 watt amp is not a huge drain. I run ~2500 watts in my car total. stock 80 amp alternator, sears Diehard Platinum battery. I have dimming but no other issues. Music does not pull amperage continuously. I have amp clamped my system and on tones I have pulled 138 amps. On music at full volume it never got above 110 amps draw.

My son also had a 1000 watt class D sundown audio amp. on a Mazda 3 hatchback. Stock electrical. Can show the install log. No issues.

So I figure, unless the OP has an old electrical system or components are weak, he should be fine.

I ended up getting a 1200 watt Pioneer amp and a 12" MTX and Autobahn. The wires the guy gave me looked crappy and didn't have a fuse so I bought these. He said all it did was make his lights dim and I didn't want any of that.
skatingrocker17 is offline  
Reply Car Audio, Video, and Nav

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off