jl w6v2 help plz - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 02-04-2011, 06:23 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
overthebridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey guys, its my first post!

iv been lookin all over the internet this past week and cant seem to be able to figur out how to wire my subwoofers properly

i have 2x jl w6v2's(duel 4 ohm) and 1x jl 1000/1 amp

what i dont seem to understand is how many ohms i should be running the system at safely and how to wire it

eg mobile.jlaudio Dot com/products_subs_pages.php?page_id=64
what connection i should use shown in the above image

and how to connect the wires from my amp to the subwoofers


for you experts heres some extra information that i think might be rellevent

1. the subwoofers are in a sealed enclosure
2. here are the specs for the woofers mobile.jlaudio DOT com/products_subs.php?series_id=4
3. specs for the amp mobile.jlaudio Dot com/products_amps.php?amp_id=440 (similar to this however my amp is the older 1000/1 v1)


your information is greatly appreciated

once again thank you for reading this long post
overthebridge is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 02-05-2011, 12:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cubdenno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cham-Bana Illinois
Posts: 1,487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 62
I would do a series parallel scheme. Since that amp does a 1000 watts from 1.5-4 ohms, this will give you a 4 ohm load.
LL

XBL-Steelhouse1

"No one wants to fight the naked guy."
cubdenno is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 02-05-2011, 06:40 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
overthebridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
cheers mate here is how iv wired it up



how many ohms am i running at and what number do i need to look out for when im getting the input sensitivity (gains) on my ac volt meter

sorry for the shady drawing
overthebridge is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 02-05-2011, 07:25 PM
Senior Member
 
heresnowhy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 33
overthebridge, are these dual voice coil subwoofers? meaning there are a total of 4 (4ohm ) voice coils. Your drawing does not depict this. In fact, your drawing is not series parallel as cubdenno suggested, but simply parallel. In the conifiguration you have shown, if this is between two single 4 ohm voice coils subwoofers, your amplifier would see a nominal 2 ohm load. If they are dual 4 ohm voice coil subwoofers, and you install both subs in this manner, you will be running below JL's recommended ohm load, which I can attest that amplifier will do, but I do not recommend it.
heresnowhy is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 02-06-2011, 05:09 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
overthebridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the subwoofers are duel 4 ohm

i havge the woffers wired up as shown, however, the subwoofers have jumper cables vc1- to vc2 + as shown below

overthebridge is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 02-06-2011, 08:47 AM
Senior Member
 
heresnowhy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 33
This new picture is in fact series-parallel. The jumper is wiring each 4 ohm voice coil in series. This presents each woofer with an 8 ohm load. Now, by hooking up each subwoofer in parallel, simply wire both remaining positive and negative terminals to the corresponding outputs on the amp (also how you have it pitcured), this will again half the ohm load back to 4 again. Why it's called, series-parallel.
heresnowhy is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 02-06-2011, 03:23 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
overthebridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks guys for ensuring that i have the wiring done properly

cheers!!


i now need to set the gains and dont have an o-scope, plus they r soo expensive

i know how to do the volt meter method
here is the voltmeter i have (but in red)

and the pik shown is what setting i think i should hav it on (is this correct)

if how i am mesuring the ac voltage is correct then how many watts am i looking out for on the volt meter to fine tune the gains to?


thanks once again for all your input
overthebridge is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 02-06-2011, 03:24 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
overthebridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks guys for ensuring that i have the wiring done properly

cheers!!


i now need to set the gains and dont have an o-scope, plus they r soo expensive

i know how to do the volt meter method
here is the voltmeter i have (but in red)

and the pik shown is what setting i think i should hav it on (is this correct)

if how i am mesuring the ac voltage is correct then how many watts am i looking out for on the volt meter to fine tune the gains to?


thanks once again for all your input
overthebridge is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 02-06-2011, 06:41 PM
Senior Member
 
heresnowhy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 33
I am an avionics technician, and I use a multi meter and o scope daily. I highly suggest you just set the amplifier gains by ear. The voltage output of your source unit is a good starting point. JL Audio in their 1000/1 manual provides the exact voltages of every detent on the gain knob. One of the few manufacturers to go through the pain of doing so. If you have a standard head unit, a few years ago they were all around .5 volts. through 2 volts. Now there are more head units in the 8 to 12 volt range. Depends on the source unit you have.
heresnowhy is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 02-06-2011, 11:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cubdenno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cham-Bana Illinois
Posts: 1,487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 62
http://mobile.jlaudio.com/pdfs/gainSetting.pdf

just look for your amp model and at the 4 ohm load setting. follow the instructions.

XBL-Steelhouse1

"No one wants to fight the naked guy."
cubdenno is offline  
Reply Car Audio, Video, and Nav

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off